We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large and comfortable hotel”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is massive. It is absolutely enormous. Long curved corridors lead you from one area to another and it would be easy to get lost.

Fantastic welcome after a very long drive south. Brilliantly welcoming and efficient young men sprang to attention to help us unload, park the car, usher us into the building. Everyone we met couldn't have done more to try to please - indeed it became rather strangely tiresome after about 48 hours to have so many people so eager to please, which is a first.

Very comfortable beds, large room, large bathroom with great shower in bath tub (not intended for bathing in, it's too shallow).

FREE unlimited use of their business computers/printers.

A 5-minute walk (in 90 degree heat) to free shuttle bus to downtown/river area. Did not see any other restaurants within walking distance, so had dinner in the restaurant both nights (but the menu was the same, it changes weekly, apparently). Did not try breakfast.

My only gripe was that the fan inside the bathroom ran continuously and disturbed sleep if the bathroom door was not shut tight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StripedShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your guest accommodations and location, we regret that your stay was not perfect in every way. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noisy fan. We have shared your review with our entire team to ensure that our guests enjoy a top-notch stay every time. Next time, please stop by the front desk and ask about dining options. We have lovely restaurants within walking distance that offer local flair. It is our hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
There are newer reviews for The Chattanoogan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 809 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay on business or pleasure! Room service was the only disappointment. Arrived late on business and front desk was very kind and moved along quickly.
Wanted to sit in the Foundry for cocktails and dinner but it was extremely noisy. Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you, for your review. Our apologies that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay. Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and staff. Please try us again on your next visit to Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was impressed with how helpful the staff was. We had the engineer come up to our room twice to take care of a couple of minor problems and he was there really quickly. Very nice room at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your expectations and our location made it convenient to your travels. Should your travels bring you back to the area, and we certainly hope they do, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay and so that you may take advantage of our numerous recreational amenities. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I travel to Chattanooga for a weekend at least 3 times a year. We like to stay downtown so we have easy access to all the shops and restaurants. Super walkable area. We've stayed at all of the nice hotels in the area, and the Chattanoogan is always our top choice. Close to everything, but not in the middle of all the traffic and noise. Lovely amenities. Full workout room and large indoor pool. The last time we were in town, the hotel was sold out!!! Regardless, I went to the onsite spa and had a massage by Rodney. OMG! It hurt but the way you want it to. He adjusted his firmness to accomodate so if you prefer no pain and only soothing, he'll do that too. When he finished, I told him I'd be writing a review and mention him specifically. If you're on the fence about spending $ for a massage, skip an expensive meal and get the massage! One other tip, if you go on the weekend, street parking is free. The meters only run during the week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StudentOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our spa. It is nice to hear that we are your preferred choice when staying in Chattanooga. My apologies that we were sold out but we appreciate the "Shout Out" to Rodney. All of our staff is wonderful but it's nice to spotlight individuals who stand out. We will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff. We hope you will be able to stay with us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We were supposed to stay at the Crash Pad, but this happened to be overbooked. The friendly folks of the Crash Pad offered to pay a room at the Chattanoogan to make up (after they apologised) and it was more than ok. Very clean rooms, super friendly staff (we even got some free coffee although we didn't take breakfast).
Smack in the middle of downtown, the location was great to explore the (limited, it was a Thursday) nightlife.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate the kind words about the Staff and Facilities. My Team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Chattanooga. No matter how you found us; we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for business, super nice hotel. Everything in this hotel is high end, no shortcuts anywhere. The lobby was impressive. Contemporary decor, FYI. Very well maintained and staffed. A must-stop if you are visiting Chattanooga. It is about 1.5 miles from the waterfront area and across the street from Warehouse row, all within walking distance in good weather.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DFG1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent business stay at our hotel. Thank you for referring to us as the Best hotel in Chattanooga. We appreciate that you recognize our wonderful and helpful staff and that the hotel and it's décor is the best means a lot. . We look forward to getting to know you on future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I went on a weekend getaway with friends and this hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Very nice, comfortable, clean, and the location was perfect for us. We walked most of the time, all the way from our hotel, to the aquarium side, and back to the Chattanooga Choo-Choo side. We felt comfortable and safe each time, but we also had the option of the trolly which was very convenient. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant, but the breakfast did look fabulous. We did enjoy the complimentary coffee before leaving for the day, which was nice. The hotel was fabulous, and I was just overall very happy with our mini vacation. When visiting Chattanooga, do not overlook the Art District (and especially grab a pastry, coffee, or fruit at Rembrandt's!) We also enjoyed lunch at Tony's Pasta Shop overlooking the water, walking across the pedestrian bridge on a sunny day, and for a fun night go to Sing it or Wing it Karaoke!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiSnEyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you and your friends to The Chattanoogan hotel during your recent getaway to Chattanooga. We’re so glad you got to explore Chattanooga and the many great attractions nearby. We appreciate your kind mention of our guest accommodations. Happy travels, we hope to welcome you back for a return stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
976 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £113 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing