We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much more than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayor's Mansion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayor's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrior, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much more than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Buying a special off of Groupon (which we have done before) can be a bit of a gamble, but this is a sure bet. Built in the 1800's you should have a certain level of expectations. The water flow is slower, there isn't an elevator, there are small things here and there that need repair BUT that is part of the charm this place brings. We arrived really late due to traveling right after work and living out of state. The owner graciously let us in and greeted us with a warm hearted smile and was eager to please. From the start you could tell he loved welcoming guest into his beautiful home. We were traveling with another couple and he offered a more typical breakfast for us men when we inquired about the mornings breakfast. They did the same thing the next morning. Our wives loved their breakfast and the men did as well. If you don't care for what they are offering they are MORE than willing to accommodate a realistic request. The servers are so friendly and you can tell they really want to do a good job and ensure everyone is taken care of. There is true talent back in the kitchen. In the morning everyone is all smiles and asking questions to ensure you are comfortable and happy. Rooms have extra pillows and blankets, and the actual bedding and beds were SOOOO comfortable. Both us and the couple we travelled with agreed that we normally don't sleep well away from home but both of us seemed to sleep very well. Which explained our late breakfast request each morning. The rooms even have fans for those of us that enjoy noise while we sleep. The small things also should be noted. Like the robs in your room. Or turn down chocolate they leave on your pillow. The bottle of wine still on ice when we arrived. While it was part of the deal we know they had to go back and add ice because of our late arrival. The fresh fruit or nice treats down stairs available to you. A fridge with waters or soda for the taking, or how about the owner noticing it got a little warm in our room on the 3rd floor and getting on to us (sweet as could be) for not telling her so she could make sure we are comfortable. We were out all day so we didn't even notice! Small things add up and we certainly noticed. I have read a number of the reviews. Most were similar to mine. For the few that had small complaints here and there, I feel after personally staying most could of be avoided. One complained about the food. The options on both days were rather "fancy" and I could see how it might not be for everyone. We simply asked if a more normal option is available and the owner quickly said not a problem. I also read a review about fees and it being a surprise. I am certain simple reading skills could of avoided this. It was clearly written out in the Groupon/Living Social and was also clearly listed in the confirmation email sent after reserving the room. Also, no one can control taxes so complaining about that is just silly. The owners do everything in their power to please and if your request is reasonable I can assure you they will do everything they can to accommodate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beau D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    44
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
154
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed two nights in the Lookout Mountain Suite and completely enjoyed our stay - the Suite, the house and all of the staff. Cindy and Mark have one of the best B&B's that we have stayed in and we will definitely be coming back. Both my wife and I thought the Lookout Mountain Suite was relaxing and comfortable. It was spacious, with a huge king bed and comfortable sofa for sitting and reading. We slept wonderfully, and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS. Linda purchased the cookbook with the house specialties. We are already looking forward to our next visit and some time to relax on the front porch. And what a great location - we walked to the Bluff View area, downtown, and also around the historic Vine St area. Highly recommended when you are Chattanooga!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kckaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Mayor's Mansion Inn for two nights (April 25 & 26, 2014). It was wonderful. We stayed with our two boys (12 & 15). The staff was amazing and very helpful. The owners were super nice and they were around during our entire stay. The breakfasts were amazing! There is a menu out the night before, and if you don't think you will like something, they are willing to make something else for you. The first morning we had an egg casserole (delicious!), but our boys wanted an omelet and some fried eggs & sausage. They were more than happy to accommodate them! The second day we had the best French toast I have ever had with fresh fruit. We loved the room we were in and loved the building. We stayed in the Tennessee River Room, which had a nice view of the mountains. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Chattanooga again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in Chattanooga at the Mayor's Mansion for a quick weekend getaway. We bought the trip through a Living Social deal. This is a very nice B&B with comfy beds and yummy breakfast. My husband prefers simple meal, and they happily made him his own breakfast. I ate the chef's 3 course meal and both days it was good. My only complaint would be the robes in the room were a little small, and not overly cozy.
Overall this is a lovely place with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lividean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The Mayor's Mansion Inn has thought of everything! The food was terrific and the friendly owners and staff could not have been better. Anything we had a request for was quickly taken care of. I highly recommend the Mayor's Mansion Inn!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godsey333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The inn was very nice, staff were great and room was nice. I would give the Inn and Staff 4-5 star, the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment as everything was horribly overcooked and not very tasty- some very odd and unpleasant flavor combinations. I would have preferred breakfast out rather than their breakfast honestly. The breakfast/dining room however was very elegant and wonderful. I would also be aware that there is a steep charge when using your credit card. We were surprised at the inflated added fees. We did a living social as we so often do and paid approximately $270 for 2 nights. But there was an additional fee of nearly $100 for taxes, and "service" fees. We would likely not stay again as for that kind of money, you should get a much nicer room, with fireplace, etc. and I would not mind paying for breakfast if it was good.

Room Tip: Don't use credit card, read fine print. Don't allow room service- you may find items missin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldiva234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MC Ladd H, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for the candid and honest critique from your recent stay.

We obviously failed to execute in regards to breakfast that morning. One of the owners normally takes a look at the quality of the breakfast offerings to ensure things are up to par when we are not preparing the breakfasts ourselves. On this particular morning, that did not happen. You were not the only person to express displeasure with breakfast that day. We normally get wonderful reviews on our breakfasts and take pride in our quality and presentation. Thanks, again, for pointing out the problem.

In regards to the charges, the total you paid was a little over $60 more than the charge for the room. Over 17% of the total was lodging and sales taxes. These are normal and required charges for anyone who does business in Chattanooga. There was also a 5% “service charge”. This is customary and is known in other places as a “resort fee” or some other name. But, ours is very minimal -- these fees often range from 7-15% in other places. These charges were shown on the confirmation email sent after the reservation was made and are listed on our website before you see the room descriptions. There were no surprises here.

We, however, get no joy from being right (in the case of the charges) since we failed to provide an overall superb experience. Thanks for not dinging us too badly. We value constructive criticism and we will truly take your comments as positive and constructive and strive, as we do daily, to be the best we can be.

Mark Ladd, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

we stayed in this beautiful B&B for two nights with American friends. the owners and the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother.
there was a large parking area within the grounds.
checking was easy and and the staff very friendly. they showed us around all the public areas of the B&B and gave us a great history lesson on the house.

our room was on the first floor and our friends on the third. press button code lock. the rooms did not have keys just a both rooms were lovely but so very different. we had a large four poster bed that was very high that I needed to 'dreep' out of it. there was also a beautiful fireplace in our room. there was a floor standing air con unit which we found invaluable as the windows couldn't be opened the room was warm. the bathroom was very large with a bath and overhead shower. there was the usual toiletries, loads of towels and hairdryer.

the breakfast menu was on show just outside the breakfast room on the day before and if you do not like it then the staff/owners will make you something else.. it is typically Southern fayre. I loved the breakfast on the first morning but on the second morning it was biscuits and gravy with something sweet which is something us Scots are not used too. I just asked for the previous days breakfast with was served with no problems. the breakfast was three courses and certainly set you up for the day.
the house has a lovely patio/verandah to the front and was a lovely place to have a drink and meet the other guests prior to going out for your evening meal. this was a very social area helped with the odd drink or two.. the B&B has a happy hour every night. bottled water and fizzy juice [soda] is free and you just help yourself from the fridge day or night. there is also a ice making machine.

the owners gave us a bottle of cold water each when we were leaving as we were traveling to New Orleans for several nights.

if you are lucky enough to visit Chattanooga you could not find a better and friendlier place to stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are individual. one is nicer that the other so there, in my opinion, is not one room b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.0 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.0 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor's Mansion Inn

Property: Mayor's Mansion Inn
Address: 801 Vine Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mayor`s Mansion Hotel Chattanooga
Mayors Mansion Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing