We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful National Cemetery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga National Cemetery

Chattanooga National Cemetery
Ranked #12 of 147 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful National Cemetery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very well kept grounds and the scenery backdrop of Lookout Mountain makes this hallowed ground really impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTnReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    47
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cemetery With a History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This cemetery contains many stories, from Civil War soldiers, (including the group that stole the train from Atlanta), to foreign POWs. During each war, veterans have been interred at this National Cemetery. You can't help but feel the reverence of this beautiful place.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Drove around and took pictures. They have solidiers there back from the civil war. Grounds are kept really nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob52556303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Resting Place of Our Heroes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This cemetery is the most well kept and beautiful place I know of for interment of our military heroes and their spouses. It is so peaceful and lovely! There is at least one grave for each war our men fought in. Recently my husband, a World War II veteran, was interred there. I could not ask for a better place for him to await the return of our Savior!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Moving Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

First, don't go on a hot day! Not for young children, either. We attended during Memorial Day weekend. A lot of history, and serene environment. Beautiful grounds, and you can even drive if you aren't up for the walking

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SydneySights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chattanooga National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing