We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay in Downtown Chattanooga!”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Attractive, comfortable, clean hotel with all the amenities in downtown Chattanooga! Seek quiet relaxation in your room or spa and enjoy entertainment steps away in the hotel bar listening to one of the live bands. Great outdoor fire pit to sit around and enjoy the evening. Awesome, attentive hotel staff makes you feel welcomed and taken care of through your entire stay. City cruiser bike rental pickup/drop off right outside the hotel to enjoy all the downtown Chattanooga activities and restaurants just minutes away.
Note: We visited during Riverbend, a music festival that takes place along the river walk. We wanted to ride our bikes along the river and weren't able to, because it was blocked off for the festival. As well, I think our rooms were more expensive, because the festival was going on. If you are not going for the festival, you might want to pick another weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteffyBoyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you consider our hotel the perfect place to stay. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We appreciate your tips and comments to other travels. We apologize that you were not able to bike along the riverfront due to the citywide event. Please come back to Chattanooga during a less busy time. Please consider liking us on Facebook to keep up with the hotel and events. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We booked a Hotwire mystery deals hotel as we usually do for about $100/night and what a great surprise this was! We were here actually on Easter weekend March 2013 and are an outdoorsy couple who doesn't spend much time in any hotel we stay, but when we came back at night what a delight it was to stay here. We walked to an amazing place Bluegrass grill for breakfast and LOVED IT! There is a free shuttle around town so although it is a bit further away from everything we took that no problem to aquarium and bars/restaurants etc. Our room was quiet and comfortable and we didn't eat here as we wanted to try local flavors and highly recommend Back Inn Cafe for a romantic dinner, pricier but well worth every penny. Also if you're adventurous and have a car check out Cloud Canyon park about 30 minutes away for an awesome hike to a couple waterfalls and beautiful canyon views. We even walked in on Easter day soaking wet after a day hike and probably a bit muddy too and were offered towels instead of the glares we expected from walking in this hotel such a mess as it was a bit of a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arenee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your review and all the helpful tips to our readers. Next time, you might want to try Tony's Pasta; it's in the same area as Back Inn Café with the same high level of food and quality at a more reasonable price. To read that you completely enjoyed your visit to The Chattanoogan hotel from the moment you arrived in town to when you departed means a great deal to us! We’re delighted our staff provided friendly service, thank you for your review. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful ... staff is very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back. They did have the most impressive valet staff out of all my hotel experience. Everything i requested in my hotel package was delivered without delay. Any issues or questions were addressed promptly. Even the restaurant and bar were lively and good. The room was nice, clean and refreshing. Location is definitely not far for any attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you, for your review. It is a real treat to learn how much you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. It is a delight to read that you enjoyed a nice stay at the Chattanoogan hotel and that your experience could inspire a return visit in the future. We appreciate that our staff was always available to deliver top-notch service and that it was a highlight of your stay. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were in Chattanooga for a wedding and The Chattanoogan was one of the hotels suggested where guests could stay. It's a lovely property and we had a very comfortable stay. The beds were super comfortable and the room was very quiet, even though we were close to the elevator. We were there over the weekend and we didn't have to pay for parking. I've noticed others mention that they had to pay for parking. Maybe on the weekends it's free? The parking gate was up the entire time we were there. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and even though there was a rush of new guests at the time we arrived, we got through check-in quickly and efficiently. The breakfast buffet was excellent and an great bargain for $12/person.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megmeyer411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you, for your detailed review. We are pleased that you and your wedding party had a great stay at The Chattanoogan hotel. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at The Chattanoogan hotel met your expectations and our location made it convenient to travel to Chattanooga. Should your travels bring you back to the area, and we certainly hope they do, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay and so that you may take advantage of our numerous attractions. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Drove up from Atlanta and needed somewhere to stay for one-night with the kids. The location is decent and good restaurants are within one block. Person at front desk was very nice on check-in and took the time to recommend places to eat with the kids (we decided on Urban Stack which was very good). Room was clean and spacious, free internet is always nice, parking was reasonable (although we found a spot on the street) and the kids liked the pool. They have a nice workout facility as well, but we just walked through on our way to the pool. All-in-all a great experience and will stay there in the future. Also have to give a special shout-out to Nancy who was very kind and had security check the room the next day when I realized I didn't have my watch. She had it Fedexed to me the next week. Thanks!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Your thoughtful review and high recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel mean a great deal to us -- thank you for sharing your feedback! We are truly pleased you and your family enjoyed everything about your recent visit, from the room views and helpful staff to our recreational amenities. We’re so glad our hotel provided a comfortable, restful place to relax. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back very soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is such a nice hotel. Both times we have been pleased with the friendly service, cleanliness of the rooms, and atmosphere of the place. It's very classy and well run. You do pay for parking, but that's a minor point compared to the quality and value that we get when we stay here. They have a beautiful fireplace inside as well as an outdoor gas firepit with benches. The grounds are so beautiful, and I've always felt safe here. I'm sold on this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear that we are your preferred choice when staying in Chattanooga. Having return guest is the highest compliment. I know you have many options, and I am glad you chose us. We are proud to have been able to help you enjoy our area. My Team truly cares about helping create a memorable time here in Chattanooga. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is massive. It is absolutely enormous. Long curved corridors lead you from one area to another and it would be easy to get lost.

Fantastic welcome after a very long drive south. Brilliantly welcoming and efficient young men sprang to attention to help us unload, park the car, usher us into the building. Everyone we met couldn't have done more to try to please - indeed it became rather strangely tiresome after about 48 hours to have so many people so eager to please, which is a first.

Very comfortable beds, large room, large bathroom with great shower in bath tub (not intended for bathing in, it's too shallow).

FREE unlimited use of their business computers/printers.

A 5-minute walk (in 90 degree heat) to free shuttle bus to downtown/river area. Did not see any other restaurants within walking distance, so had dinner in the restaurant both nights (but the menu was the same, it changes weekly, apparently). Did not try breakfast.

My only gripe was that the fan inside the bathroom ran continuously and disturbed sleep if the bathroom door was not shut tight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StripedShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay at our hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your guest accommodations and location, we regret that your stay was not perfect in every way. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noisy fan. We have shared your review with our entire team to ensure that our guests enjoy a top-notch stay every time. Next time, please stop by the front desk and ask about dining options. We have lovely restaurants within walking distance that offer local flair. It is our hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
991 reviews
9.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £102 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing