We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, clean but showing wear and tear.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Chattanooga Lookout Mountain
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Hotel is in great location to go quickly to Lookout Mountain, ruby falls and rock city. A gas station,Hardies and McDonalds next door, and Wal-Mart and restaurants 1 exit up on Hwy 24. Easy access to Hwy 24 into Chattanooga. Hotel is dated (maybe 30 years old) and offers motel style outside entry into rooms. Area is free of Hwy noise and any outside noise. Rooms seemed clean but, wear and tear on the rooms take away from its appeal, along with some lite musky smell. A/C worked well, hot water, and good TV. Microwave and minin fridg, Iron etc.. laundry available at sister property next door, $1 wash, $1 dry. Occupancy seemed to be low during our visit but, staff is helpful. Breakfast ok, cost is moderate for an aged hotel, $69 a night or with AAA discount $62. Hotel is pet friendly at $15 per pet, per night. A better bet is its sister property next door (Comfort Inn) recently remodeled and in much better condition and interior entry into the rooms. Although, not pet friendly. However, you can avail of the great location to Lookout Mountain. The room served the purpose for our stay. Had no concern with safety around the property, night clerks frequent outside the property at night. I would say its ok, but there is better out there for the price, we just didn’t find a pet friendly hotel in Chattanooga that was any better in this location.

Room Tip: No elevators at this property, so if traveling with luggage, consider the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGRC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

first of all we were suppose to have queen size beds and the beds were full. when we left we got locked out of our room, waited 30 min for the manager to get there to open our door, cause the staff that was on duty couldn't figure out how to open it..Finally got into our room, got our stuff and they moved us to a different room.. Well that room we also got locked out of. We complained of ants and they supposly sprayed but was still seeing them.. I even had to throw my sons formula out cause ants got in it.. We have stayed in a Quality Inn before in different states, but this ruined it for us.. We will never stay in another Quality Inn and especially this one.. There was only one staff member that was nice the others were rude..The manager was rude himself we asked for a discount for getting locked out and our kids sitting in the hot, he was trying to ignore me on that but finally we kept on and he gave us $10 back that we stayed 4 nights.. The first room had no handle on the closet, so in order to open it u had to reach at the top... In overall I would not reccommend to hotel to anyone..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This was a really nice and very clean budget hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and the they servce a very nice complementary breakfast which included walfes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzettemrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

This was just a plain motel, nothing fancy. It was pretty clean but the Air Conditioning unit took all night to catch up. Breakfast was pretty much basic and nothing to fancy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clk6221962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Room was farily clean but old. A little musty smell but not bad! It was not as bad as some people review it. It was nice for the price. Some people want to pay the price for a Quality Inn and get the accomodations of Marriot and it's not going to happen. would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerWes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have been reading all other reviews for this hotel and its not bad at all. We paid 150.00 for two nights its in a ok location with everything a mile away. The rooms were clean and we had no problems with noises or anything. If you are looking to save money to have more to spend doing stuff this a great hotel. After all your only in them to sleep. When we come back I will return here. :) #happycustomer.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jess4work5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very clean place quite room did not hear anything from other rooms

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfbf3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
#67 of 96 in Chattanooga
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#33 of 96 in Chattanooga
549 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#43 of 96 in Chattanooga
41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Chattanooga - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Chattanooga Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Chattanooga Lookout Mountain

Address: 3109 Parker Ln, Chattanooga, TN 37419-1708 (Formerly Quality Inn - Lookout Mountain)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: £43 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Chattanooga Lookout Mountain 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Chattanooga Lookout Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lookout Mountain Hotel Chattanooga
Quality Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing