We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, AL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took our family the last weekend in March for spring break. The hotel was perfectly situated next door to the Creative Discovery Museum and the Aquarium. We stayed in a king jr. suite and had plenty of room for our family of 6. The kids loved having their own area of the room with their own tv. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious and our server both days was very kind and attentive. The cook even came out the second day and made a special omelet for me. Our kids wanted to swim in the indoor pool but I had forgotten to bring a float for our youngest. I asked at the front desk and they found a float for us. It made my kids day that they could get in the pool. Overall I would say that the staff made this hotel one of the most enjoyable places we have stayed. They were happy, attentive and ready to help.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4AngelsMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am so happy you found our hotel. It is the best place to bring the kids and have a wonderful weekend. It is even better now that baseball season has started and the stadium is in our back yard. I hope you took the free shuttle the city offers to the merry-go-round across the river. So much for a family to enjoy together. Oh the omelets the chiefs make. Last week he made me an Italian omelet with salsa. Best omelet I ever had in my life. Makes me hungry just talking about it. For the kids though nothing beats the pool. That was all I wanted at that age in a hotel and we got it. The other thing we got is personality. Our staff is second to none. The staff is what makes all the difference, as you saw. Turns a good stay into one of the best you ever had. Come experience the difference we make. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    210
    66
    38
    23
See reviews for
302
208
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My Wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the courteous, smiling and helpful employees of this Hotel. The room was exceptional, and all of the facilities were top notch. It definitely is the best hotel I have stayed at in Chattanooga, bar none.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. It was such a pleaser to have you stay at our hotel. You both were a delight to have and we hope to have you back any time. I enjoyed meeting you both and the conversations we had. This is a great hotel and I am glad you found it. Once you find the best you can stop looking. This hotel is also the only one my father stays in when he stays downtown. The staff makes all the difference. We have a top notch staff with great customer service. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

First, the good. Great location, friendly staff, not overly expensive. It was such a short walk to many restaurants, the Aquarium, and IMAX. The hotel is right there off the exit and easy to navigate even when not familiar with the city. For the most part, the staff was very nice and helpful. We thought the price was reasonable…until we got to our room... Now, the bad. We had a view of a rooftop, so that kind of killed the room for us as it was very dark. Another room might have made a huge difference for us. They really should use this room for something other than paying guests. The breakfast, though full, was not very tasty. I guess everyone gets the breakfast and then try to fit in a small area. We had half our crew standing for quite a while one morning because there was only a small table open. They need to rethink how this is set up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 559miriamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am sorry that you had a view of the roof. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. This hotel cannot be beat for location. Just park and enjoy the city. There is so much to do so close by. Great place to bring the family or enjoy a relaxing weekend in the city. We have it all here. I am surprised you did not like the breakfast. The omelets are the best I have had at any restaurant I have been to. The French toast is my current favorite with just a touch of honey. We also have thick cut bacon that rivals anybodies. All you can eat buffet and made to order by our chief for $9.95, hard to beat that price at any downtown restaurant. We have seating for 70 not including the patio. It is about time for patio weather. I have been waiting all winter to get outside and enjoy eating. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley City, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel is locatd in a very pleasent location and partof Chattanooga. Close to dining and entertainment district location. I was greeted by a very friendly Hotel Staff who was very helpful. Room was very comfortable. I enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manger. I could have not said it better myself. Location, location, location. This hotel is in the heart of it all. All the attractions in walking distance just park here and walk to where ever you want to go. There are so many great places to eat in just two blocks. From family friendly to the best place you have ever been to. That is a bold statement that you should take me up on. For me when I visit a new city it is all about finding those local, great places to eat. Put the front desk's knowledge to the test, you will be rewarded. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I booked a King room a week in advance and got a confirmation. On arrival I was given a Queen accessible (which is my very least preferred). They could not tell me what had gone wrong. On third attempt to find out the manager told me that "maybe I had agreed to the change" or that "someone must have made a mistake". I have a registered room preference (which they knew) and I am a Hilton Honors member.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I am sorry that the room type you wanted was not available. We always want to make sure the guest is 100% satisfied and I can see we failed you. For that I am sorry. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that this is not the norm and we always go out of our way to give the guest what they want. The next time you stay you will see what the norm is here and we are well known for our customer service. Thank you for staying with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Clean room, comfortable bed, efficient staff. The kuerig coffee maker in the room was also a nice touch. The gym left something to be desired, but the location downtown was ideal for running, walking to whole foods and enjoying a nice evening out and about without a car.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Ah...room, bed, staff. The trifecta of the hotel industry. And we are batting a 100. Little baseball joke for the up come season. I am happy that you are happy with all three. I hope the front desk told you about the river walk. It runs for almost 10 miles to the dam and back. All river front with wildlife through out. I have seen bald eagles, nesting Sand hill cranes, osprey, and pileated woodpeckers. Makes for a nice walk. We look forward to having you back. Oh we have a deal with the best gym downtown so if you want a place to work out let the front desk know and we can hook you up. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've just returned from a fun Chattanooga trip with my husband & 2 children. The location of this hotel could not be better. Sadly, our Jr. King suite smelled terribly of mildew. The ceiling showed water damage. We were kindly offered the suite next door but it smelled, too. Second day of trip we were offered a THIRD shot at a suite ....and it smelled, too!! We are not extremely picky people, either! They have clearly had some kind of moisture problem on the front side of the hotel where these jr. Suites are. The staff could not have been nicer & really tried their best, but it was like sleeping with a sour kitchen sponge right next to your face all night.

Room Tip: Smell it before you take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. You are right we have the best location in town. You can park here and walk to the major downtown attractions. With spring training happening, the base ball field will be lighting up soon as well. I am happy to hear the staff was so attentive. We try to take care of everyone as if they are our friends. I am surprised to hear you had a problem with a smell. We take such good care of the rooms and have a manager check each one after the housekeeping cleans them. He personally checks them for cleanliness and smell. I am sorry that you had a bad experience and can assure you that it is not typical. If you ever have a problem please tell the front desk so we can fix it. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#29 of 97 in Chattanooga
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing