We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice With a Few Things You Should Know”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Big room – lots of space to move around. Free Wi-Fi. Beds are nice. Great water pressure, wonderful shower head and hot water is HOT. Adult height vanity. Nice towels. Black-out curtains really do keep the room very dark. AC works well without being overly noisy. Very friendly folks at check-in (Kevin!). Nice business center with 2 computers and free printing. There’s really no parking on Broad Street, so make sure to pull around the back when you first arrive. Makes check-in so much easier. There is a nice visitor’s guide magazine, and free area map at the front desk. There is no fridge or microwave in the room, although they may be able to bring you one, for a fee. There are no plugs on the nightstand or extras on the wall between the beds, so if you want to charge your cell phone or have a computer plugged in while you work in bed, think again. There is no stopper for the sink. TV in room is on top of a very tall armoire so if you’re sitting at the desk or in the easy chair you have to hold your arm up in the air to change channels/volume. When I checked in I was told it was $8 to self-park with unlimited in and out. Two days later I heard another front desk person say it was $8 per day. And, the only reference to parking that I ever saw online before making my reservation was that they offer valet parking. This part of town is away from the action, so there’s no strolling around at night or walking to a variety of restaurants. My third day here brought some mini issues: Both of my room keys quit working for no reason. When I went to the front desk to resolve the problem there was a line of 4 folks because one of the employees was on break. About 2 hours later I had to go back to the front desk and again there was only 1 employee and there were 5 folks in line. That evening the door to the vending machine room was locked for no reason (they did send someone to unlock). For whatever reason, they had to do maintenance on the hot water and shut it off completely at midnight. Would have been nice, for those of us who stay up late, if we’d been given some sort of notice. I understand they didn’t even let the front desk staff know. I got a good rate ($111/night, before parking!) so it was a good stay. At that rate, I would stay there again. If the rate becomes comparable to hotels closer to downtown, I’ll probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RealtorNumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you, for taking the time to write such a detailed review. You will be glad to know that many of the things you mentioned about the room should be resolved with our guest room renovations that are slated to start soon. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share it with all departments. We look forward to a return visit where we can truly impress you in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,392 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We have stayed here during our annual visit to Chattanooga the past three years and we have always had a great time. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are really nice with great beds and fluffy towels. It is also within walking distance to some of Chattanooga"s best restaurants. Love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you love our hotel and enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to having you with us the next time you travel to Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the minute you want through the doors you can see the attention to detail that goes into the presentation of this hotel. The lobby is immaculately clean, gives a upscale impression. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our travel to the city was a family trip Although this hotel seems to cater to business visitors families are quite welcome here. We arrived after a full day of activities but the boys still had energy to burn. They LOVED the indoor poor. We chose to stay in the city, as our plans for next day was a visit to the aquarium and the IMAX theater. The hotel was very accomodating. We had breakfast the next day, took the city shuttle to the aquarium and enjoyed a full day downtown. The hotel allowed us to leave our vehicle in their safe and secure garage even though we checked out before leaving the hotel. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor If you plan on using the pool, as the pool and spa are on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff.I appreciate the kind words about our hotel! I know you have many options, and I am glad you chose us. We are proud to have been able to help you enjoy our area. Please consider liking us on Facebook to see upcoming promotions and events. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Chattanoogan. The food was amazing, the rooms were clean and the meeting rooms were great. Although this was a business trip I would come back to this hotel for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kristimay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We appreciate the time it took to write and your thoughtful review of this hotel. Your high recommendation of The Chattanoogan hotel means a great deal to us. Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience of your recent business stay. It is the greatest compliment that you want to come back and share this experience with your family. Those moments are precious and we are honored that you want to spend them with us. Please consider liking us on Facebook for insider deals and happenings in Chattanooga. We look forward to your return and meeting your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here - room was very clean and comfortable and very quiet. Staff were very helpful and polite.

Hotel location is very convenient for the electric tram (1 block) and downtown, and has ample parking.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (5th) and you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AtlantaBritsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to mention our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I am glad you found our location convenient. We look forward to having you back on a return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Chattanooga. We came for a birthday celebration and had a great time. Perfect location to everything downtown. This hotel was friendly and the entire staff was helpful. I always appreciate great service in hotels and the front desk was very helpful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again. Keep it up! Thanks for a great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KH2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that our location made it easy and convenient for your travels and to the numerous attractions in Chattanooga. We’re thankful that you shared your appreciation for our facilities and the friendliness of our staff. Thank you for your helpful feedback, we hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is our 3rd stay at the Chattanoogan. We love this hotel. The staff is outstanding. The bar great (Bloody Mary was wonderful!). The rooms are beautiful. We ate our breakfast in the hotel and I have recently had gastric bypass surgery and without asking they only charged me for the kids price on the buffet. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. From the valet to the check-in to the restaurant staff - they were all great! Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and slept like babies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomCupo1, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. To know that you continue to come back again and again means a great deal to us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy The Foundry and our renowned breakfast buffet. The Chattanoogan offers many options and amenities that will suit the needs of every traveler. Thank you for the mentioning the great customer service you received by various team members. Please consider following us on Facebook for insider deals and activities in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,734 reviews
9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £92 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing