We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not What I Expected”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived late to this hotel. Traveling on Business. I had not stayed here, but thought it would be fine since it was a Holiday Inn Express. The front desk was very friendly.
The room was not what I was expecting. I could tell by my walk down the hall that the carpet was not very clean or needed vacuuming. Once in the room, it had a odor.. not smoking, just stale.?? The landing between the outside door and the hall door also seemed to smell mildewed.
The room seemed ok at first. then on the headboard of the bed, I saw a roach... YUCK. . pulled the sheets back, and a stain on the sheet.
This hotel seems to need a facelift. Breakfast was fine. Bathroom was mostly clean, but needs some caulking change..

I will not stay here again.. I expected more from Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Rita B,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am grateful for your positive comment about our Front Desk staff. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory room conditions to our attention. I apologize for any inconvenience and discomfort it caused you. I want to assure you that this is not our standard.Your comments will allow us to reflect on improving our performance.

We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    74
    39
    24
    13
See reviews for
117
59
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

I am used to higher end hotels such as Hiltons, Marriotts, etc. with my business travels.
This trip was just for a couple days for family purposes but it seemed just as nice as the higher priced places.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a nice place to stay, no matter how long.
Clean. Great condition. Big room - we had a suite with a combo 2 double beds and sitting area. Small fridge and sink next to that
It could have slept 6, but we had only 3 adults.
NICE beds. Slept great. Pillow top with nice bedding material.
The shower was excellent. Adjustable shower head with good pressure.
Breakfast was great. Eggs, sausage gravy, pancakes, warm cinnamon rolls, etc. Good coffee too.
Had a great conversation w/ the maintenance guy who stopped in to replace our coffee maker which had a broken carafe lid. Very friendly staff.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DaninWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Wanted to be close to downtown. This hotel is a 5 minute drive from the aquarium and surrounding attractions. It was inconvenient not to be able to check in until 3:00PM but not a "deal killer". The local hotel and motel tax seems exhorbitant. The cable TV sound was not working properly and made it impossible to watch. It seems ridiculous to be charged for parking in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UGAly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear UGAly1,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very clean and the staff was friendly. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank am19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jefferson,tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed her 3 yrs in a row for a VW show excellent everytime we have been there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The location near the interstate made this site quite convenient. Unfortunately, the absence of nearby dining choices, absent fast-food establishments, caused a bit of an inconvenience. Desk staff were both pleasant and helpful. The entire facility, including our room, appeared clean and properly care for throughout. Breakfast buffet was disappointing as everything seemed pre-packaged, pre-prepared and/or pre-warmed; simply not very satisfying. FYI, the in-room coffee as well as that offered at the breakfast buffet was absolutely pathetic -- no flavor whatsoever. Food and beverage notwithstanding, we would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglophile066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for a night on our way home. Our room was clean. The bathroom could have been cleaner but I am very picky, my husband thought it was fine. The hotel was full but the staff was professional & friendly. The breakfast buffet was a nice touch & the coffee wasn't bad.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antsneversleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chattanooga
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chattanooga South/East Ridge
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga at Hamilton Place Mall
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
#42 of 97 in Chattanooga
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 1441 N Smith St, Chattanooga, TN 37412-3957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chattanooga offers the best in service and Southern Hospitality, with convenient access off the Interstate 75 at Exit # 1. You are just minutes away from Chattanooga's business and industrial area and centrally located for a visit to area attractions and shopping including Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Incline Railway, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, Imax Theater, Chattanooga Choo Choo, Lake Winnepesaukah Amusement Park, Hamilton Place Mall and Warehouse Row Outlet Mall. Enjoy the complimentary Deluxe Express Start continental breakfast bar in our spacious Great Room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. All our rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access, or use our 24-hour business center to stay caught up on your work while on the road. Also, local calls are free to all guests. Trying to relax? Enjoy our year round indoor heated pool. If it's a good workout that you are looking for, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For that special occasion we also offer hot tub suites. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Ridge looks forward to your next visit to our area. Make the smart choice, Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in East Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing