We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Torvastad, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked a Jacuzzi-suite for 1 night on Oct.28 and it was nice and clean. When arriving at the front-desk, the staff were very helpful and gave us good recommendations for places to eat and drink. Excellent. Complementary breakfast and parking just made the stay even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Ove L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. The front desk staff is amazing. Always check with them for places to go. They know of all the local and good places to eat. Friendly and fun the staff really do make the difference in a stay. See why we make the difference. We are glad you came, tell your friends about the time you had. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    201
    65
    35
    21
See reviews for
292
193
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guntersville, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Moved room first night due to mattress. Next night mattress was some better but decided we could not sleep another night like that and cut trip short by a day. Kids upstairs ran back and forth for several hours during time we were trying to go to bed and breakfast potatoes taste like they had been sitting there for 3 days and eggs were cold.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am surprised to hear that you did not like the adjustable bed. Being able to make it as firm or as soft as you like is something most people like. But it has always been a challenge to find a mattress that everyone will like. We have a chief every morning that will make a made to order breakfast at no additional charge. He is very good at making eggs and omelets. I get one often and is our most requested breakfast item. We always want ways to improve so if there is an item you really want please let us know so we can have it for you. We want everyone to leave happy so let us know what we can do to make you happy. We are glad you came and look forward to you coming back. Let us know how we can be better.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised with the easy access from the interstate and great accommodations after a long 10 hour drive from Florida heading to Indiana. It was a great place to stop overnight to rejuvenate before completing our journey. Check-in was easy and the Reservation Clerk was pleasant and informative. She also provided information and coupons for some of the local restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. Our room was clean and spacious with updated furnishings and cozy, comfortable beds. The bathroom was updated, clean and met our needs perfectly. It was nice to have a Keurig Coffee Maker in the room to make individual coffee/tea in the morning since we chose not to purchase breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 823LoriS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. You have discovered the gem of Chattanooga. This is a great place to stop on your long trip. Not a lot of traffic and very easy to get in and out of town. Just big enough to have wonderful places to eat but not so big as to have problems getting around to those places. Easy. A nice word to sum it all up. We look forward to you coming back. Tell your friends about you find. We are glad you shared your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gorgeous hudson valley
Level Contributor
203 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The grounds and exterior of the hotel look modern but the rooms seem a bit dated. We booked a jacuzzi room because it had a balcony. Minor setback with checking-in and when we got to the room, well, I guess I just expected it to be on par with the lobby. We ended up in a corner balcony 'jacuzzi' room. Though it was close to the elevator, there is one room across the hall and 2 rooms on the left of you, so the majority of traffic goes the other way. Doors are loud when they close and ours didn't automatically close, make sure you check to see if it closed properly. We faced Chestnut street and would suggest facing the Stadium if you want a quieter room.
Room was standard HGI room, with beverage area, Sleep Number Beds (in order to adjust the beds, you have to move the sheet, open a flap and turn a dial - for sanitary concerns, I leave them as is - wish HGI would remove them). Large screen tv with a huge variety of channels, ample desk area and a nice balcony. No screen on the balcony so keeping the sliding door open was challenging. The morning we left the Chattanooga Sewers were acting up and the air was ripe, not a fault of the hotel, but something the city is working on correcting.
Breakfast was good, friendly staff, nice selection of items. Front desk was also friendly and they do try their best to make you feel welcomed.
Parking is limited on-site, but is available just across the street. We were able to park on the street - free parking after 4pm until 8:30am. Brought our bikes and had no trouble securing them near the front of the hotel. Chattanooga has a lot to offer and the location of the hotel is really within walking distance of most attractions and restaurants.
I did have a little trouble with check-in but Mark Zielke, thank you for coming out at the end and apologizing for the wait. We always saw housekeeping tidying up or cleaning rooms, you've got a busy staff in addition to your maintenance and front desk personnel.
Chattanooga seems to be either a Hilton or Marriott town, with plenty of choices and all within a close proximity of each other. A conference at the Doubletree brought us to town, our reason for staying at the HGI was for the balcony, was it worth it? The jury is still out on that one.

Room Tip: If there are rooms without a hot tub/jacuzzi/whirlpool and a balcony, get that room. the jacuzzi to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hello, this Mark Zielke we spoke in the lobby. I am very sorry that you had a bad stay and I want to say that I am sorry. I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations and that if you come back you will have a difference experience. This is a great hotel and your experience is not the norm. You will see this when you come back. I cannot make every stay have no problems but I can show someone that when they do encounter problems it is not the norm or acceptable. I will always do what I can to make every stay a great one. We have a wonderful staff that strives to give their best to every guest. I hope you will come back to see this for yourself. Thank you for staying with us. I hope you first time is not your last. Come back and see that I am truthful and mean what I say.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We are Diamond members of the Hilton Honors Club and have been for years and have stayed in many hotels over the years. This morning we had the best breakfast we have ever had at a hotel at the Hilton Garden Inn in Downtown Chattanooga, TN. The staff is warm and welcoming and the food is excellent. We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. We have an amazing chief that work magic. He won an award just this week for his cooking at a local food competition. The staff is great as well. It all comes together to make for a wonderful experience. We take a lot of pride in our breakfast experience here. Thank you for taking the time to give credit to them. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carrollton, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Room Service / Bar Close early (before we arrived) & you are charged extra for breakfast. The whirlpool in the room was terrible & the beds are hard. it took 3 trips to the lobby to get a room key that worked. If you are looking for a nice room , keep looking. The room was ok but for $250 per night I expected more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am sorry to hear of the problems you had. Your experience is not typical. Please let me prove it to you. The bar may have closed at 10:00 but the front desk sells beer. The restaurant we use for room service does close at 10:00 P.M. but the front desk knows of several others that deliver to the room. There is one in particular that is owned by a Greek couple that is very good. The bed has an adjustable firmness setting to make it as soft as you like, if there was a problem with it let us know so we can fix it. We cannot make every stay have no problems but we can fix them. Let us know if you are ever unhappy about anything and let us find a solution to exceed your needs. We just need the chance to prove it, let us know, please. If we do not know you are unhappy it is much harder to fix the problem. Give me a chance is all I ask.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My family recently stayed here for a wedding and we were impressed with the location, facility and staff. First off the location is great. We were able to walk to the Childrens Museum (which is located right next door), the aquarium, the river, pedestrian bridge and numerous restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful (even going so far to find us super glue so we could fix the bow on our daughters flower girl dress). We stayed in a junior King Suite which was more spacious than we anticipated. While the room was not as big as what you'd expect from an Embassy Suites, it provided a distinct bedroom and living room with a bathroom in between. Overall we had a great experience at the hotel, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay. We have a very caring staff and they make all the difference in the world on a stay. From the front desk to the breakfast staff to the housekeepers; we want you to have the best stay you can and we are willing to do whatever it take to make sure you do. Let us prove it. Tell your friends about you vacation and we thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing