We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun, historical & unique hotel with excellent service, but it could use some remodeling!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was a very unique place to stay! The food was great & we had excellent service from the staff! The rooms could for sure use some remodeling, but it is worth the experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieJoy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thanks for your comments about a unique experience the excellent service. Thank you for staying with us. I am going to email you about your stay; I would like to know what room you stayed in. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,076 - 2,082 of 2,752 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2011

We booked 3 nights in a rail-car room in September. Although the cleanliness of the car was not A+, it was not filthy either. Keeping in mind these cars are over 60 to 80 years old, we were satisfied with what we got. Ask for a view of the gardens if you go. Remember the wall between the 2 rooms is more than paper thin and that sounds carry too well. The room sharing the car with us contained folks that ran their TV and their mouths at all hours of the night. We would and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the train car. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Thanks for your 4 star review! I am glad you enjoyed the railcar room, our signature rooms. I agree that the view of the gardens from your room is super. We look forward to your return visit, maybe for the holidays.
Regards,
Jill Ellis
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

First, the property is starting to really show its age. The lobby is awesome, but the rest of the property could probably use a little TLC.

We stayed in one of the train cars. It was nice, but a little run down looking. The only big problem I had was the air conditioning in the car. When it would kick on, it sounded like a freight train coming through our room. I think it was either on the roof of the car or below and made for a very loud night.

I can definitely understand some of the poor reviews on the cleanliness issues. It's a very large property with what looks like two or three other "hotels" on site. In my opinion, I wouldn't stay in the hotels and would only consider staying in the train cars. The old hotel portions just look really rough and seem fitting for some of the poorer reviews on here.

Room Tip: Stay in a train car. Don't expect a 5 star resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

I do apologize that you had problems with your air conditioning. We have a maintenance team on duty for 18+ hours a day. We would have gladly repaired the problem for you, had we known. I don’t understand your comments about the other buildings, when you apparently have not been in them. Let me assure you that we continually work on renovating our property. We are just finished renovating another 90 rooms and are doing the corridors in late Fall. I believe you were here this past weekend and every available room was sold (350). We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

First, let me start by saying I'm not that hard to please. But, when it comes to hotels, I'm very strict. The number one thing that Hotels needs to practice is cleanliness. This hotel was anything but. We booked 7 rooms for a business trip and all 7 rooms had something dirty in them. One room you could take the main door off the hinges. There was mold and grim in everything bathroom. 3 of the rooms had stains on the sheets and pillow cases. One room had where somebody spilled a coffee on the bathroom sink area. The hotel staff would have to literally ignore this room. This is unacceptable in my book. Also, building 2 is being used for overflow housing for the local college. There was nothing that the hotel staff could do at that point to accommodate. There maybe other areas in this hotel where it's clean but not in building 2.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

This guest came to the desk and went to look at his room and came back to the desk and said he didn’t want to stay here. He said that he didn’t want to put his bosses in these rooms and they were leaving. The rooms that they were assigned to were on the third floor of building 2, which happens to be on the only corridor and 8 rooms that have not been renovated yet. This will be completed this early Winter. We refunded his prepayment. These 8 rooms are out of order until renovated this Winter. Anyone planning to stay with us and has a question, please call or email me.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

the lobby is grand and beautiful. once you see that i suggest you cancel your reservation and head elsewhere. the rooms in "hotel 2" were almost as gross as the hallways and elevator. stains on the carpet and bed. and a very cheap bed. the hallways smelled like smoke (both kinds). i woke up to the sounds of people verbally abusing each other. apparently very thin walls. there are clearly people living in this hotel and not treating it like their castle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquitoeternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

I am very sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your stay. We have renovated all but 8 rooms in building 2 with new bedding, wall treatment, carpet, and 32” flat screen TV’s. We are going to renovate the corridors this winter and the remaining 8 rooms to finish the building. Unfortunately, you must not have rented one of the ones that have been completed. Did you report those concerns to anyone during your stay? If we had known, we would have gladly taken care of your situation. We make mistakes, but given the opportunity, we resolve them. We do have some long term guests staying with us but I haven’t heard many noise complaints from them. During the month of September we have sold 7160 rooms and we have had 7 trip advisor reviews less that 3 star. I would welcome a conversation with you.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Booked 2 nights in 2 queen bed room. When we arrived we were impressed with the fantastic reception building, the period architecture is lovely even though some repairs are needed. Unfortunately our room was in block 3, farthest away from the main building in style as well as location! This block was probably glamorous in the 70s but although the rooms were clean, the fabric of the building was poor; the glass doors were scratched and misted, the corridor very gloomy and most worryingly the balcony door could be opened from outside. I was not happy staying in this room so we upgraded to a carriage room, Raulson at reception was very helpful with this but still charged us $40 a night extra.
The carriage room was nice but didn't offer anything exceptional & although the bedding and bathroom were clean, the windows were absolutely filthy, inside and out. Cleanliness does not require a huge investment so there's no excuse for this.
The few staff that we had contact with at the Choo Choo were very friendly but we feel that the owners are relying on the historic/novelty value of the hotel in order to sell rooms, rather than meeting customers' needs or expectations. We did complete the customer survey at this hotel & invited the general manager to email us directly for further clarification but as yet we have not had any contact.
This hotel is worth visiting but stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, only stay in a carriage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaVinciDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Building 3 was built in 1985. From our architect; the building is constructed with pre-colored and textured masonry commonly used in commercial and hospitality applications. The railings on the balcony and cross walks are patterned pre-cast concrete panels that are integrated into the masonry construction of the building”. Again, this building has balconies and patios for every room. They over look a beautiful waterfall, pool and garden area. Highly requested for many of our repeat customers. There is not a hotel downtown that has these features. I did not receive your comment card. I respond to every one who fills some out. I will email you today via Tripadvisor

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Choo Choo last week for our annual reunion of the USS Great Sitkin AE17 Association. Everything at the hotel was great. Nice clean rooms, the Pennsylvania Room was our hospitality center, great. Staff, from the desk clerk to the grounds keepers and everyone in between were great. We ate at the Station House restraunt Thursday night, 3 hours for dinner, thanks to our singing waiter Billy and his repeated pleasures of honoring our requests for Sam Cooke. When you pull off of the Interstate, you'll think you're in a bad area, but that concern quickly goes away. Beyond the hotel, take a ride on the free bus downtown, great food, the aquarium, walk the Walnut St bridge to Coolidge Park. Can't say enough about the Choo Choo and Chatanooga.

Room Tip: Only bad thing was we were in room 118 in Hotel One, just outside the hallway door into waiting are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collingdaleFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,426 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: £73 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing