We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway to Chattanooga” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #10 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“Weekend Getaway to Chattanooga”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We decided to take a weekend family trip to Chattanooga and I am a Hilton Honors member so I specifically looked for the Hilton brand. I read the other reviews on Hilton Garden Inn and their close proximity to activities we were planning to do (i.e. Aquarium, Creative Discovery Museum, etc) made it an easy choice. Colby was at the front desk when we checked in late Saturday evening and was very friendly and helpful. He acknowledged the fact we were celebrating my husband's birthday and provided us with breakfast coupons and free parking. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and welcoming. We definitely enjoyed our weekend getaway and would return to Chattanooga and the Hilton Garden Inn in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Thank you for choosing our hotel. We have a great location to enjoy all that downtown has to offer. On top of that we have a great staff. Colby is one of the best we got and I hope you got to talk with him about things to do around downtown. Colby is very knowledgeable and friendly. Because you brought Colby up specifically I will do something nice for him in appreciation. We are lucky to have such a wonderful staff here and I never tire of hearing the guests bring it up. We are in the heart of the city and our employees carry around a big heart as well. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    200
    64
    34
    20
See reviews for
289
193
25
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mcminnville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My family and I go away almost every weekend for a little business and also pleasure and as Hilton Honors Members we stay at some of the nicer hotels. The breakfast at this place stays open till 12 on the weekend and that works good for us because we stay up late and get up late. This hotel and entire staff was above and beyond and we will be staying here quite frequently.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Randall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. This is a wonderful hotel for bringing the family and enjoying what Chattanooga has to offer. This hotel being in the heart of it all makes it very convenient. Park at our lot and walk to where you want to go. There are a lot of things to do in just 3 blocks. Then to top it all off the staff here is second to none. Thank you for taking the time to let people know about how great our staff is here. I love to hear our guests brag on the service they receive here. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Checked in on a Friday night for a girls weekend. Front desk staff couldn't have been more accommodating! Directed us to local attractions, helped with all our requests as well as getting us a rollaway bed. Room was clean and comfortable. Pool was small, but fine. Would recommend this hotel to all my friends. Michael and Mark were very helpful with making our trip a success.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am so glad you choose our hotel for your weekend get-a-way. Chattanooga is a great city to do just that and we are in the heart of it all. So much to do, so close to the hotel. I am glad you got to meet Michael. He is our newest star at the hotel. He has just been hired and is already making a big impact. We are lucky to have such a wonderful employee, and thank you for taking the time to mention him by name. He goes out of his way to make every guest's stay as good as it can get. It makes my day to hear how our employees go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is a great location for catching the free downtown shuttle, and walking to several locations like the Tennessee Aquarium, bridge across the river, museum . . . it's even right next door to the children's Discovery Center. It's a bit pricey, however, if you are looking for enough room for a family. You'll need an adjoining suite or room if you have more than 4. Paying the extra for parking was a pain, especially because the parking lot does not wrap around the building for easy unloading close to your room (but the hotel is pretty small, so not *that* big of a deal). Also the pool is very small and noisy, and it was annoying to have the hot tub connected right to the side. (Kids kept sloshing and sliding over the side into the hot tub and it was anything but relaxing.) The welcome cookie bars are to DIE for, and the breakfast is generous, if not complimentary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank codyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I love to hear that HGI has consistent quality and service. We go out of our way to make sure everyone who comes here has a great experience. We are in the heart of downtown and it is a short walk to enjoy much of what the city has to offer. We want our hotel to be a step above all the other competition. The staff is what makes all the difference here. We care and it shows. Thank you for taking the time to let people know how your stay was. We have tried to buy the parking lot but they will not sell it so we have to charge parking for downtown. And the kids love the pool, which was always my favorite thing about staying at a hotel when I was young. Thank you again for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My two daughters and I were in town for an event at the convention center. The hotel was convenient to the convention center. The hotel is situated just adjacent to the Discovery Museum, which was great. Felt very safe in and around the hotel. The beds were a bit firm for my taste, but still comfortable. The hotel staff was pleasant and greeted us each time we entered the lobby. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Anissa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. This hotel is great for coming in to Chattanooga and being in the heart of it all. Just park here and you can walk to all the attractions. The city also has a free shuttle that runs to the convention center and across the river for shopping. Lots of wonderful places to eat very close by. You cannot stay at a better hotel. Oh, try the king beds they have an adjustable mattress so you can make it as soft as you like, we are trying to get the queens switched over as well. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions over the past year. The staff is always friendly and courteous to me and the other guests. I have never encountered a bad staff member. The housekeeping supervisor once personally changed my bed to improve the comfort before the change of all of the beds to an adjustable type. Front desk, restaurant staff, and housekeeping are always helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. The head of housekeeping doesn't get enough good press. He works very hard and is dedicated to going a great job. Thank you for bring up the fact that he tries so hard to make sure that every guest is very happy with the room. He is the unsung hero of the hotel. We have an outstanding staff here and we are all dedicated to making your experience the best it can be. Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about your stay here. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

From the moment we checked in all the way through the week. This service the homely feeling, the staff, the cleanliness, the food. Was the best service we have received in a long time. We are Hilton Honors Members and would have to say that this is one the best Hiltons around. I loved every minute we stayed there. We were there Dec 24 - 28. Thank to all the great personal staff at the front desk. We were greeted by a wonderful lady there every morning and to our surprise she was there at night too. Does she ever go home? Our waiters and room stewards were wonderful. Thank you again for making our family feel welcome being away from home on the holidays.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back which was the stadium which was quiet that week.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very much so environmentally friendly hotel. We would know, our son is the Senior City Planner for the City of Chattanooga. He is a very green person.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Thank you, thank you, and thank you. I love to hear our guests brag on our staff. It is wonderful that you took the time to let everyone know about your experience here. I think we have a great staff here but when guests take the time to let everyone know, it really makes my day. We try very hard to make sure that all the guests that stay here have the best experience they can have. And when we get recognized for it, it makes me so happy. You have made my day and we look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing