We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Perfect Place to Get Away"”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"The Perfect Place to Get Away"”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have just recently stayed at the Stone Fort Inn for my Fifth time and plan on going back for many more visits. This place is so special, with great charm and hospitality. The service there is always at your every need and not to mention the food is absolutely wonderful. The new restaurant Terra Mae has really put the topping on the cake to this charming B&B. The Appalachian style menu is so unique and everything is prepared so beautifully. There is also always the wine and cheese hour on Friday and Saturday nights for the guest that is so nice! One of the things I love most about this place is that is gives you the feel of "escaping it all", but you are centrally located right downtown. All the fun things to do are in walking distance. This is a very special place to my fiancé and I. You really feel pampered and taken care of when you are a guest there. We plan on coming back to visit for many years to come! Well done Stone Fort Inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
341
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Location Tops great pubs restaurants attractions all walking distance and good parking too,.
Service didn't need much but it was professional and polite
rooms great excellent spacious warm eclectic and neat
Breakfast buffet style very very ample and delicious great coffee
Place is tops neighborhood is such a good long 4 mile walk in the AM is very safe

Room Tip: There all good some have balconies all have Jacuzzi tubs I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auxano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you are bothered by creaky and sloping floors, doors that do not close properly, water stains in the ceilings and old furniture that may be missing parts, then Stone Fort Inn may not be a place for you. But if you appreciate the effort to maintain a beautiful historical building as close to its original character as possible, while providing all the modern conveniences, then you could well enjoy your stay.

Our one night weekend stay at Stone Fort Inn was wonderful. Upon arrival, our room was still being cleaned, so we received a private tour of the property and heard about the history of the building from the proprietor. The rest of the staff was courteous and friendly throughout our stay, too.

Our second floor room was spacious and clean, and the antique furniture was worn but in good shape. The queen sleigh bed was a bit on the short side for a six-foot-plus traveler, but after sampling drinks in the Terra Mae restaurant and soaking in the jetted tub, it provided a pretty decent night's sleep.

The complimentary breakfast in the Terra Mae restaurant was quite nice, with fresh fruit, biscuits, bacon and omelets made to order by the chef. The only real complaint during the visit was that the music was turned up really loud during the breakfast -- motown golden oldies at full blast really didn't go with the rest of the experience.

In a century old building little things can and do break down on occasion, but It is obvious that the owner is making a great effort to make Stone Fort Inn a memorable experience to guests. It is closer to a B&B than a hotel and with a small number of rooms available, I would recommend booking your stay as early as possible.

Room Tip: There can be a lot of noise in the second floor rooms from the restaurant below, especially if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyFinn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here, along with 2 coworkers, for a business trip. We LOVED it. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfasts, to die for. Seriously, the breakfast has to be among the best I've had and they call it an "express" breakfast but trust me, it is a thing of beauty and they sure didn't rush when they prepared it. The inn is beautifully decorated with each room being unique in both its furnishings and its color. I stayed in a queen suite which had an attached sitting room with tv. Very nice. Each of the rooms has an enormous jacuzzi or a claw-foot tub as well as a separate, walk-in shower. We ate dinner in the inn restaurant, TerraMae, one night and it was wonderful - the best meal we had in Chattanooga and that is saying something. And last, but not least, everyone on staff when we were there was very nice and helpful. In any regard, I would definitely stay here on another trip and would highly recommend it to other travelers. It sure beat staying at an impersonal chain hotel. I can not recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokeytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's; and the Stone Fort Inn has, by far, been the best. The staff is top notch and truly go above and beyond for their guest. A special thanks to Justin for the excellent hospitality and overwhelming kindness.

Also, we ate at the Terra Mae restaurant; great food, atmosphere and service. I recommend the Stone Fort Inn over any hotel or B&B!

Great experience !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcldaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B/boutique hotel and we enjoyed it with a few minor issues. We stayed in room 30, top floor, exclusive balcony room. While we loved the size of the room, it needs some updating. The bed was comfortable but needs new bedding. The closet smelled strongly of moth balls so we didn't use it. Just FYI there is no refrigerator and no coffee maker in the room. Someone mentioned a robe in their room but I don't know if that is standard because there was no robe in our room. The hotel itself was quiet. It seemed as though we had it to ourselves. The employees were all helpful. Our favorite part of staying at the Inn was the delicious express breakfast. It was fabulous!! The selection wasn't huge but there was enough to make it a great breakfast: fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, cereal, croissants, biscuits, gravy, potatoes, bacon, and eggs cooked to order. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crissycurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I won a night's stay at Stone Fort Inn. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay. Just the right location to see the downtown sights but on a quiet street. Amazing historic inn were to character. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
957 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing