We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little zoo - see animals up close”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chattanooga Zoo

Chattanooga Zoo
Ranked #15 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a zoo that's specially designed to bring the animals up close to you. Imagine a zoo where you have time to notice the subtleties of animal behavior, instead of being pushed along by an impatient crowd. Imagine an exciting and diverse zoo that's still easy to navigate with strollers...or little legs. That's the new Chattanooga Zoo!
Atlanta. GA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little zoo - see animals up close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Completely surprised by the quality of this small zoo. The set up was unique with opportunities to see the animals up close and personal. It was a hot day, but the layout was such that there were many shady spots or inside buildings to break up the heat. I was also impressed with the variety of animals, many I'd never seen before - such as the Fennec Fox. To top it all off, the price was more than reasonable. Must see!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cin0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    228
    88
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small But Quality Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Chattanooga Zoo is a very small zoo, but every habitat they had for their animals showed that they were well cared for. Quality is more important than quantity and if they could expand with out compromising the quality of the zoo I would hope that in the future they might decide to include more animals and exhibits.
My husband and I strolled through the zoo on an overcast Sunday and it took about 1 1/2 hours max to visit each exhibit, take pictures, and read a good portion of the available information on the animal exhibits. Tickets are under $10.00 a person, an affordable price for what they offer.
We do not have any children but I can see that this would be a great zoo for kids as you could visit it with out losing their attention and be back home in time for lunch and nap time.
There is one gift shop at the zoo's entrance, this is where we purchased our tickets and entered the zoo. The grounds were well maintained as were the animal enclosures. Every staff member and volunteer we encountered were happy and friendly.
We really enjoyed our visit to the zoo.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lspencer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whoo hoo the zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very well designed for the space, great interaction with children. Lots of activities through the year to maintain interest even for locals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small but neat zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

This is a one to two hour zoo. Nearly all the displays seem to be well presented. There are very few large animals, but they have an interesting selection of smaller animals. It's not terribly pricey and again there is attention paid to the details.

Helpful?
Thank fierogtv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depressing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Small and poorly maintained. The enclosures are dull and amateurish, and the animals seem sad and dejected.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chattanooga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing