We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quick stop”

Chattanooga National Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good quick stop”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We went here to see the monument to the men who participated in the Great Locomotive chase. Bunch of heroic men who stole a Confederate locomotive and tried to disrupt the railroad back to the Union lines as much as possible. The Confederate conductor turned out to be the spoiler and hero.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thevisitorcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    49
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“National Cemetary at Chattanooga”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We drove through the entire cemetery and it was a reminder of the many buried there and in other cemetaries across this nation who have made the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
722 reviews
302 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
“Nice National Cemetery honoring the fallen”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I visited the Chattanooga National Cemetery after visiting the Chattanooga National Park to honor the Union Soldiers who died during the US Civil War in the area. The Cemetery itself is fairly large and honors those who served the nation from the civil War until today. It is easy to find and the grounds are open every day from dusk to dawn. The main entrance will place you by an area with a monument with a train on top dedicated by the State of Ohio for a group of raiders.

The grave sites of the Civil War Soldiers are actually spread out throughout the cemetery and not centrally located. As such you will need to drive through the cemetery to locate them, which is a good way to pay respects to all who are buried there. There are monuments, flags and other interesting things to see while you are visiting.

Overall the Chattanooga National Cemetery is a nice area to reflect on our country's past and honor those that have served and fought for the nation.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stopped here to get two virtual Geocaches and ended up staying awhile.
The layout of the cemetery is, I don't know, soothing? The Civil War train chase monument is great and from there I wondered around reading about and soaking in the richness of the history.
There are a lot of unique monuments but even the simple markers convey so much.
The rolling hills on the grounds offer good views of the surrounding area and it is easy to see why they picked this area for this cemetery in the 1800's. It is a quick exit off of the interstate and not too hard to get to, but well worth it if you like history at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited some family graves from a few generations of veterans. This was my first time in one of the country's national cemeteries. It was a very peaceful and moving experience. Being veterans day weekend also on the visit made the place even more memorable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErnieandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chattanooga National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing