We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricy but that was some good ice cream”

Clumpies Ice Cream Co.
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Description: Clumpies Ice Cream Co. has been handcrafting the best ice cream in Chattanooga since 1999. Stop by today to enjoy a scoop, fresh cup of Chattz coffee, or a fresh Pure Sodaworks fountain beverage!
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little pricy but that was some good ice cream”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The ice cream at Clumpies is a little on the expensive side but it was worth it. Clumpies is right across the street from the Coolidge Park carousel and makes a great place to take the kids after some carousel ridin'. My wife loved the tractor-seat chairs. The back deck seating overlooks Coolidge Park and the TN river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmwentling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    92
    25
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Sc
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I eat alot of ice cream and this is one of the best.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If banana is offered I always choose it because it is the most difficult flavor to get right. Clumpies gets it right. No chemical or artificial after taste, just smooth, creamy natural banana. Don't miss it if you walk the bridge over to northside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
465 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Calorie Counters - Stay Away!!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

What did my daughter say when she bit into her ice cream cone??? Oh yeah..OMG!!! Clumpies is one of those ice cream stores that makes ice cream the way ice cream was meant to be made....specifically HIGH BUTTER FAT CONTENT!!! Flavors pop, texture is perfect, those with ingredients are loaded.....I had the butter pecan, absolutely the best I have ever had. Clumpies charges by the ounce, so prepare yourself for sticker shock when you buy your cone, but be advised this ice cream is worth it!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DealScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, Ga
2 reviews
“The best service and atmosphere w/outstanding ice cream!!!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I LOVED everything about Clumpies,the staff are amazing and VERY polite ...We walked into the ice cream show and felt like I was being attacked by used car salesman and we turned around and walked out...CLUMPIES IS THE PLACE TO GO FOR ICE CREAM WHILE VISITING CHATTANOOGA TN!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maywentling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson, GA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Home Made Ice Cream in Great Flavors”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We went to Clumpies on the first day of our trip and went back twice during the week because the ice cream was so good. The ingredients are real and the ice cream is fresh (mostly) and the coffee is ground and dripped on the spot for the freshest possible cup. I suggest tasting the flavor you want before buying because with so many options occasionally one might get a little overlooked and get stale. We bought a lot of flavors and only one was a little off, the others were incredible! I even had goat cheese with beet reduction as a special Valentine's Day treat. Thai peanut with chili and coconut was my favorite. I love that they do the ice cream by weight and the cost is less per ounce than most frozen yogurt shops. And remember, quality ingredients are not cheap, but the flavor is so very worth the money. It is a treat, so indulge and enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clumpies Ice Cream Co. also viewed

 

Been to Clumpies Ice Cream Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing