We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 822 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.
Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I agree with some of the other reviewers on this one. The food is good but for the money you spend you expect something better than good. By the looks of the menu compared to what everybody ate, the prices are about $5-$10 per entree above what they should be, plus the salad is an extra $5. I must say that the atmosphere matches the prices, very cozy and romantic. They just need to bring the prices down a notch to match the food step up the food a couple of notches to match the price....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank milehighatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    92
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Too pricey for a regular restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The food was good, but it wasn't that good. Not $40 a plate good. You're better off going to TGI Fridays. That's what this place reminded me of.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickGarcia23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overpriced, especially at lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Service was incredible, but ambiance has a feel of a hotel restaurant along with prices which do not justify the portions or taste. Will maybe try dinner before I write off going back completely.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My salad hit the table before my drink did. It was the wrong order. Waitress seemed stressed and as I looked around I felt like I was in a Friday's. Nashville locations are better.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's a good place for the occasional meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We ate here with our children over the last holiday season and enjoyed ourselves. Our server was both helpful and inattentive. Overall the service was pretty good but I never really enjoy eating in restaurants with this kind of service. Just a tad bit condescending.

The food was good (except for the artichoke appetizer, skip that) and the Salmon was exceptional. We found ourselves sharing our dishes so each of us could try the various offerings.

The decor was nice and the room was very dark with spots on the tables. Nice I suppose for dates and the more trendy diners but I would have liked a little more lighting with kids.

When the bill came I longed for a cheeseburger. This is not an inexpensive restaurant. So be prepared for sticker shock. Dinner for 4 ran well beyond $100. I will be back. but probably without the kids.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhMightyStomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing