We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at The Chattanoogan. I think it was a great choice. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. It's within walking distance to restaurants in town. The bar was nice and had a band playing that night. The hotel doesn't really look like a hotel, but there's nothing wrong with that. We woke up Sunday morning and had the brunch buffet. This was a great buffet and you got bottomless mimosas. I think it was maybe $23 a person. We spent most of our time outside the hotel since it was a quick trip, but I would recommend this place to people.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the walls were a little thin. When we were in the room without the TV on, we could hear our neighbors TV very clearly. That person could have had the TV turned up really loud though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for providing such a thoughful review of your recent stay at The Chattanoogan hotel. We are happy to hear that our property views and thoughtfully decorated, smartly-appointed accommodations met your expectations. It is wonderful to read that your experience did not end there and that our Sunday brunch at The Broad Street Grille left you satisfied. We greatly appreciate your feedback and kind mention of helpful service. Please come back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    300
    137
    57
    44
See reviews for
287
374
34
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have stayed at the Chattanoogan for yearly conferences since 2004. All hotel staff provide exceptional customer service! The rooms are large, clean and the beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Food is tasty and a great value at both The Broad Street Grille and The Foundry Lounge. Internet is available as soon as you walk through the doors, no need to keep logging in every day - wifi is always "ON". The firepit outside is a fun place to gather with friends and co-workers each night. The location of the hotel is within walking distance to downtown Chattanooga which has much entertainment to be found!

Room Tip: My rooms have been great - close to elevator yet could not hear any disruptive noises at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you back to The Chattanoogan hotel during your recent conference. Our staff is dedicated to delivering world-class service at every turn, even before our guests arrive, so we’re thrilled this was your experience. Thank you for providing such a glowing review of your recent stay. We are more than thrilled that our property views and thoughtfully decorated, smartly-appointed accommodations exceeded your expectations. It is wonderful to read that your experiences keep you coming back. Please come back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our waitress was super nice Donniece moon between her and the food we will be back to eat for sure
**********************************************************
We didn't stay he hotel but ate in resturant
**********************************************************
Food was Wonderful
we ate in the resturant my husband never saids anything good where we eat and we eat out at least 3 times a week he had the Vidal onion and cheesesteak on hoagie sandwich he said that was the best sandwich he has ever had. He loved my club sandwich also. We we will be back since we live here

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Prissybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you, for your review. We are thrilled when locals discover The Broad Street Grille. We offer many special events throughout the week, weekends and on holidays. Please consider liking us on Facebook to stay up-to-date with all that we have to offer. Please consider trying our fabulous Sunday Brunch; you will not be disappointed. See you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed for a business trip! The hotel was a great place for a conference. Very nice rooms clean and very nice employees. The food was deceiving it was very good but made numerous people have some stomach issues. However all in all a great hotel!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Crdsfn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent business stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed a productive meeting and your guest accommodations, we regret that your stay was not perfect in every way. Please accept our sincerest apologies if you experienced anything less than a stellar expereince. We have shared your review with our entire team to ensure that our guests enjoy a top-notch experience at every turn. It is our hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

My favorite place to stay in Chattanooga is the Chattanoogan. Very spacious and clean rooms. The beds are very comfortable and the room is comfortable. I like the fact that the building is not too tall. I don't really like high rises. I love the gas fire in the lobby area. It really is warm to sit by and it looks beautiful. Parking is easy and it is a very short walk over to TVA office buildings. Staff is always friendly and efficient. I have tried other hotels in the ares, but this one is the best in my book.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you, for your review from a business traveler perspective. Thank you, for describing our hotel as the best; our staff is dedicated to being the Best of the Best. We know that with your job you are in hotels more than you are at home. We strive to make every stay feel like home for TVA and all of our business travelers. Thank you, for the mention of our convenient location; we are so close to many businesses and fine local restaurants. We know it can be stressful being on the road and we strive to make your stay stress-free and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you and your co-workers here any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

I just returned from a trip to Chattanooga and Nashville. This hotel is simply outstanding for the money! Everything was reasonably priced - valet parking, hotel room, buffet breakfast. Further, the employees could not have been more friendly and helpful. This hotel is in good condition and is clearly well managed. I highly recommend it and would stay here over ANY of the big chain hotels or their offspring. True southern hospitality! I will go back...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnkleDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello....thanks for taking time to share your experience at The Chattanoogan. We know you that you had a choice in hotels and we keep that in the forefront of our minds. Sounds like everything went very well for you and your comments are so appreciated. We never grow tired of hearing about our friendly and accommodating employees and our fantastic food! Thank you, for your appreciaton of our "Southern Charm" and personal service over box hotels. We look forward to your next trip to Chattanooga so you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is perfectly nice - comfortable rooms, a beautiful pool/ hot tub, a pretty lobby, etc. But the true differentiator of this hotel is the outstanding service. I took my daughter for a mother/ daughter night out, and we were spoiled rotten by the wonderful stuff. The two best examples:
1. I reserved online, and within 10 minutes received a call (from Nancy in Reservations) asking if we wanted our room near the pool or elsewhere, and if I minded if they sent cookies and milk up to the room as a gift for my daughter. Wow!
2. Coming out of the pool, we walked by the spa where there is always a basket of fruit. My daughter asked for a banana, but they were out, so we took an orange instead. 10 minutes later we had a knock on our door and Merle from room service was there with 2 bananas for us.
I usually associate this level of services with hotels in Asia, not in the U.S. We will be back often!

Room Tip: Rooms on the odd-numbered side of the building have pretty view of Lookout Mountain. If you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful story and comments! It is always great to receive detailed feedback from our guests after they have had an opportunity to experience all the nuances we offer. Your comments regarding our amazing staff will be passed along to them, thank you! Our staff is trained to "Be the Difference" and we are grateful to hear this was your experience. Thank you, for your helpful feedback; we have shared your review with the appropriate departments so that we can take every guest stay to the next level. Please consider liking on Facebook to keep up with local events in Chattanoogan and Facebook specials for our hotel. Please come back for another mother/daughter weekend very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 South Broad Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing