We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It was so-so...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hendersonville, Tn
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It was so-so...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was rather surprised as the hotel is advertised as four-star and it's very nicely decorated, but it's not as lavish as it sounds online. I stayed at the Chattanoogan October 22-23 for business purposes. The rooms were average, no nicer than any other chain hotel. The beds are somewhat comfortable. They charge $2.00 for the in-room bottled water, which I thought was ridiculous, so I didn't touch it and instead purchased my own and brought it in. The staff was nice, but didn't really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The big shocker for me was that they placed a $100 hold on my debit card for "incidentals" which I didn't purchase, and at no time during the reservation process did they mention anything about that. With the number of business travellers they get because they are right next to the convention center, you'd think they would do better. I was not impressed. You'd get the same stay at the Ramada, Hilton or any other property nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawgirl125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you, for taking the time to write your candid review. It is apparent that you did not receive The Chattanoogan experience. It is terribly disappointing, however, when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways and we regret that we missed the opportunity to create a better stay. We strive to deliver the best accommodations for each of our guests. It is also disappointing to learn that you experienced anything less than our very best in customer service and will pass along your comments with our associates. We hope you will visit us again for a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    285
    132
    55
    40
See reviews for
275
358
29
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved the hotel. Clean, spacious, pretty, courteous staff, delicious breakfast, conveniently located, reasonably priced. I was at the hotel because of an event scheduled there by my company. It surpassed my expectations. The bed was so comfy. Loved the fireplace in the lobby. The computers in the business center were fast. They were helpful with my bags when I checked out. Cannot say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor as I requested the lowest available floor, and it was quiet. I sense t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay and conference experience at The Chattanoogan hotel. We’re so glad that the service our event staff delivered prompt and attentive service and provided an overall excellent experience. Thank you, for shring your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We were thrilled to be a place where you could relax and enjoy yourself. We certainly hope to welcome you back during your next business or leisure trip to Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Exactly what you expect from Benchmark Hospitality. Great service, clean rooms and good location.

I Suggest utilizing the free city electric shuttle to get to the River. It's super easy and quick. Loved the fireplace in the lobby, always had to stop there for a moment before heading up to my room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your expectations and our location made it convenient to travel to your destinations. Great suggestion about the free electric shuttle. It is definitely a quick and convenient way to get around the downtown area and over to North Shore. Should your travels bring you back to the area, and we certainly hope they do, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay and so that you may take advantage of our amenities. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisville, NC, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Wonderful stay!! Everything from coordinating a catered event, to arrival (and valet guys) at check-in, to even helping get my shipped materials open and sorted through. Top to bottom wonderful experience. Next time I will be sure to make time for the spa! Great food - best catered breakfast at a hotel ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay and conference experience at The Chattanoogan hotel. We’re so glad that the service of our event staff delivered prompt and attentive service and that our meeting rooms met your needs. It is great to read that you got to enjoy our breakfast options and we appreciate your helpful feedback. Next time you are in town please take advantage of our Spa and their wonderful services. We certainly hope to welcome you back during your next business or leisure trip to Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Chattanoogan on a business trip for a conference held in the hotel. What a cozy hotel! The weather was chilly while I visited and the fireplace in the lobby was such a comforting addition! The rooms were super clean and the staff was very nice. I would definitely stay again whether it was for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taykirk25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay and conference experience at The Chattanoogan hotel. We’re so glad that the service our event staff delivered was prompt and attentive. It is great to read that you got to enjoy each the ambiance of the hotel. Thank you for the mention of the clean rooms and friendly staff. Please consider liking us on Facebook to follow local events and specials that the hotel offers. We certainly hope to welcome you back during your next business or leisure trip to Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Chattanoogan and found it to be an awesome experience. The staff was outstanding, delicious food, great location. The rooms are spacious, lovely decor and quiet. When I checked out, the bell staff had everything ready for me, the valet attendants paid close attention to details of getting my luggage in my car and gave me wonderful directions since I was new to the city. The front desk staff was very informative in sharing with me other places of interest in the area and the room service was great. The Foundry staff could not have been more delightful. My drinks and food was delicious. I will return to the hotel and will share my experience with my family and friends. Thank you for a lovely stay in your fine hotel and city.

Room Tip: I loved my view from the 4th floor facing West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newspaper2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Your thoughtful review and high recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel mean a great deal to us -- thank you for sharing your feedback! Thank you for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. We are truly pleased your enjoyed everything about your recent visit, from the efficient valet staff to the food and spirits at The Foundry and our great room service. We’re so glad our hotel provided a comfortable, restful place to relax. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our company just held our annual strategic planning retreat at The Chattanoogan and it was exceptional. The meeting space was perfect and the F&B over the three days was delicious. The staff was very accommodating and we were provided excellent service. Our attendees came from all over the US to this meeting and were most impressed with the property as well as Chattanooga as a whole. The short rib burger at the Foundry and the lunch buffet at the Broad Street Grille were yummy. We had a great time and will be back! Thank you for an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you, for your glowing recommendation of our Conference Service team. The entire staff works together to exceed your expectations and anticipate every aspect of your event. I am thrilled to hear this was your experience. Thank you for the kind words about our food; our culinary staff is dedicated to providing the most fresh, local and trendy dishes. Please consider following us on Facebook so you can stay up to date on local activities and specials that the hotel has to offer. We look forward to working with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing