We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, AL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We took a brief family trip and stayed at the Chattanoogan. The hotel tends to be a bit pricey, but if you can get one of their specials, or other discount, it's well worth it. The room was very nice and clean. Staff was nice. Kids loved the pool and whirlpool. Only complaint I have is regarding the valet parking. We called downstairs for them to bring our vehicle well before we went down, and when we made it down there, they had not even pulled our keys yet! Another lady had done the same thing and was waiting also. They finally went to get her car and brought the wrong vehicle!!!!! This is not the first time, we've had problems with the valet parking service. If you don't mind the walk to the parking garage, I suggest that you pay a few dollars less and park your own car.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relay the positive and negatives about your stay with us. It does sound like everyone had a great time! I do apologize for the valet service, that is not the standard here and has been addressed. .
We do hope you will return to The Chattanoogan for your next visit.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    719
    318
    144
    57
    47
See reviews for
306
395
35
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a older full hotel. Great room,great food, and the staff are all wonderful

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mimster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Please come back and stay with us soon.
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I recently attended at conference at the hotel. The facility is wonderfully for conferences and offers all amenities. Very impressed with the speed of the hotel Internet as I do a lot of work while traveling . Rooms were clean and offered all amenities. Convienent location to Chattanooga attractions and restaurants. Will definately stay again. Only knock would be painfully slow elevators, but perhaps due to conference traffic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
I am pleased to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us during your conference.

Thank you for choosing The Chattanoogan and for providing your feedback, we look forward for your return.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Spent the weekend of March 24th at the Chattanoogan. This was our first stay and wasn't disappointed. Very nice hotel however not as elaborate as expected. I think the rates are somewhat over priced but I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a spa treatment which was wonderful. The gym has adequate equipment. The food was okay, other eating establishments are near the hotel. The jazz band was great. Nice large fire pit in the garden however I would have liked to see flowers in the garden but a nice area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your positive and comprehensive feedback. The trees and flowers are blooming now so we hope you return to see the courtyard in all its glory!
We are happy you decided to stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hotel itself is beautiful, very modern and clean. However, the food was a huge disappointment. We ordered breakfast consisting of the usual fare: eggs, bacon, toast, juice. The eggs were bland and dry and the bacon so thin it was transparent. Honestly, the best thing on the plate was the minuscule orange slice. Not only was breakfast a big letdown, even more irritating was the price of around $35.00. I'm not saying don't stay here, but just heed my advice, go to Waffle House. You and your wallet will be glad.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We always appreciate a candid critique from our guests, and I thank you for doing just that as we are constantly striving to improve. I am truly sorry breakfast was not acceptable and wanted to assure you I am sharing your comments with our Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef so that we can rectify this in the future.
Thank you
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel will surprise you. It doesn't even look like a hotel from the outside and unless you know where it is and what it is, you'll miss it.
The Chattanoogan has the feeling and look of an upscale 4-star property with friendly service and neatly furnished rooms. It's clean and quiet and is perfect for both the business traveler and for families.
There's a full service heath spa, indoor and outdoor pools and the restaurants offer formal and informal dining.
Valet parking is provided or you can self-park in the hotel garage (not attached to the hotel, somewhat of a drawback).
Overall, a very fine property that's safe, well-lit and well managed.
Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TennTravelerHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
I would like take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to offer your compliments regarding your recent stay. Please be assured that I will post your comments for all of the team members at The Chattanoogan to enjoy.
Should your travels bring you back to Chattanooga in the future, we look forward to being given another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect!

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here as part of their Valentines day package. Their restaurant the Broad Street Grill was great, their spa is OK, and the rooms were disappointing. No refrigerator, the tv kept making horrible sounds, and the shower head was terrible. We requested a courtyard room and didn't get one, which is ok because the landscaping was pretty much non exsistent. This hotel is also not within walking distance of anything remotely interesting. We are Chattanooga residents and wanted to see what all the hype was about, but were pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaMHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We value feedback from our guests both constructive and complimentary. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your Valentines dinner, however saddened to see how disappointed you were with the hotel. We are in the process of replacing our shower heads, and do hope you will consider staying here again.
Thank you for taking the time to write.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
959 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing