We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Happy”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was advertised as a 3-star hotel and I was sorely disappointed. The hallways were dirty, the rooms were dated and the bathroom was not clean as well. The restaurant was decent, however, the internet connection as sporadic...I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
After researching our PMS , I had the opportunity to speak with this guest. We had a nice conversation and he is going to return for another visit. As stated before, we make mistakes, but we make great recoveries.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    813
    666
    508
    376
    290
See reviews for
927
805
83
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (744)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying in the Chattanooga Choo-Choo. Other than a little confusion with the room number at check-in, which was promptly corrected upon calling the front desk, our stay was perfect. The staff was friendly and the location was perfect for our stay.

The hotel is a little on the older side but our room appeared clean and met my expectations although the outside of the buildings are showing their age.

I certainly would not hesitate to stay with the Chattanooga Choo-Choo again should I get the chance to visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gibsterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Great stay is AWESOME to hear. Thank you for your review. I am pleased that the confusion was cleared up in a timely fashion. Your desire to return is magic to our ears. We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We weren't planning on staying in Chatanooga but we did it on a whim. When we reached the downtown area we pulled over to reserve a room at a local hotel. Upon searching, we found the Chatanooga Choo Choo, reserved a room and realized we were only a few blocks from it. When we arrived, the historical value of this beautiful property was overwhelming. The Front Desk Clerk was so informative and upgraded us without me asking. She was very friendly and outgoing. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony overlooking a waterfall swimming pool and a jucuzzi. We had not had supper yet, so we walked next door to The Terminal which was a restaurant/brewery. Needless to say, we had a FANTASTIC time and we highly recommend it! We stayed 4/20/2014.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippinStephV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for your FANTASTIC review about our hotel.
We are pleased that you had a great visit to the Choo Choo. It means a lot to our staff to see this kind of a review. We strive to create great service and a great product. Thanks for wanting to return, that’s what it is all about. See you then.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendon, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Only average hotel room.Didn't stay in train car.Very clean though and for the price we paid,it was good.Nice location and neighborhood to walk in.The indoor pool seemed great(didn't use it though,arrived too late)lots of people enjoying it.The history of this complex adds to the charm.Wished we could have stayed more than 1 night to explore more of Chattanooga,seems like a great little city!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for recognizing the history of the terminal building. We love to hear that you not only were an overnight guest but wanted to stay longer in our great city. Thanks again and we look forward to your return.
Regards,
Jill Coker
Quality Assurance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a "Thomas the Train" event at the TVA. We stayed in one of the train cars for the "experience". With that said the hotel met our expectations but the hotel could certainly use some updating which we knew going into it.

The hotel is centrally located and there are lots of things to do within a short walk/drive. The grounds were well kept and if you're looking for a "train experience" with small children the hotel is a nice place to stay. The food was good (not exceptional) and reasonably priced compared to other hotels.

*Keep in mind the room service closes early (around 8pm) so if you are wanting a bottle of wine you'll have to go get it at the restaurant after they close. After a long day of trains mom and dad certainly needed one :)

In the train car rooms the sound carries so you can hear everything your neighbor is doing so if you are a light sleeper tread lightly. It wasn't too annoying because it isn't a party type of resort and everyone typically goes to bed no later than 11pm.

The train cars only have a 30 gallon hot water heater so if you have a couple of small children keep that in mind when trying to give them baths + your shower...timing is everything.

Overall it was a good experience and we would go back but probably stay in one of the main hotel areas and not the train cars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCM2256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review and I’m pleased that we met you expectations. We love to hear such comments and I will make sure they are shared with the department heads. We take great pride in our property. Thanks for wanting to return, that says it all! Come back again soon!
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

While the property is older and not modern, it has a unique charm. The staff is always very helpful and would always answer with a smile. This is southern hospitality at its best! Restaurant was a good, quick meal with good service as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your great compliments of our staff and our unique hotel. We are glad that we exceeded your service expectations. Your review helps us maintain a very high score on tripadvisors customer satisfaction index.
We look forward to your return.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the beginning of our honeymoon and were very tired when we arrived but Lynn on reception was really helpful and we checked into hotel two which was extremely dated but clean, we decided to upgrade to the train car for the next night and it was well worth it, these are beautiful. Try the station restaurant with singing waiters

Room Tip: Get a train cart
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulakirkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Congratulations on your wedding. Thanks for your great comments about Lynn. We are very proud of our staff. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for your honeymoon. We hope that you will visit us again.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Choo Choo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Choo Choo

Property: Chattanooga Choo Choo
Address: 1400 Market St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4489
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chattanooga Choo Choo 3*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the South's most renowned landmarks, the Chattanooga Choo Choo opened in 1909 and welcomed thousands of travelers during the Golden Age of railroads. Today, the 23 acre complex is a magnificently restored hotel resort for visitors of all ages. The Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel offers a variety of overnight accommodations, including the famous Victorian Era train rooms and luxurious suites. *Theme restaurants *Specialty shops *Authentic New Orleans trolley ride *Model railroad display *Convention Center *3 swimming pools *Tennis courts *Beautiful formal gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Choo Choo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel Chattanooga
Holiday Inn Chattanooga Choo
Chattanooga Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing