We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice hotel. Their handling of our school trip's paperwork was excellent. The downtown location was great, just down from the Aquarium. Staff was friendly and professional. Wouldn't have minded some included breakfast though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

After a small glitch at check in, the front desk staff more than made up for the issue. In addition they were very helpful in recommending restaurants in the local area that were terrific and giving us discount coupons. Although we didnt have an time to explore much, the hotel location is ideal; next to the children's museum and many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your response very much! We love to hear great responses like yours! We strive to make every guest experience as close to perfect as possible and I am glad we were able to do that for you! We hope to see you on your next visit to Chattanooga! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pros: very clean, very good service and staff, great breakfast, excellent location.

Cons: indoor pool very small and way too chlorinated. My eyes were burning from sitting at side of pool, and my two year old had a skin reaction to the water and could not stay in. Parking spots are very narrow and I had to wait until multiple cars left, just so I could find one that my car would fit in enough to make it 50/50 that my doors would not get dinged.

With that said, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveO95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We are so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sharing your survey with all members of our staff. Surveys like yours always bring smiles to our employee's faces! We would love to see you back with us soon! Please be sure to say hello when you are here! I would love to meet you! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

My overall experience with my stay at this hotel was satisfying. The room had a unusual odor to it. While not a overwhelming odor, just different. There was a wash cloth behind the TV stand that had been there a while it appeared. The wait staff was excellent, and the restaurant was acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Kid friendly. Kids love the pool and the cookies in the lobby. The location was great. It is very close to the Aquarium, the IMAx, the Chattanooga Ducks and the baseball stadium. The breakfast was a little high in price at $9.99 but there are plenty other places close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Mikell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your response very much! We love to hear great responses like yours! We strive to make every guest experience as close to perfect as possible and I am glad we were able to do that for you! We hope to see you on your next visit to Chattanooga! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Best thing about the hotel is location, though, the Courtyard is slightly better situated for the restaurants and parking (in a deck). Pretty amazing what they get per night in this part of downtown compared to other areas of Chattanooga. I paid over $200 which is more than downtown Chicago right now. This HGI has a little different feel to it than others I've stayed in. Starting with the corridors, a funky carpet tile layout adorns the hallways. Lighting is cool fluorescent. That coupled with the dark carpet tile gives it a very uninviting feel as you head to your room. Rooms themselves are standard HGI, though, this one seemed as if it needed a re-freshening. I wasn't crazy about it overall and would look to stay elsewhere for the money next time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDaveB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for completing a review on our property. We appreciate your feedback very much. I want to personally apologize for your experiences that you had while staying with us. I have great memories of playing in the hotel pool when I was growing up and I hate that we were unable to make a memorable experience for you and your family. I am sharing your response with all members of management and we will be getting these issues corrected. We have now fixed our pool and it is back in full service. Again, I do apologize for this experience. I would like to invite you back to our hotel the next time you are in Chattanooga. I can assure you our hotel will be different the next time you visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The good stuff first 1) very close to Discovery Center, Aquarium, IMAX, and other fun Chattanooga attractions. We walked all over downtown. 2) our room was clean. 3) our room was dark with the lights off (hotels generally have way too much ambient light). The bad stuff- 1) the whirlpool was broken and the pool was freezing. We chose this hotel for 2 reasons- the location and the pool/whirlpool. My 7 year old couldn't stay in the pool long because of the temperature and the whirlpool was cold. That meant a lot of restless activity in the room when we should have been working out that energy in the pool. Parents, that means big STRESS, right?! Finally, the male waitstaff in the dining room had deplorable service skills. He spoke to one customer about his ex-wife throughout our breakfast there. The female waitstaff bussed tables, replenished drinks and greeted guests. Even though she wasn't covering our table, I made sure she got our tip.
We've stayed here 3 times total and the first two visits were lovely, but I'm afraid this will be our last. This is just too much money to have so many disappointing events in one stay.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank Camille T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGI-ManagerChatt, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £112 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing