We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Shelbyville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it !”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We normally stay at the Marriott or Read House downtown (2 great hotels too), but we decided to try the StoneFort Inn based upon some recommendations. We had never stayed at a smaller boutique Inn (as they call it) and had reservations. But the Inn won us over and the staff was excellent (James and Samantha) at the front, and the restaurant and bar were equally superior. We stayed in Room 26 and had no complaints with noise or cleanliness. In fact, we thought the place was spotlessly clean, and we enjoyed the little details like fresh water bottles in the room along with the IHomes, and the cookies on each floor at night. Although an older Inn, you could tell that the owners had taken the time to modernize, upgrade, and make the place beautiful. Coming from chain properties, I was impressed with the decor and the blend of the old with the new. We have found a new best hotel in a city where we travel to frequently on business!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
342
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

When you book this hotel, you are not super sure that it is going to be nice, but believe me, it is. From the old world feel to the renovated rooms to the extraordinary restaurant, this place is a true gem. I am just not sure what to think about the bad reviews, because we certainly saw nothing of the sort. And the service. Wow. We were pleased from head to toe with the everyone we encountered, and we received helpful directions (since our dumbphone gave out) and great hospitality. The breakfast that the Inn puts out is also very very good. The dinner at the restaurant was most excellent. I had the cowboy ribeye and the wife had the scallops. Very well prepared and executed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Stone Fort Inn and highly recommend to anyone who is looking for character and charm in Chattanooga with a staff that is super attentive and friendly. I will admit, I normally stay in your basic hotels such as Hampton, Marriott, etc., but now prefer to look for something like the Stone Fort Inn for future traveling. The location is perfect and their in house restaurant "Terra Mae" is an added bonus to anyone looking for a unique dining experience with an ambiance like no other. One last thing, you won't be disappointed with the breakfast. I was blown away with the quality of breakfast that is included with your stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed it so much! The convenience of eating at Terra Mae is definitely a perk of staying with us. We strive to create a unique urban boutique inn experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wonderful alternative to the big chain hotels. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the free bus going to the busy downtown area as well as near some fun neighborhood restaurants. We enjoyed walking over to Warehouse Row for two great places to eat Public House and Tupelo Honey. Some front rooms might have street noise but our room was on the side and very quiet. Enjoyed morning coffee on the private balcony. Breakfast was self serve buffet style which fit our schedule well. Charming old world would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side or back are quieter but the street in front was never very busy when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I read a lot of reviews and noticed, as with most reviews, there was a mixture of positives and negatives. We decided to spend our anniversary weekend at the Stone Fort Inn. If the price had been cheaper, I might have been able to over look some of the problems. However, for the price we paid I was dissapointed.

The first night: We had room 23 on the 2nd floor, in the front of the building. At first glance, the room was beautiful. However, we quickly noticed water damage on the ceiling and the walpaper was peiling. It just was very distracting from the beauty. In addition, the wall behind the bathroom sink needed wiping down as there was toothpaste all over it. Plus, the head board of the bed was sooooo dusty. It was beautiful and had lots of detail work but it clearly had not been dusted or cleaned in a long time. Overall, the room just felt half way done and halfway clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not terrible. I will say, the street noise was very loud and there is a street light right outside the window that is pretty bright. I keep waking up thinking it was the sun coming up.

The next day, my husband asked if we could be moved to a room that didn't have water damage. So they sent us up to the top floor, room 36 I think. This room was in the back of the hotel and much quieter and darker at night. I slept much better in this room. The bed was also noticably softer. The room felt a little bit cleaner too. They put a bottle of pelligrino water in your room, which would be nice except in our 2nd room there was stuff floating in the water. It was pretty gross.

Breakfast was good. It is a buffet and you order eggs the way you like. The 2nd morning it took a long time to get our scrambled eggs. I wish they had a bowl of scrambled eggs at the buffet and they you could order different type of eggs if you wish. That would be nice.

Overall, the inn felt almost good. It was almost clean, almost comfortable, and almost nice. The staff there were almost friendly. I was appreciative of them moving us to a different room. But for the price we paid, I expected better from the start.

I will say that the suites with the private balcony tubs did look nicer. But I wouldn't stay there again.

Cons:
Not very comfortable.
Not very clean.
Not very friendly.
Water damage in room.


Pros:
Pretty good breakfast.
Walking distance to things downtown.

Tips:
Stay on the 3rd floor in the back of the building.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor in the back of the hotel for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your anniversary. Congratulations on your milestone.

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and appreciate that we are located within walking distance to things downtown. You referenced the street noise in your comments. We would just remind you that you were staying in the heart of downtown in an urban inn, but that sort of noise is not a usual occurrence. It is typically quieter and more peaceful.

We strive to provide a unique boutique urban inn experience in our historic building, yet we are competitively priced to other hotels in the downtown area. We are not a chain hotel, so apple to apple comparisons are difficult to make.

Thank you for letting us know about the housekeeping concerns. We do check each room daily, but we will bring your comments to the staff’s attention because we agree that a clean, comfortable room and friendly service are vital in the hospitality industry.

As for your comments on there being “gross stuff” floating in the Pelligrino water in your room, we are trying to figure out how that could be since the bottles come sealed.

We regret that we did not fully live up to your expectations on such an important occasion, but your comments give us feedback we can use to focus on improving. We are glad we were able to switch your room and that you had a better experience after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived later in the evening and had to be let in through a locked door. The inn keeper simply said "last name?", hastily handed us our room key and a sheet of paper with information on it, and proceeded back on to her computer.

Upon entering our room we noticed several items including someone's plastic garbage, and a camera battery charger laying in the room. The room had an essence of dust and mildew in it.
As I locked the door I noticed the door bolt simply slid into an unfinished wood slot. It would only take a light pull to break the door jam. Upon further inspection of the room I noticed what looked like a mold growing on the ceiling.

The bed seemed clean and the bathroom area was clean albeit very outdated. Next to the bed lay two sets of earplugs, I wondered if there was a reason they would put those there. At just after midnight as we lay in bed trying to fall asleep, drunk people started yelling outside of our window. The paper thin windows did nothing to deaden the sound. I used the ear plugs. The room had nice wood blinds but they did not sufficiently block street light.

The breakfast was good and the service during breakfast was great. Whoever makes the breakfast (blue haired lady) did an awesome job. She took our custom egg order and they were delicious!

Overall it seemed as though the owners of the place had kind of given up on it. Some restorations, updates, manager/room-cleaning training would go a long way with this place. It has so much potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the service. Thank you for recognizing the extra effort she made for you.

As for the service in greeting you, you arrived at the inn around midnight. Our key staff is only in the lobby until around 10 pm, so the person who let you in was not the innkeeper. We appreciate your comment so we know to do a better job of training our overnight staff. We pride ourselves on greeting our guests warmly.

You referenced the noise outdoors. We would just remind you that you were staying in the heart of downtown in an urban inn, but that sort of noise is not a usual occurrence. It is typically quieter and more peaceful. Our own bar closes at 10 pm to minimize that sort of noise.

Thank you for making us aware of the housekeeping issues you pointed out. We do have someone who checks the rooms daily, but we will bring this to their attention and make sure it is being addressed.

We are focused on becoming an inn that lives up to your expectations. We appreciate you suggesting areas where we should concentrate those efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Built as elegant hotel in 1909, The Stone Fort still offers the elegance and charm of the OLD SOUTH. It is located near the center of downtown; and offers comfortable walking distance to a number of excellent restaurants. But, no need to leave THE STONE FORT as they offer wonderful bar, wine tasting, and dinners on the main floor of the hotel.
Elaborate breakfast starts at 7 am; and, offers a complete menu selection from granola to eggs to bacon, meats and numerous other selections. The Coffee is especially gourmet! Your stay includes this excellent breakfast. Weekend stays include a complimentary wine and cheese hour.
They offer a wide variety of rooms, with three room suites , rooms with balconies and hot tubs outside. Every room has large French showers and large bathtubs.
Each room is decorated with what I call OLD WORLD CLASS AND STYLE. Our room had Victorian couches and Setee, and period chairs. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. And, they have Wi Fi in every room. The AC was great for keeping us COOL!!

Rates due vary; however , for what we received I fell it is a rare find bargain.
Special commendation to Front Desk Manager Samantha Sharp, who is manager, receptionist, bell hop, tour advisor, and brings in extra chair for my computer; and, many other chores which we need.

Edward Altman





Eddie Altman, Jr.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are a little better. They have stairs , and a elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiethea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,287 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
959 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing