We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Collection of American Art”

Hunter Museum of American Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Chattanooga Cycle Boat River Cruise
Ranked #13 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hunter offers amazing architecture, a stunning permanent collection and exciting temporary exhibitions, a museum store and café by Dipped Fresh. The Hunter Museum focuses on American art from the Colonial period to the present day. The variety of the collection inside is reflected by the architecture of the museum's exterior. The museum is housed in an early twentieth century mansion, a modern 1970s era building and a sleek, contemporary structure of steel and glass. The museum's collection includes paintings, works on paper, sculpture, photography, mixed media, video, furniture and contemporary studio glass covering a diverse range of styles and periods. A few of the well-known artists whose work is represented in the Hunter include Thomas Cole, Fitz Henry Lane, Winslow Homer, Robert S. Duncanson, Mary Cassatt, Childe Hassam, Robert Henri, John Marin, Thomas Hart Benton, Helen Frankenthaler, Louise Nevelson, Jack Beal, George Segal, Duane Hanson, Robert Rauschenberg, Sam Gilliam, and Andy Warhol. The Hunter Museum is a 501 (C) 3 Non-Profit charitable institution.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Collection of American Art”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I was delightfully surprised by the excellent quality of the art in this gem of a museum which is comprised of both a stunning modern wing and an historic mansion. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SM4339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    134
    42
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Ga
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Museum!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Hunter. The museum is in the wonderful art district of Chattanooga up on a hill and overlooks the River. Right outside are fantastic, jaw dropping art sculptures and exhibits. Below the museum is an amazing, no vehicle traffic walking bridge overlooking the River, and the Aquarium is down the hill as well. Bring your camera.

More than anything, We really enjoyed the excellent Whitfield Lovell "Deep River" exhibit! We were visiting from Georgia and the museum was the highlight of our trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TuxedoAcworth_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Quality Museum”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Hunter Museum of American Art is perched on an 80-foot bluff at the edge of the Tennesse River and offers stunning views of Chattanooga and the surrounding mountains. 100 years of architecture has been erected on this site which consists of the classic 1905 mansion, the stark lines of the 1975 East Wing and the wavelike curves and glass of the 2005 West Wing. It's permanent collection of American artwork from the 19th century to the present includes works by Thomas Hart Benton, Winslow Homer, Thomas Sully and Andrew Wyeth to mention a few. We enjoyed the excellant exhibit by Whitfield Lovell depicting African Americans from the Civil War to the present.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time going to an art museum”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My boyfriend and I had just finished walking down the Walnut Street Pedestrian Bridge and thought we would stop here on a whim (we were on vacation). It was unique and interesting. We are not usual visitors of the arts, but it was a neat visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western north caolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“a small gem”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

the special exhibit was great and the collection of the museum is very good. we went before leaving town and were so glad we did.
the museum is unique in that it asks questions of the viewer.....helping to understand and interpret what they see.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank flatrockgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter Museum of American Art also viewed

 

Been to Hunter Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing