We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce leisurely place for an afternoon stroll.”

Bluff View Art District
Ranked #16 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on the bluffs overlooking the Tennessee River, Bluff View Art District is widely known as Chattanooga's premier spot for quality dining and culinary delights made on site throughout the District's many kitchens, bakery and coffee roaster. Its location provides for a breathtaking destination in the heart of the city where locals and travelers alike may view equally stunning works of art, horticulture and architecture, all of which define the District's unique atmosphere.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“NIce leisurely place for an afternoon stroll.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We strolled through the art district after visiting the Hunter Museum. It is a small area, but nicely landscaped with several sculptures laced throughout, as well as a small but well-manicured sculpture garden. There are a few restaurants, an artisan bakery, a bed & breakfast, and an art gallery here as well to enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    92
    25
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really neat area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Whether you're an art buff or not, it's worth a walk to the Bluff View Art District. The buildings are so neat and there are some great restaurants and shops there. If you're in Chattanooga with some time to kill, go for a walk there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We wanted so bad to stay here but it was Memorial Day weekend and we didn't start early enough. However, we did ride up to it and walk around. There's lots of history and beautiful architecture everywhere you look. Be sure to stop by Rembrandt's coffee house and bakery while you're in the neighborhood.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kjinright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,010 reviews
567 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,181 helpful votes
“This is Chattanooga's first art district and stretches over 1.5 city blocks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I walked through here on a recent visit to Chattanooga. Bluff View Art District is a historic neighborhood filled with restaurants, a coffee house, art gallery, historic Bed & Breakfast, and plenty of gardens, plazas and courtyards where you can relax and rejuvenate. This is Chattanooga's first art district and stretches over 1.5 city blocks, set high atop stone cliffs that plunge into the river below. It is a nice place to spend a relaxing afternoon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I could have spent the entire time here. Of all the times we have visited Chattanooga, I never knew or visited this area. What a find! We walked over the glass bridge (very cool!) to the art district and enjoyed all they had to offer. The art museum, and the views over the water are amazing. We also walked over the pedestrian bridge from here. My favorite was sitting on the patio at Rembrandt's and enjoying a cup of coffee, a pastry, and a cup of fruit. We also had lunch at Tony's Pasta shop overlooking the water. Amazing. It would be a perfect place to get married, it is so beautiful and quaint. I can't wait to return, and stay at one of their Bed & Breakfast Inn's!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiSnEyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluff View Art District also viewed

 

Been to Bluff View Art District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing