We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilkinson Family Wedding - enjoyed our stay-EXCEPTIONAL staff.!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #47 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent Customer Service from ALL of this staff.Kalei at the front desk went above and beyond to help us as did the gracious hostess for breakfast ( I apologize as I did not get her name ), The suite ( we booked two suites and four rooms total) was very clean and comfortable - all appointments were working. From housekeeping, front desk, dining room each staff member was friendly and very neat in appearance. The check in was very smooth as was check out. breakfast was very good and the dining area exceptionally clean. I spoke with the hostess each morning and she was very accomodating ,as we had a large group, and there was plenty of food choices available throughout breakfast.Many thanks from all of us for your hospitality and very nice accomodations. Hope to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

The staff was friendly enough but after staying in several HI Express I was dissapointed in our choice.
When we got to our room and turned on the bathroom light the lights surged and the switch popped. I went to call the front desk and the phone would not dial out. So I had to go downstairs to ask for help. They sent mx out and he flipped the circuit breaker and the lights came on. We had reservations so we headed out the door. Only to get back and have it happen again. Exhausted we decided to tell them in the morning as we laid our heads down on the equivalent of a travel pillow.
Next mourning we went down to the free continental breakfast that was absolutely horrible. So we decided to cut our loses and checkout. We mentioned the electrical issue again and that they should do more than flip a breaker before someone gets hurt. Without much concern I was given my recipt and we went on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vcay4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The room was spacious and clean, and very convenient to the facility hosting our event. Considering our bad stay in Jackson, TN the week before, this hotel was stellar in comparison with good staff and rooms. (different hotel chain) The best part was the bathroom shower head. My husband and I loved it so much, we're going to look for the same model to put in our bathroom at home.

The only drawback is the lack of good restaurants, but that's not the fault of the hotel, rather East Ridge, TN. Lots of fast-food available, but we drove 5 miles to Hamilton Mall to find over 30 chain restaurants and tons of shopping, if one wants to shop.

All in all, we will return to the hotel if the event is held at the same venue next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We recently were first time visitors of this hotel, and I can't brag enough about the staff! Our accommodations, the location, and breakfast were all fantastic, but the icing on the cake was the accommodating gal at the front desk! "Danielle" assisted me several times over the phone even before our arrival...answering questions, giving directions, etc. She worked diligently to assist our volleyball team with specific needs during their stay and was attentive to every detail of our requests. Her attitude and friendliness are second to none. Special thanks, too, to the manager on staff, "Wes", who was quick to be sure all needs were met. Look forward to staying with you in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've always felt as though Holiday Inn Express hotels were a pretty safe bet when traveling but this experienced changed out mind. It smelled dank and musty throughout the entire place. The hotel pool was not air conditioned and a quick check of the thermastat in there proved it to be 95 degrees! I couldn't stand to sit in there while my kids swam so we had to cut that part of our stay short. The comforter, floor and chair in our room was stained and there were visable mold spots on the wall in the bathroom and all over the shower/bathtub. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Dear Sara D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

My family spent the night on our way from Florida to Chicago. Use AAA discount. We got a double queen bed, mini fridge and microwave. Very clean and affordable. Full disclosure, we did move rooms because we saw a tiny spider(ok, 3) on the sheets. It's summer and I am sure it was isolated. Still recommend this. Very close to all features- Rock City, Ruby Falls, Incline Railroad, Aquarium. Free hot breakfast too!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jkalcheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My opinion of Holiday Inn Express hotels was that they were reliable and dependable accommodations. This hotel proved me wrong. We checked out after one night, although we had planned to stay longer.
What went right: the reservation was not botched, and the staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances.
What went wrong: there was no internet connection, in the room or anywhere, except the "business center." We checked in on a Friday and, after we realized it wasn't working, were told that wireless was down, and, because it was a week-end, nothing could be done about it until Monday. The night clerk offered me an ethernet cable, saying that a cabled connection was avialable in the room and should work -- it didn't work. The morning clerk explained that the wired connections only worked on the 1st floor, not our floor. If this had been a business trip and not a vacation, I would not have stayed even one night; you have to be connected when traveling on business.
The room was rather small and had a fabric "comfy chair" in it that was positioned so that you pretty much had to stumble over it on the way to the bathroom in the middle of the night. I hefted it over to the back corner, wedged between the bed and the wall.
The beds had these pillow tops and were so mushy-soft that you could barely turn over on them. Clerk said that is all they have. If you have trouble sleeping on such a bed, tough.
I have paid much less than their rate to stay in much nicer accommodations. The morning clerk did discount my rate after I registered my concerns.
Relative to the chain's reputation and what they promised, I must give this property a poor rating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
10 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place
#44 of 96 in Chattanooga
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arbour Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga at Hamilton Place
4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 1441 N Smith St, Chattanooga, TN 37412-3957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £85 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Chattanooga offers the best in service and Southern Hospitality, with convenient access off the Interstate 75 at Exit # 1. You are just minutes away from Chattanooga's business and industrial area and centrally located for a visit to area attractions and shopping including Lookout Mountain, Ruby Falls, Rock City, Incline Railway, Tennessee Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, Imax Theater, Chattanooga Choo Choo, Lake Winnepesaukah Amusement Park, Hamilton Place Mall and Warehouse Row Outlet Mall. Enjoy the complimentary Deluxe Express Start continental breakfast bar in our spacious Great Room while catching up on news from around the world on CNN and around the country with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution. All our rooms are equipped with free high speed internet access, or use our 24-hour business center to stay caught up on your work while on the road. Also, local calls are free to all guests. Trying to relax? Enjoy our year round indoor heated pool. If it's a good workout that you are looking for, all guests have access to our on-site fitness room. For that special occasion we also offer hot tub suites. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Ridge looks forward to your next visit to our area. Make the smart choice, Stay with us at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in East Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Express Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing