We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time guest”
Review of Bluff View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluff View Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My Husband and I had a couples weekend with another couple and after a lot of research we decided to choose the Bluff View Inn for our stay. For those of you not familiar or thinking of choosing this location for your next trip to Chattanooga, the Bluff View in consists of 3 seperate Inns located on the same close knit block all with in a few yards of one another. We ended up staying at the McClellan House in the Morgan Llewellyn Suite. The suite had a great little balcony with great view of the river. The bedding very nice, the couch was amazingly comfy and the closet space was huge. if you have kids they could easily use as a two room fort. Bathroom was nice and the fireplace was a romantic feature. too bad we were there in 90 degree weather or we would have loved to use it. The location to the river front and the riverbend festival was great. much of the downtown city within easy walking distance. the B&B offered breakfast either at the McClellan house which was delicious with great variety of hot and cold choices. or you can choose to use your breakfast vouchers at a quaint coffee shop across the street who has very yummy french toast and hot chocolate. Security is great with key-less entry to front door and to each individual room so you don't have to worry about added keys. Boccee ball court and outside eating/lounging area a nice bonus.

I look forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Morgan suite at the McClellan house but it was third floor with no elevator just FYI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skrep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Bluff View Inn is charming. We loved the accommodations and the restaurants on the property...and the location in the arts district close to the Aquarium can't be beat. We had breakfast at Rembrandt's, two meals at Tony's, and a dinner at Back Inn Cafe. Yum!

Room Tip: We were in the Thompson House on the first floor-a pretty room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were delighted with our stay for a Chattanooga visit! What is unique is that the Bluff View Arts District is actually a suite of inns, restaurants, coffee houses, bakeries and art gallery that are all kinda' interlocked into a physical location but also share amenities. For example, there are three lodging choices but all share a common booking and management team. For example, the italian restaurant gives preferential treatment to guests of the inns. So when you call from your room, they know you are staying in the district and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs.

The location is perfect for walking to the Hunter Museum, Riverwalk and the Aquarium.

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Our room was charming, spotless and well appointed with extras. AND the bed was comfortable!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

First the good: beautiful rooms, great views, very clean, kind staff, super convenient, quiet

But the bad: Since it is a B&B breakfast was included, but not served at the inn. You had to walk around the corner to the Rembrandt's coffee shop for breakfast. That would have been fine except that the first morning they were out of eggs, OJ, and french toast. The second morning they were out of croissants. See my review of the coffee house for more details. Though the shortages were a coffee house management issue, I paid the Inn for my breakfast and hold them responsible for not delivering an acceptable option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

What a perfect location to enjoy all that downtown Chattanooga, the North Shore, and the Riverpark have to offer. We only used our car once during our stay and then realized it wasn't necessary. We'd definitely stay here again.

The Bluff View Inn isn't your usual B&B, with three houses and the Bluff View Arts District as part of the property, the inn had more a hotel feel than a homey feel. While the District's grounds and buildings were well maintained on the exterior, our room in one of the inn's lower priced rooms had a broken toilet seat and ratty looking carpet.

We enjoyed the coffee available at 6:00 a.m. and the complimentary soft drinks and ice that were kept in the main living area. We rocked on the front porch and watched the world go by and were pleased that the sounds of the city didn't follow us inside.

Since we stayed during the week, we ate a complimentary breakfast at Rembrandts restaurant next door to the Thompson House where we stayed. Beautiful weather allowed us to eat on the patio.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank impromptutraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Only a one night stay in this older period property. I will return next trip, very accommodating. Unfortunately I had to leave before breakfast, but look forward to my return stay. Within walking distance to many places of interest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The room is nice, but a little pricey. The bathroom could use some updates, but it was all OK. The view was great, and you can't beat the location & atmosphere. The weekend breakfast at the Inn was delicious, and the customer service is great. As a bed & breakfast, you don't get much interaction with innkeepers as you may with other sites, but I sort of liked being left alone. Our room did overlook a bridge, and you could hear cars crossing it all night, but it was not a major disturbance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAGirl2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#41 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,745 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dwell Hotel
The Dwell Hotel
#23 of 96 in Chattanooga
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Inn

Address: 411 E 2nd St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-1106
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range: £101 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluff View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluff View Inn is the centerpiece of Chattanooga's Bluff View Art District, a creative haven of cafes, gardens and galleries. Located in one of the city's finest historic areas, the Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in lovely restored homes dating from the early 1900s. With a convenient in-town location, the Bluff View Inn provides guests with modern luxury in a comfortable setting showcasing heirloom antiques, original art and blufftop views of the Tennessee River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Bluff View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff View Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing