We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry Service”
Review of Pin Strikes

Pin Strikes
Ranked #10 of 30 Fun & Games in Chattanooga
Attraction details
Cleveland, TN
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sorry Service”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I recently visited PinStrikes with a church group, and was thoroughly disappointed by my visit. Although the amenities are very nice, there is an obvious lack of staffing. After ordering one pizza, we waited for over an hour to receive our food. Even after the pizza was done and resting on the counter of the window open to the kitchen, the one worker was occupied with taking orders and filling drinks, which resulted in another fifteen minutes of waiting while I watched my food get cold. As I did this, the gentleman beside me expressed his frustration at waiting for forty-one minutes to order and receive a simple corn dog. Another woman told us she had waited for thirty minutes for a cup of water. A friend of mine ordered a sandwiched, and after forty-five minutes, requested a refund. The manager assured her her food would be ready in another fifteen minutes, but after waiting that long, she still wanted her money returned. After this, numerous people ordered food, only to be told after waiting for a good bit of time that the kitchen was closing for the time being. Thankfully, their money was refunded. We also waited for about an hour and a half to receive a bowling lane, although there were numerous lanes open. After we noticed this, a member of my group approached the worker of the bowling line, and was told that although the lanes were free, he couldn't issue them until he managed to get the line for buying games for bowling, laser tag, and bumper cars down. After all of this, we found out that the bowling games are timed. If you were not finished with your game by the time the timer went off, you had to pay for an additional game to finish. I am sorely disappointed in Pin Strikes and I will not be returning. I recommend the poor staffing be dealt with accordingly, especially after reading reviews from others that say they have experienced the same problems.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank lels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Pin Strikes, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We’re glad to hear you enjoy our amenities and location, lels. We are very disappointed to hear about your negative experience and we must apologize for the situation you have described. After reading you review we have tracked down the necessary parties and taken a closer look at how to solve the issue you described. Unfortunately, we were short staffed that day and experienced some hardships but we have corrected the error. We appreciate your feedback and are using your review to improve for the future. We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. We hope you will not judge us based purely on this one experience. Thank you. Best, Dean R., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    3
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for kids parties”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We hosted our 10 yr olds birthday party at Pin Strikes. Everything went very well. Bowling, bumper cars, and lazer tag were all great fun for the kids. The pizza was good and the wait staff stayed on top of things. We will definitely visit again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Corporate Team-Building Event”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We just had our Christmas team-building event at PinStrikes and it was very successful!!! It started with a "southwestern" fajita buffet lunch with added fresh veggie trays and wings...and..brownies to top it off. The food was very good and definitely not your typical "bowling alley" food. Then, our event continued with a pre-planned competition completely lead by the staff at the bowling alley. We had approximately 60 people in attendance and were broken up into teams of 5 per team. Events included bowling, laser tag, and video games! The teams had to accumulate points as they particpated in each event and the highest scoring team was proclaimed the winner!!! The staff was very attentive during our entire event and ensured that our team-building event was a hige success. Chattanooga doesn't have a lot of venues for this type of team-building. We would highly recommend Pinstrikes to others!! Thanks for handling our event from start to finish! We appreciate it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Pin Strikes, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Hi Jane, Wow! It sounds like you had an amazing time at your Christmas team-building event at PinStrikes! We’re thrilled we were able to be a part of this experience with you. We will give your compliments to our culinary team. We hope you’ll come back and see us again with your family and friends. Thank you for the wonderful review. Best, Michael D., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place but think before you go!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times since it opened. We loved it since the beginning. Last two times the service has been poor and prices are getting higher with less coupons or package deals. Only one register open on a Friday night! Took longer to get paid then it took to bowl. The person behind the counter rolls their eyes when you ask about coupons it is bad (wait till that kid has kids, lol) In the past they had coupons online or in paper (or even if you just ask the person at the counter they would give you one) this time no coupons. Now before you think that I am whining, and say they do have specials on weekdays.
Think that a family of four like us from out of town that comes to chattanooga once or twice a month comes only on the weekends. So with hotel for the night, shopping, eating out, ect... You look for the best ways to spend. That said they need to think packages that a cost friendly for families. They need to think volume like when the place first opened rather than most buck! We use to wait in line for the laser tag, balladium war, and carts it really is more fun with a ton of people in there and not so much when it is just us four waiting for more people to be willing to pay the price. We like this place more then their computing up the street and even the chuckee cheese over the bridge near other mall but they need to start to think like them and have better more value for your pay packages. Like my wife said May be time to drive to Gatlinburg (all the places that have lasted with this kind of stuff there have great packages and coupons online, Facebook, or texting) or Atlanta, Nashville (where dave and busters or many other park style places.when I spend more than what it cost to go to six flags for a family of four to bowl and play a few rounds of other things I must agree.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Daytonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, General Manager at Pin Strikes, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Dayton Family, we're very sorry to hear about the poor service you had when you visited us. It is never our intention to provide slow service. We have addressed this issue with the staff and are working towards correcting these problems. We recommend following our Facebook page at facebook.com/PinStrikes1 for updates on specials, coupons or giveaways. We understand the importance of family budgeting and we're thrilled you've chosen us as your primary outing in the past. We haven't raised prices because we aim to be an affordable and fun family friendly place for everyone. We hope you'll continue to visit us when you are in the Chattanooga area. Thank you for your feedback and the review. Best, Michael D., Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too Expensive - Nice though”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

First off, we used a buy-one-get-one-free bowling game and even that wound up being a questionable deal. The regular rate is $5.25 + $4.25 shoe rental... per person! Yes, that's $9.50 per person per game. That's $38 for a family of 4 to bowl a single game or $76 for 2 games. Yikes! Video games are also really expensive at $1 each, plus I believe you have to buy the card to use which is $.50. The laser tag, balladium and bumper cars (which weren't turned on) looked fun, but are kinda pricey too.

The lanes were nice (it was cool that each person had the option for bumper or not) and shoes were new, although I guess too new as they weren't slippery at all which means I couldn't bowl properly.

So, if you are good with the prices and plan ahead time and maybe use a coupon or use a combination package, I think you'll have a lot of fun. I could see doing one of their birthday packages with all 4 activities as being a blast ($209 according to their website).

After we bowled, we went 7 miles up to Chuck e Cheese and got 90 games for $20 (best value around) instead of 19 video games at Pin Strikes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pin Strikes also viewed

 

Been to Pin Strikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing