We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front desk issues” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Front desk issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I did not have my loyalty card with me when I checked in. Clerk told me she would look it up and enter it. Next morning, it still was not showing. The morning front desk clerk was not happy about looking up the number but did look it up. She did not provide written verification that she actually did what she said she did. Bagel was hard and stale. Some items were depleted but were refilled while I was there. Breakfast area was cramped and crowded. We stay here because it is near UTC, but it is not within walking distance of most of downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding front desk customer service and breakfast selection which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    105
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
107
91
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean Room. Very Friendly Staff. Breakfast was nice. Gym was small. Only issue I had was that staff members were a bit loud in the early morning. I said something to them they were very apologetic and the noise stopped immediately

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We are so glad that we could offer you a pleasant stay. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just stayed this past weekend. Overall a nice visit.

The rooms were well-equipped and clean, the beds were comfortable and had lots of pillows. The property itself was very clean, and smelled fresh every time we came in the doors. As far as location goes, the hotel is definitely not in the heart of downtown, but a 10-15 minute walk across the road, through the parking lot and down 6th Street will get you there. We like walking so it was fine for us, but if you want to be in downtown, this is not the hotel for you.

The first night of our stay I noticed the coverlet on one of the beds didn't smell so great. The next morning I left a note (with a tip, of course) for housekeeping, asking that they replace the coverlet and also leave two extra bath towels (5 instead of 3). When we got back to our room that afternoon the coverlet had been changed, but we only had 3 towels. I called down to the front desk to let them know, and got a weird response (the tone she used made me feel like I was asking for something totally outrageous) that they were booked for the weekend and were VERY short on towels and could not possibly accommodate my request. I find it a little odd that a somewhat large hotel couldn't scrounge up a couple extra towels. Way to NOT go that extra mile for your guests!!!

The other odd thing was that the elevators were in constant use by housekeeping with giant carts. Sunday morning was extremely busy, and I watched one gentleman wait for 3 elevators until he could get on with his luggage cart. Apparently there's no service elevator.

The breakfast was standard fare, could have used better attending...frequently out of basic items like coffee creamer and napkins, but there did seem to be pretty large groups coming and going all morning; probably hard to keep up.

Overall I guess I'd stay again, but I'd probably research other hotels first and go with the best price, closest to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliesaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback and will definitely take your thoughts and concerns into consideration for the future. We do strive to offer our guest a great experience and I do apologize you all did not feel like we did that for you. We do hope you will come stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel isn't In the heart of downtown, so be aware that you can't walk to places like the Aquarium, the river, or restaurants. However, it suited our needs. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. The lobby was clean and inviting. Our room was clean and had the fresh clean smell. You could smell the bleach on the sheets but not obnoxiously so. Just enough to feel confident. This may have been one of few experiences where I didn't see hair behind the bathroom door! It may not bother some but it does for me because it usually means dirt is just being pushed around by a mop. Good job, housekeepers! Thank you! My only complaint was the bed was too hard for my liking.

We didn't partake in breakfast but sat in the dining area with a great cup of coffee! There are flavored creamers and the station was fully stocked. The breakfast foods looked decent, especially with it included in the price. We didn't know there would be a parking fee but it was minimal. I read from another TripAdvisor member that if you are a HI member, the fee is waived. Didn't think to ask. We didn't sign in with our membership number.

Overall great experience! Would return to this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are pleased to have offered you a great experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to you all coming back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

To be considered downtown, this hotel is not in walking distance to restaurants and such. However, this hotel offers a very reasonable parking fee (IHG members can even park free) Public parking has never been an issue on my visits to Chattanooga so the minute or two drive is no big deal to get to where you need to go. Most of the hotels downtown have higher rates and charge for parking so if you are looking for a better value, this hotel is it. If has an indoor pool and offers a complimentary breakfast which again, is more for your money. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are pleased to offer you a great experience. We look forward to having you return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stopped by the property as I was lost trying to find another hotel I was booked at in the area. The young gal at the front desk was extremely helpful and took pride on showing me the best way to the other hotel (a competitor) and was also happy to point out other areas of interest in the city as well as by my hotel. The lobby and overall property looked almost brand new. I will absolutely put this hotel on my top 5 list for future consideration the next time I am in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We do greatly appreciate your feedback. We are sorry for any inconvenience that we may have caused you. We will take into account your thoughts and concerns for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We are pretty big fans when it comes to holiday inn express hotels because we have had good luck with them, and this one was no exception. Our room was clean, our bathroom was clean, the shower was nice, breakfast was good, the staff was friendly, we couldn't have asked for much more, very nice place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ce737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
I am so glad that we could meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to you staying with us again in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#30 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 440 W Martin Luther King Blvd, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#27 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Chattanooga, Tennessee. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel's newest downtown location with easy access to I-75, I-24 and US-27. We are within walking distance of the city center, and our Chattanooga hotel is near the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing