We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for an afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of English Rose

English Rose
Ranked #74 of 827 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the renovated, historic, Grand Hotel, circa, 1897, in downtown Chattanooga. We have been in business since 1997. We offer a decidedly British cuisine with an American flair.
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place for an afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have visited the English Rose on several occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed it every time. The tea is excellent, the china is beautiful, the atmosphere is warm and the staff is helpful and friendly. Their lunch selections are delicious and their scones are some of the best I have had. The only reason I did not rate them a five is because I think their prices on some of the smaller food items, such as the scones and the afternoon tea tray, are a little much for what you get. No complaints on the quality of the food, the service and the atmosphere, though. Great place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytravelr, Manager at English Rose, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your business. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wondeful Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Although not designed for children, the women were wonderfully sweet and very patient with my daughter as we enjoyed a late lunch. The Victorian Tea was wonderful and worth the price. The inside was beautifully designed and the cups and dishes were all spotless and exquisite. Wish we lived closer so we could make this a weekly adventure!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HJWhite76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytravelr, Manager at English Rose, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We value our customers. We look forward to serving you again, sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy atmosphere, but the service is slow!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I really wanted to love this place, and was excited to hear about it, since I love tea, and have visited the UK many times. It was fun to experience, and the historic atmosphere was lovely. We waited a long time to get our food though, and then had to wait a long time - again - to pay at the front. Not sure if I'd return or not, primarily due to the slow service. The authentic china teapots and cups, the atmosphere, and the attention to detail were very nice, and it's great for a mother-daughter type of experience, but be prepared to wait awhile - especially on a Saturday!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel24736523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happytravelr, Manager at English Rose, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We are sorry you had such poor service. We pride ourselves not only on our food, but personal service, as well. Saturday's can be very busy. We thank you for your review and will try to do better. We hope you come back and give us another chance. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic English Tea Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was introduced to the English Rose by my friends from Alabama who spoke very highly of the English Rose. I live in Marietta, Ga and two of my friends and I joined our Alabama connection for lunch to celebrate their birthdays. We all enjoyed our food, lovely china, and atmosphere. The service was very good but I expected our appetizer plates to be picked up when our main course was brought. The pleasant music was a little too loud for conversation but our server turned down the sound. Our delicious, beautifully appointed lunch was completed with a surprise treat for the birthday honorees.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineHomesNuckoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lookout Mtn, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“English Tear Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Excellent service and excellent food. It is a very cozy English tea room with an expremely pleasant atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Zippadeedodah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed English Rose also viewed

 

Been to English Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing