We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I want to thank Rachel at the desk for helping me make our reservations. I don't like to be sent to reservation centers, and she gave me the personal touch, trying her best to tell me about everything pertaining to our visit, and to give us the best deal available. When we got there we were so pleased with how beautiful it is, and we couldn't have been happier with how close it is to everything we wanted to see downtown. It's right next door to the Creative Discovery Museum, and a couple of blocks from the IMAX, and another little walk to the amazing aquariums and to the riverfront. The Chattanooga Ducks (amphibious vehicles), are about three blocks in another direction. Our thanks also to Colby when we checked in for being so very helpful, and when he found out we had requested a cot for the young ones, gave us an upgrade to two queen beds. My husband and I loved the balcony, and it's view of people walking to the Riverbend Festival. We even saw a bicycle built for two. As I said, the room was great, so clean, with bright white sheets and duvet. Assorted pillows of different size and thickness so you could pick your favorite. I thought the bed was hard when I sat on it, but got a wonderful night's sleep with no aching muscles the next morning, and wish I'd looked at the tag so I could get the same mattress when we buy again here at home. The breakfast was the best I've ever seen anywhere....anything you could ask for and more! Fresh and delicious...it was amazing, and the people who worked there made sure you had everything you needed...so very nice, too! EVERYONE was nice. Danielle working the desk always had a smile, and was so helpful. The little housekeeper downstairs in the morning was so pleasant and helpful, too. Oh, and one last thing, they have a little pantry next to the desk which is stocked with drinks, microwaveable foods, candy, chips, medications...that you can buy at the desk at very reasonable prices. I guess you can tell I was very happy with this hotel. We LOVED it! I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the downtown area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 501, a corner room with a balcony facing Chestnut Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hi I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Thank you so much for that review. I love to hear guests talk about the wonderful hotel and staff we have here. Because you mentioned several people by name I am going to do something nice for them. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to tell everyone about the great time you had staying here. We look forward to having you come back. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

511 - 517 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ideal location right in the heart of downtown and a few yards from shuttle bus terminal. Made welcome from the moment we arrived. More than helpful staff in all areas of the hotel. Clean, well appointed rooms, good breakfast. Need I say more

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I need to make a commercial from your review of us. You hit all of our main attraction points: great location, helpful staff, clean rooms, and a good breakfast. We are hard to beat for many reasons. Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about the jewel you discovered in our city: the Hilton Garden Inn. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The location is superb. Everything is within a short walk including public transportation. If you're a baseball lover as myself and you're there to catch a ballgame, you can not go wrong staying here. The grounds were very pleasant, the pool is small but it's to be expected in a downtown hotel.The rooms were clean and staff very friendly..I would suggest this hotel to family's, couples and single folks. This will be my "go to" place when I'm in Chattanooga from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notarocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Thank you for your kind words. You are right, we are in the heart of it all right here. Makes it easy for guests when all they have to do is park and enjoy the city. The excellent staff we have here is the icing on the cake. Great staff with a great location makes us the best hotel in the city. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I visited Chattanooga in March 2014 while travelling on business and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is fairly new, very clean and well kept. The personnell was very friendly and knowledgable.
The location is within a quick stroll of a number of excellent restaurants and other activities like the Lookouts baseball stadium and the discovery museum.
All in all a good place to stay while visitng Chattanooga!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the baseball stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. We have the best location in the city. We are in the heart of it all. Making it easy for you. Just park and enjoy what the city has to offer. The front desk is full of ideas for great places to eat and great ways to spend an afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share the wonderful stay you had with us. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Of course it's a prime biz location in downtown. The Surprise is the Top Notch appeal for a getaway to tour the Riverfront, City, or Lookout Mountain. Easy access to All.

The staff go over the top to insure Everything is perfect. Rosie at the Front Desk is politely insistent that YOU Enjoy your stay. Any problems and she is all over it. We had a minor issue and it was absolutely made right.

My thanks to all for the beautiful Hotel, particularly the lobby, the fireplaces inside and out on a chilly Spring evening. And it was all squeaky clean. Kudos!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank dukeusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. The only thing better than our location is our staff. Rosie gets lots of compliments on her customer service skills. As well she should. Rosie truly goes out of her way to insure a guest is having the best stay they can. I am going to do something nice for her because you brought up her name. I love to hear guests brag on our staff. Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about the great stay you had with us. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This property is A+ on every level!!! The staff is incredible, the service excellent, the location perfect to all there is to do in Chattanooga! From the time I arrived until the moment I left my stay was picture perfect. I always will recommend this property to others!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. Thank you, thank you, and thank you. High praise indeed. I love to hear guests brag on our hotel. I think we are pretty wonderful but when guests talk about it makes me so happy. You have made my day. Thank you for taking the time to tell people about our hotel. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed on Saturday night for a mother's day weekend mini-trip. We attended the Lookouts game Saturday night and the aquarium Sunday. We had a 6th floor room on back corner facing stadium (this didn't bother us because we attended the game). It was great to walk out of stadium and down right into hotel parking lot! We attended a few Lookouts games a year and had always wanted to stay right by stadium so we did. Hotel was clean, friendly staff, central to everything. Rooms modern and were great except the beds were hard as a rock. We usually stay at Sheraton or ChooChoo in Chattanooga and will probably stick to those in future even when going to games just to not have to sleep on such an uncomfortable mattress again. Really wanted to love this location and had it not been for those mattresses we would have. Even our 6 year old made a comment about it when he first laid down on it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kdrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark Z, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi, I am Mark Zielke the front desk manager. I hope you get a chance to try our king beds. All of our king beds are adjustable and you can make them as soft as you like. They are even adjustable to each side. Make it as nice as you like and sleep like a baby. I am happy to hear that you liked the location and staff. This hotel is so close to great food, movie theaters, the aquarium, the children's museum, and the I-max. All of this in 3 blocks. Then to put an outstanding staff with it... best hotel in the city. Thank you for taking the time to tell people about the great hotel we have here. Thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Mark Zielke, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga / Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown

Address: 311 Chestnut St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#10 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £118 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga, Tennessee hotel is conveniently located on the city's state-of-the-art complimentary electric shuttle route; take a ride from the riverfront to the Chattanooga Choo Choo and Warehouse Row for some afternoon shopping.Deluxe accommodations, friendly service and a relaxed southern atmosphere await guests at our Hilton Garden Inn hotel in Chattanooga. Certain to please the busy executive or leisure Tennessee traveler are the Hilton Garden Inn's array of special amenities including complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, in-room hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, large work desk, ergonomic chairs, and complimentary HBO(R). Hotel guests can also enjoy a complimentary USA Today(R) each weekday morning, our indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness center with state-of-the-art equipment, our premiere fitness center and a 24-hour complimentary business center with secure remote PrinterOn(R) printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing