We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Be Hungry!”

The Purple Daisy Picnic Cafe
Ranked #45 of 833 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: A cozy little BBQ restaurant next to the incline railway at the foot of Lookout Mountain.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Better Be Hungry!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The homemade pimento cheese sandwich is to die for! Piled high with the homemade stuff, homegrown southern red tomatoes, and sourdough bread. It was perfect. Also, the fruit tea is wonderful! It's a local hangout and the parking is tight if you show up at high noon, but the wait staff hustles around to get you seated fairly quickly. Perfect little lunch shop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    78
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Rainbow sandwich!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I love eating here at the Purple Daisy. It is a quaint little place at the foot of the Incline Railway. My favorite food item is the Rainbow sandwich. Triple layer sandwich including chicken salad, cucumber salad and pimento cheese. Each layer is a different spread. The hashbrown casserole is very tasty. I love the bite size mushrooms in the casserole. My favorite drink is the fruit tea! I could drink buckets of that stuff! :-) Always fresh food and friendly service. I would definitely recommend trying the Purple Daisy if you are anywhere near Chattanooga.

Helpful?
Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good fun no fuss, attentive servers and lots of choice. Loved the filled jacket potatoes and pulled pork

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good Food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Ate here for lunch, had seen it on trip advisor. Very cute and unique place. It was small, but we were there just after lunch and had no trouble getting a seat. The food was very good, your drinks are served in Styrofoam cups, and the food is on Styrofoam plates as well. When we had finished eating, they had not brought our bill, we finally had to ask for it, and we were told it was at the register. When we paid, we didn't even see our bill, so we really had no idea how much tip to leave which you leave in a container at the register. Our bill could have been wrong for all we knew. Aside from that, it was really good food and a unique place to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

when we got to the restaurant, it was packed for lunch. We were able to sit outside, until a strong burst of wind blew down part of a tree on the roof. The staff quickly hustled us inside. The Rainbow Sandwich was amazing! The decor is very unique as well. I would definitely eat there again, and recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tnslp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Purple Daisy Picnic Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Purple Daisy Picnic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing