We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality hotel at a reasonable rate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good quality hotel at a reasonable rate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel isn't In the heart of downtown, so be aware that you can't walk to places like the Aquarium, the river, or restaurants. However, it suited our needs. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The lobby was clean and inviting. Our room was clean and had the fresh clean smell. You could smell the bleach on the sheets but not obnoxiously so. Just enough to feel confident. This may have been one of few experiences where I didn't see hair behind the bathroom door! It may not bother some but it does for me because it usually means dirt is just being pushed around by a mop. Good job, housekeepers! Thank you! My only complaint was the bed was too hard for my liking.

We didn't partake in breakfast but sat in the dining area with a great cup of coffee! There are flavored creamers and the station was fully stocked. The breakfast foods looked decent, especially with it included in the price. We didn't know there would be a parking fee but it was minimal. I read from another TripAdvisor member that if you are a HI member, the fee is waived. Didn't think to ask. We didn't sign in with our membership number.

Overall great experience! Would return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are pleased to have offered you a great experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to you all coming back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    105
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
107
91
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

To be considered downtown, this hotel is not in walking distance to restaurants and such. However, this hotel offers a very reasonable parking fee (IHG members can even park free) Public parking has never been an issue on my visits to Chattanooga so the minute or two drive is no big deal to get to where you need to go. Most of the hotels downtown have higher rates and charge for parking so if you are looking for a better value, this hotel is it. If has an indoor pool and offers a complimentary breakfast which again, is more for your money. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are pleased to offer you a great experience. We look forward to having you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stopped by the property as I was lost trying to find another hotel I was booked at in the area. The young gal at the front desk was extremely helpful and took pride on showing me the best way to the other hotel (a competitor) and was also happy to point out other areas of interest in the city as well as by my hotel. The lobby and overall property looked almost brand new. I will absolutely put this hotel on my top 5 list for future consideration the next time I am in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We do greatly appreciate your feedback. We are sorry for any inconvenience that we may have caused you. We will take into account your thoughts and concerns for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We are pretty big fans when it comes to holiday inn express hotels because we have had good luck with them, and this one was no exception. Our room was clean, our bathroom was clean, the shower was nice, breakfast was good, the staff was friendly, we couldn't have asked for much more, very nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ce737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am so glad that we could meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I'm afraid it's a bit of an exaggeration to say this hotel is in the downtown area as it simply isn't. While clean and tidy my room was on the 2nd floor facing the street outside. With the passing traffic it sounded as if the cars were actually going through my room, add to this a very noisy AC unit and sleep was virtually impossible. The lift was bust too during my stay but that happens everywhere from time to time, I was there at the weekend and a repair crew was there Monday morning. The staff were decent it has to be said. Oh a handy piece of info is that there is a good city diner just down the street which is open 24 hrs for all hungry travellers. Also don't know why parking is $3 per night as it isn't downtown.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank desoriordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced while you were staying with us. We do strive to offer a pleasant nights stay at a reasonable rate. I do hope that in the future you will give us another try. If I can assist you in any way about your stay I would love to speak to you about it. Please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was really disappointed with this visit. I stayed here before and was so impressed, upon making another visit to Chattanooga' I wanted to stay here again. I talked to make reservations so when me and my boyfriend arrived there were only two rooms left... A king room and a handicap room. The front desk clerk just took it upon herself to give us the handicap room. She had mentioned the only difference was lower counter, bed and shower (no tub just shower). Well she lied. The handicap room is much smaller. For $120 a night I expect a regular room. After getting over my frustration I went down stairs to get side coffee. I began sipping it only to find out it was cold. I thought OK I'll just hat it up in or room... Well surprise ! the microwave doesn't work!! So I called the don't desk and her solution was to come to the lobby to use theirs! I was really disappointed on this visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Kimberly R,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the room condition. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you.I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments in order to avoid these unnecessary issues in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I would rate this hotel as being one of the best in the HI Express system. Outstanding Service, Great Rooms, Nice Breakfast assortment and room layout. I liked the fact that is was not right downtown but only 1 minute from anything. VERY VERY quiet. There was a swimming competition in the TN River so the hotel was full of swimmers. Never heard a peep. Easy in and out to the Interstate. Very professional staff and great rooms. My first time in this hotel - not my last.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and all have great location and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you staying again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing