We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves extra stars!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Deserves extra stars!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Super cute and funky. Feels much more like a boutique hotel than a chain. Clean room, clean white sheets/bedspreads. Extremely close walking distance to everything fun downtown. Staff was helpful and courteous. Will definitely return. Oh, and if you have kids, the pool and courtyard area looks like a great place to hang - and kids were swimming in it even though it was cold out, so prob heated.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice, and have a pull-out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your hotel experience. We pride ourselves on providing an exemplary customer service experience. We appreciate your kind words and loyalty and we look forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    260
    58
    13
    5
See reviews for
539
302
19
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opp, Alabama
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel... Great rooms, great value, great service.... My whole family stays here every year for thanksgiving... The suite rooms are spacious, the continental breakfast is convenient, and the location to all of the downtown activities is perfect. But this year was a bit disappointing for our kids as the pool heater was on the blink and not working.... We would have stayed somewhere else if we had known this.... When you have 4 kids, a pool is a must for sanity! To be fair, the manager told us they were trying to fix it and gave us some points on our Hilton account, but all the same- disappointing since we were there 3 nights!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . . we love having you here! We appreciate you taking the time to provide valuable feedback to ensure we provide an exemplary guest experience. We appreciate your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Family stayed here for the Thanksgiving holiday. Couple of different rooms required for five day
stay. Hotel has a policy where you don't have to pay for the night if you are not satisfied in any way. We tried our best to find something of significance to complain about or even something minor and we all failed to find either. Rooms always cleaned well, staff always friendly and helpful,
and all requests satisfied immediately. All of the adults in our group travel regularly for business and usually stay in higher end properties than this one. No one could find anything negative to say about this hotel.

I had a fourth floor room facing the street and I am a light sleeper. Street noise was not a problem. I did notice as I stuck my head into various rooms that they seem to vary in size. We had the larger ones and found them pleasant, quiet and enjoyable. There were more than a few children running around but the place is well constructed and except when we were in the hall ways we never heard them.

Breakfast is standard fare for this level of hotel. Range of choices of average stuff so if you
want something more tasty you will need to go across the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga . . . . we love having you here! We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps to ensure we satisfy our guests each, and every day. We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed there this past weekend. My first trip to Chattanooga since I was a child. The location was great, staff very friendly and knowledgeable. We booked online and chose the romance package as it was only a little more and parking was included. Note parking is $8.00/day otherwise. The location is great and walking distance to things and convenient to drive to others. The room was nice and bed was comfortable. The bathroom could use a deep cleaning (note I was previously in the hospitality industry) but was adequately clean. We didn't utilize any of the other amenities, but the patio area around the pool with the fire pit and outdoor fireplace was gorgeous. Overall I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It appears they have some balcony rooms. not sure if they are suites or what. we stayed in room 52...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blascrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 14 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a favorable review of our property. We appreciate your kind words and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit us in the future when you return to beautiful Chattanooga!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were a little worried at first because some Little League team was staying that weekend and it was pandamonium in the lobby! However, the staff was calm and were attentive to us despite the chaos. We were amazed that once we got to our room and shut the door, it was quiet and peaceful. The room was simply but elegantly decorated. The best was the flat screen TV, which was HUGE, and it was an a pivot arm to rotate between the bedroom and living room area. Everything was clean, ample closet space, and a safe. The bathroom was clean and well-stocked. The staff was attentive and polite. We also used the laundry facilities on our floor and although one washer was out of service, it was labeled as such. We used to live in Chattanooga, and the downtown area was less safe than we remember, but hotel staff were great about giving us coupons and directions to food and activities. REALLY please with the hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Can only speak to our room, which overlooked the pool and was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenntraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thanks for choosing our property as we know you have many lodging choices in Chattanooga. We strive to provide the best customer service in town and it sounds like we hit a home run with your experience! We would love to host you in the near future so please do visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Hampton Inn and Suites at 400 Chestnut Street in downtown Chattanooga is an ideal location for rowing teams that participate in the Head of the Hooch Regatta. First; it's located just three blocks from Ross Landing Park which is the heart of the regatta. Second; this hotel is modern, clean and well appointed with a staff that understands service. Third; this hotel is in the heart of Chattanooga's restaurant and entertainment district. After a long day at the river it's a luxury to have every convenience within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Chattanooga as the premier hotel for the Head of the Hooch Regatta! We loved hosting the rowing teams and providing the best service in town to ensure the athletes focused on the competition and the parents enjoyed a stress-free weekend. Please do share any additional feedback to enhance the guest experience for our Hooch guests as we look forward to hosting many more teams in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to provide positive feedback . . . we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As an Honors Gold member I have stayed at a number of Hilton properties over the last year and have had more than a few truly mediocre experiences. Clean, well-kept rooms and excellent service are my two measures for a great hotel stay and this Hampton far exceeded my expectations on both metrics. I decided to use a rewards stay while on a spontaneous trip to Chattanooga to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel was beautiful and I appreciate the friendly staff and that they made the stay extra special with an upgrade to a suite. This hotel will be our first choice on our return visits to Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Suites are well laid out with a nice private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrenee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
We are so happy to hear you celebrated your husband's birthday in Chattanooga and your experience with us was extremely satisfactory. Thank you for taking the time to rave about our hotel; we are very appreciative of your comments and we can't thank you enough for your kind words. We hope to host you in the near future and we thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing