We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, family friendly location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Stockbridge, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, family friendly location”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for a convention. Everyone we met on staff was polite and helpful. Our room was clean and the maid service was excellent. Location was good and the free tram to the Aquarium made it easy for us to go sight-see without driving.

We definitely will be staying there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in building 1 are the closest to the restaurants and are centered around the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thanks for your comments!!!

It's exciting to hear great comments like yours, especially when you are speaking about a group that visited our hotel. Group business is very important to our hotel. We have many repeat groups and we are thrilled to host them. Our Tripadvisor Customer Satisfaction Index for February was 89%!

All the Best,

Jim Bambrey

GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    676
    510
    380
    292
See reviews for
934
815
84
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Choo Choo to celebrate our Anniversary. It was so much fun. The Choo Choo has a neat atmosphere with a lot to several shops and places to eat as well as a model railroad replica to view and a fun place to get ice cream.
It's also very convenient for getting on the free electric shuttle to go downtown. If you call security they will even pick you up at your room and take you to the drop off. Awesome customer Service!

Room Tip: The suites are awesome with the Jacuzzi Tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for your 5 star review. AWESOME Customer Service. Thank you for complimenting our exceptional staff. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel amenities. We look forward to your return in the future.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Recently stayed there with my youngest son (5) and my oldest daughter's family, which includes my 3 grandchildren. The history of the buildings was interesting to the adults, and the trains were fun for the kids. The food was good, and everyone was quite friendly. My picky 5 year old even ate all his food. I had to have oxygen bottles delivered to the hotel, and everyone there was quite accommodating and helpful. This was my first time staying away from home since I was put on oxygen and had been quite nervous, but it all went very smoothly. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for the 5 star rating. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Kids love it here. I am pleased that we handled your personal request smoothly. We look forward to another visit soon.
Regards,
Jill Coker
QA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte N.C.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for 4 days and even tho it is an old historic hotel, It is well maintained , The staff is number ONE . There are a few choices to eat at and the prices are Very reasonable. The Staff makes you feel so welcomed and hotel is beautiful. , The Trains are right there and they even made hotel rooms out of some. . It is an amazing place and prices are VERY reasonable.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a nice little patio. There are 3 Hotel sections buildings 1 and 2 have indoor poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepelpew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
AMAZING! Thank you for your comments and a 5 STAR REVIEW. We are glad that enjoyed the complex. NUMBER ONE STAFF IS GREAT TO HEAR. . We love for all our guests to have a memorable experience. Based on your comments you did. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the rail carriages, it was certainly different, however very comfortable. Dinner in the singing restaurant is a must however closed Sunday and Monday. Superb food and entertainment. Overall a wonderful experience, highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thanks for your 5 star review! I am pleased that the you had a great experience. Thanks for the great comments about the train car and the Station House Restaurant! We get a lot of visitors from the UK. Your review means a lot to us. .
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Chattanooga Choo Choo is a historical one-of-a-kind hotel. I stayed at this hotel while traveling on business and was offered excellent service, a wonderfully clean room and excellent food and beverage in the lobby lounge. Since I was traveling alone, I did not get to use all the great ammenities of the facility, but I will definitely be back with my family when the opportunity presents itself! Thank you Staff and Management of the Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timothyandrewoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
AWESOME IS WHAT WE LOVE TO HEAR. Thank you for recognizing and enjoying the history of the Choo Choo. We are very proud of our staff. Your review helps us maintain a great CSI on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us on your trip. We hope that you will visit us again.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I recently brought a large group to stay at the Chattanooga Choo Choo for a conference. I was very pleased with the overall stay. The facility itself is not the nicest (bathrooms could have been cleaner secifically), but the history of the hotel was quite interesting. There is also a lot of character in the olf buildings and some beautiful architectual elements in the main hotel building/ lobby/ bar/ restaurnat/ meeting rooms.

What made the stay was the wonderful service of the staff! Every person our group interacted with had a cheerful attitude and was so helpful and welcoming. I want to give a special commendation to Lynn at the front desk. From the first time speaking with her on the phone to book our reservation, to our arrival, and throughout our stay, she was such a help to our large group and showed personal care for us and attention to detail.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms with two beds only have double beds, not queens. If you're having multiple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for your very valuable feedback and for bringing your group here. There is lots of history here, thanks for recognizing it. Also, your great comments about the staff are exciting and not unusual. I have reviewed your comments with the respective Department Heads, so that they can take corrective action regarding your comments. I hope to see you again at the Choo Choo.

All the best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,256 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing