We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun filled for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
chattanooga, United States
1 review
“Fun filled for families”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location is the biggest plus for this hotel. It is within walking distance of great restaurants, popular sites, and entertainment venues. Comfort and cleanliness were also pluses as was the very inviting pool layout. I would request a room with balcony the next time, altho the price goes up.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting beautiful Chattanooga. We hope you will visit us soon and we appreciate your kind words and positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    269
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
558
307
20
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel July 3-5 with my husband and 3 1/2 year old son. The location is great for the downtown attractions such as the Aquarium and Discovery Museum. It's also not a far drive to some good restaurants (Urban Stack Burger, Milk & Honey, Taco Mamacita). The staff are very friendly and even when there was a rush at 4PM check-in they handled it well with a big smile and kind words and were very apologetic to all who waited in line.
The rooms are fine. We stayed in a standard room with 2 queen beds. Nothing to complain about here.
The free breakfast is very good with plenty of warm options such as waffles, eggs, bacon etc. They have quite a spread. It was packed during the 8-10AM time frame.
Parking is $8 per day and it can get slim on spaces to park. Both lower and upper levels seem to get full early evening so park early and walk to avoid not having a space.
The swimming pool is nice with a little indoor component as well as outdoor component. Plenty of towels available.
All in all I recommend this hotel with no reservation and would definitely stay again if in Chattanooga!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sujhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting beautiful Chattanooga. We hope you will visit us soon and we appreciate your kind words and positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here while on business. It was during the busy riverbend festival time, but this hotel excelled despite the masses! The hotel facilities were very clean. The staff was friendly. Check in and out was a breeze. Absolutely no complaints, only praise for this well-run hotel. All the comforts and best Hampton Inns have to offer are found here. Will definitely return when back in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaTennessee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We just spent the night - Sunday 6/29 - and stayed in room 511. The room is a very large corner room with a balcony, two queen beds, a work desk area, and a pullout sofa.

PROS:
This is a new hotel, and is extremely nice. I would not have normally chosen a Hampton Inn, but read the reviews and was impressed. We found the reviews with regard to the quality of the facility to be accurate. The hotel is indeed quite nice. We were very impressed with the size of the room! Parking was not an inconvenience, the hotel employees were all very nice, the pool was not as large as pictured, but still great and the kids had a good time. Breakfast was fine. The hotel is a great location for walking around downtown, but there are lots of other hotels nearby as well that would be convenient for that.

CONS:
The street noise was very significant for us. Having a large balcony was really cool, but it wasn't really possible to enjoy it because there is a busy intersection directly below. In our room, with all doors closed to the outside, we could still clearly hear most cars that passed by, and there was a bit of honking associated with the Monday morning 8 a.m. traffic. Not very relaxing for this reason. An otherwise awesome room, but I wouldn't get it again because of that.

Biggest problem: the elevator situation was *awful.* One of the elevators was not working (#2), so all guests had to use the one. It was just inconvenient on Sunday evening, as the wait was generally pretty long for the elevator. But this morning, as everyone was coming down to breakfast and checking out, it was out of control. We (and many others) resorted to the stairs, which was not a huge deal, although we were staying on the fifth floor. Also housekeeping uses the same elevator, which added to the problem, as they needed to move large bags of linens and carts to the upper floors in the morning.

Again, a very nice hotel, but remember it is completely street-side, so there is noise that will wake you up early in the morning. The elevator situation is one that I'm sure will be rectified...unfortunately not during our stay. Not exactly sure how to reflect this in the ratings - I feel that the elevator is a service issue, so that's why I'm giving it a "poor." Location was the main problem with regard to the noise, so I've rated that as only "average," although I'm quite tempted to rate it as "poor" (it is really loud in this room!). Overall, I feel this is fair. Good luck choosing your hotel in Chattanooga - a great town!

Room Tip: Although the corner balcony rooms/suites are considered an upgrade, I would avoid them because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had 509 and it was a very large room with a very large balcony. One evening after the baseball game we could watch the fireworks from our balcony and it was beautiful. The breakfast was as expected in a Hampton Inn with the normal quick fix food. They have a complimentary beverage bar but it only offers Coffee and for someone who does not drink coffee, they offered nothing. The first evening we checked in the fire alarm kept going off and on until we departed at 5:30. By the time we returned at 9:00 that problem had been fixed. They only have two elevators for the six floors of this hotel. Ne elevator was out f order for two days so we had to take the stairs often.

Room Tip: Get room 509 if you like balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smead1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great hotel with WONDERFUL services. My husband and I got a room at the Hampton Inn during the RiverBend Festival as well as several other couples . We LOVED being able to walk right to the venue from the hotel. Before going down to Riverbend , we sat by the pool and talked with our friends who were coming in from out of town. It was such a nice setting. The pool area with couches is such a nice touch. Someone from the front desk even came out to turn down the fire stations since it was SO HOT outside, The hotel was very busy as you can imagine during this big headliner night at the Festival, but all ran very smoothly from check in to check out. I would also like to thank your Sales Manager Lori Jenkins, she did an outstanding job. Also a thanks to the maintenance guy, he was working on the elevators and he helped hold them for us more than once!As always the Hampton's beds are superb! We always get a great nights sleep! And as always the hotel is always very clean and we enjoy the nice setting at breakfast in the morning! Great Stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience with us. We appreciate your positive feedback and we are so happy to learn we exceeded your expectations! Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton Inn & Suites and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is hands down the best Hampton Inn I have ever visited. The staff was welcoming, helpful, & friendly. We stayed during Riverbend Festival, so they were very busy, but kept everything running like a well-oiled machine. The kids LOVED the pool. It's a little smaller than it appears in the pictures. However, the fountains & waterfall kept about 1/2 the kids playing around the pool (rather than in it) so the ones who were actually in the pool had room to swim. The pool area is large with lots of seating, so even with a full house; there was always somewhere to sit. The location is perfect. The Creative Discovery Museum is right across the street, and everything in downtown Chattanooga is an easy walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner studio suite if available. They are huge! Lots of space for the money.
See more room tips
Green Features: The team at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga Downtown thinks green & it shows. Best practices are evident everywhere you look.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbbarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_martinez, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites while visiting beautiful Chattanooga. We hope you will visit us soon and we appreciate your kind words and positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Address: 400 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#4 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of downtown Chattanooga! Within a few blocks of the hotel you will find the Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, IMAX, and over 30-restaurants! Whether visiting Chattanooga for business or pleasure, in a single room or suite, you'll enjoy all of the extras our hotel has to offer. They're part of what makes staying at a Hampton Inn and Suites a very special value. As a proud member of the Hilton family of hotels, you can earn Hilton HHonors® hotel points and airline miles for your stay. Hampton Inn and Suites guests also enjoy a variety of free services including our On the House® hot breakfast with delicious offerings, On the Run Breakfast Bags™ (Monday-Friday), high-speed Internet access in all rooms, wireless Internet access in the lobby and meeting rooms, 24 hour coffee in the lobby, local calls, and an in-room movie channel. Our friendly service and free amenities are all backed by our 100% Hampton Guarantee™. If you're not 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay. That's our promise and your guarantee. That's 100% Hampton.™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Hampton Inn And Suites Chattanooga / Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing