We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I can say is WOW!”
Review of Bluff View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluff View Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my husband just came back from a weekend stay at the Bluff View Inn (The Maclellan House) and we completely loved this place. The house is beautiful and the rooms were very nice, clean, and warm. What you see on their website is what you get. I was looking for a nice/romantic place and The Bluff View Inn did not disappoint. The customer service was incredible and they made sure we felt at home. The complimentary breakfast was really good and offered quite of variety. The Bluff View district is beautiful and artsy. I cannot wait to go back and I will stay there for sure.

Room Tip: The Gentry Room was not the biggest but it was overlooking the river. Also, look at their website a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrjnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed in the Martin House, in the CG Martin room. The views of the river are fantastic! The bedroom is roomy, with a gas fireplace and a porch that allows you an outside experience. This room is in the top floor of the Martin House, a restaurant is on the two floors below. This means you can hear the wait staff below during restaurant hours.

Also, because this is an urban address, the multiple street lights outside provide so much light that you do not need a night light in your room. There are blinds on the windows, not curtains. These were not problems for us. Our sound machine masked the traffic noises from the bridge nearby, and the restaurant noises ceased after nine PM.

The King sized rice bed was comfortable. The multiple chairs in the room were appreciated, though not extraordinarily comfortable.

The breakfast was fantastic. They had a spinach quiche, bacon and sausage, and hash browns on hot plates. There was plenty of fresh fruit, pastries, and hot coffee and tea. The room we ate in overlooked the Tennessee River below and afforded us wonderful views.

We hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PineBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Wonderful location and setting. Descriptions of the art district & Riverwalk spot on. We stayed in the Martin House in a river facing room with fireplace. Room was nicely furnished & decorated. Bathtub needed to be refinished: the wear makes it look dirty. Included breakfast was good, but not as extravagant as other B&B's at this price point. We had an excellent dinner @ Back Inn Cafe. We enjoyed meandering around the neighborhood and through the shops. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Outstanding, stayed in the Anna Houston room, recommend to anyone. Easy walk to down town and the restaurants. Recommend Dinner at the Easy Bistro and Back inn Cafe. Dinner at the Blue Water as always is exceptional. Went on the Back stage tour of the Aquarium. It was OK, do not recommend it was not what we expected it to be. River walk was great and if you are a cigar smoler I recommend your check out the Davidoff cigar lounge, Burns tobaconist, fabulous upscale place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Love this place. I friend from Chattanooga recommended it, and we were delighted that we were able to stay there. The Anna Houston room in the Martin House has lots of windows, so you get to enjoy lots of sunlight and views of the river. And what a perfect location. We parked our car when we arrived and walked everywhere we wanted to go. And the Back Inn Cafe, located on the back of the Martin House, is fabulous. The fish of the day we had (red grouper with lobster risotto and crispy parsnips) was absolutely amazing. Sure hope to go back sometime soon.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I took a mini-vacation to Chattanooga and stayed in this lovely old home. We had a 3rd floor suite with a wonderful view of the river. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see--the Hunter Museum, art galleries and the pedestrian bridge. Hostess provided us with good restaurant recommendations.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We stated 1 night at the end of a road trip, on the way back to Atlanta. Great location and nice and clean but due to the age of the property the floorboards all creaked and every time you moved in bed it was really noisy. The matress springs felt old and we didn't get a great night's sleep, sadly. Coffee at Rembrandts, for breakfast, was disappointing but the fruit and croissants were great. We loved walking across the pedestrian bridge to the North Shore.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.0 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Dwell Hotel
The Dwell Hotel
#27 of 96 in Chattanooga
513 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,728 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Inn

Address: 411 E 2nd St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-1106
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range: £106 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluff View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluff View Inn is the centerpiece of Chattanooga's Bluff View Art District, a creative haven of cafes, gardens and galleries. Located in one of the city's finest historic areas, the Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in lovely restored homes dating from the early 1900s. With a convenient in-town location, the Bluff View Inn provides guests with modern luxury in a comfortable setting showcasing heirloom antiques, original art and blufftop views of the Tennessee River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bluff View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff View Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing