We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place to stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Recently, I had the opportunity (returning to Nashville from Georgia in icy weather) to stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo ~ I've always been intrigued by its charm & historic character wondering how the experience would be staying in one of the Pullman cars. It was fabulous....The staff was so accommodating & friendly plus I enjoyed a delicious meal while being entertained by the Singing Servers at the Station House. It was a cozy, sweet treat on a cold wintery night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjkakassy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your great review and the compliments of our staff. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations. The Station House is always a hit, they do a great job. Your review helps us maintain a very high score on tripadvisors Customer Satisfaction Index (November was 88%).
We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,234 - 1,240 of 2,712 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I'm writing this review from my bed in the Chattanooga Choo Choo. It's winter, and upon arrival the temperature needle on the thermostat was buried below 50 degrees. I asked the front desk if it was their policy to turn the heat off in rooms before guests arrive. The desk attendant said it was. Odd. A patio set of table/chairs sit in the corner of the room. I sit upon very "springy" mattress (meaning, you can feel the springs). Human body hairs can be found in abundance in the bathroom.

The charm seems to dissipate beyond the lobby. I'm not sure how the railcar rooms are, but the regular hotel rooms seem to just be a 60s-era motel annexed by the Choo Choo. Think Motel 6. Dated. Dingy.

Room Tip: I can't speak for the railcar rooms, but the regular rooms are awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rodick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

I’m sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo. I have shared your review with our management team for corrective action. I would like to speak with you regarding your comments. I will email you via tripadvisor, please call me.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
423-308-2424

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Price is a little stealthy especially for me as I am usually all the time on a budget. I have to say, though, I think this place was worth it. We didn't stay in a train car but in a regular room. I think we stayed in building 3 with a view of the pool. The pool on that side was the cutest and great if you have kids. The shops and the food were great and the museum is fun if you're into browsing and sight seeing. The lobby was magnificent! If you're in town for a couple of days try to get one of their package deals. When I added it up, I think the prices weren't so much cheaper as they were the same if we purchased tickets individually, but it did make everything more convenient! The trolley is right next door which is also convenient to travelling around town.

Room Tip: Beds are comfortable. Building 3 with a view of pool is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

First of all, thanks for the 5 stars. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Choo Choo. Come back and stay in one of the railcar rooms real soon.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had so much fun on our recent trip. Everything was beautiful! Everyone at the choo choo was so sweet and friendly. We stayed in a train car and had the Thanksgiving feast! We plan to make this a Thanksgiving tradition.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanniedollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks for your awesome review about our hotel and staff.
We are pleased that you had a great visit to the Choo Choo. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. Thanks for wanting to return, see you next time.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have stayed here before and this time was exceptionally good. Check in was as smooth as it could have possibly have been. So easy and very friendly staff. This hotel is so close to so many attractions down town. It has the free shuttle that is next door so very convenient. We will be back. The Station House restaraunt and the breakfast buffet were very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in hotel #1 and it is closest to everything. Stay in one of the train cars and you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thanks for your great review about our hotel and staff.
We are pleased that you had a great visit to the Choo Choo. Thanks for your recommendation
Look forward to your next visit.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hotel totally speaks for itself and is one of a kind.Gorgeous inside and out! Live music...Park your car and take the trolley to all of the attractions , great eats and bars. The aquarium is fun, the IMax for the kids or Adults. A fab place to go for singles, couples or families.....and don't forget to take a walk by the River....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gapeach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

First of all, thanks for the 5 stars and for your recommendations. We are glad that you enjoyed exploring all the many venues of our property.. Come back real soon.
Regards,
Jill Ellis Coker
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff, lots of character, nice indoor pool, and plenty of train activities and sights to entertain my 2 year old train enthusiast.

We were in building 3, which had an Asian theme and rooms that overlook a pretty pool with waterfall and hotub. My son enjoyed exploring the train, riding the trolley, and looking at the very detailed model train museum.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryPetDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thanks for your great review! We love to hear that you enjoyed all the different venues. Children love it here. Thanks for letting us know about our friendly staff.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#12 of 96 in Chattanooga
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: £87 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing