We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Nearby Hotels
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn - Hamilton Place(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveller rating
831
711
534
394
312
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
831
711
534
394
312
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain carstation house restaurantgardens restaurantsinging waiterspizza carindoor poolregular roomfree shuttleelectric shuttleruby fallscarsrailcarpullmanvictorianrailroaddowntownconvention
Filter
Updating list...
1,195 - 1,200 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked on Priceline and then read the reviews: promptly scared myself to death. But, luckily, the worrying was not necessary! It was a great stay.

First, a few things need explaining. The Hotel itself is referred to as a "vacation complex" and it kind of is. There are regular rooms, rooms in trains, 2 outdoor pools, one indoor pool, a trolley ride, a model train museum, several stores (including a scrapbook store), a couple of restaurants, a coffee/sandwich/dessert cafe, formal gardens and the main building itself. So, there's a lot to see/do. Parking is on-property which is nice downtown, but is EXTRA. I think it's $7 per day. There's also a parking garage next door, which would be covered, so take your pick. Wifi is free and I didn't have any issues with it at all, and I used it for work.

We stayed in a regular room in building 2. The room is older, but very clean. There are hard water stains on the tub/toilet which might freak people out. They're not dirty, just a build up of minerals. The bottom of the tub has had one of those "patch" jobs done, which always look awful. But, again, it was clean. The room had been updated with fresh carpet and wall paper. The linens were nice, the beds were soft, and they had plenty of pillows. Nice flat screen TV. The furniture was a little dated, and generic hotel-type stuff. But, the rooms were quiet as could be. Never heard a peep from other rooms, although I know there were people in the rooms around us. Rooms are large, especially by today's standards. We had one overlooking the outdoor pool, which was a pretty good view. AC was super-cold and that makes me super-happy! There was an ironing board, luggage holder, hair dryer and coffee maker supplied in the room. No refrigerator, unless we just didn't find it. Ice machine down the hall, and ice bucket in the room. Cokes were $2 in the machines, and I think $1.75 in the gift shops (20 oz bottles).

Staff was incredibly friendly. Fetched us maps, gave us dining ideas, etc.

One of the best parts of this hotel is the free electric shuttle. It leaves from next door, and runs all the way down to the aquarium. Super nice way to see downtown without driving. We utilized it and loved it.

We didn't eat in the 2 main restaurants, so I can't comment on those. But, the cafe had a good sandwich and hubby says the coffee was good, too.

The grounds are just lovely. The gardens are beautiful and the roses were just starting to bloom. Both nights, we grabbed an outdoor table and just sat outside enjoying the evening. Saturday night, they had all the gas flames going and it was just beautiful! There's also a horse and buggy ride at the same side of the building as the parking garage. It's about a 20 minute ride for $40+tips, so it's a little expensive, but we enjoyed it, nonetheless.

I can honestly say, we're planning a trip back just to stay in one of the train cars. We managed to get a "peek" inside one and they look so cool. How often can you say you slept in a train at the Choo Choo, right?!

Room Tip: Building 1 is closest to the main lobby/street, and Building 3 is the farthest away. If you choose a train car, I'd go for the ones on the exterior, as there's a decent amount of pedestrian traffic up and down the cars that are more interior located.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emalemaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thanks for your great 4 star review. Also, I am glad that you enjoyed staying with us and recognizing the History and enjoying the many venues at our hotel complex. I am pleased that the staff was incredible, we hear that often. Come back soon.
All the Best
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We purchased our stay in a historic rail car via Groupon and were not disappointed one bit! The original depot, now the hotel, had incredibly breathtaking architecture- you will love it if you are a history buff, as we are. The rail-car room was so darn cute! The bed was comfortable, and the restroom was clean-these are our top two priorities when traveling. They did well to keep the car in its most original state, as could be expected. There were lots of intricate details, and we absolutely loved it. It was MUCH larger than a typical hotel room, more the size of a plush suite. The gardens by the rail cars were gorgeous, with tons of greenery, sculptures, and water fountains-even though we were there around Christmas. Most all of the staff we encountered were friendly. We were there mid-week in early December, so it was slow season. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly.

Room Tip: Stay in the historic rail cars!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GypsyJeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying overnight in one of our signature, train car rooms. We have many repeat customers that enjoy the train car rooms. Thanks for appreciating the history of our complex. Christmas is a great time of year with packages and wonderful decorations.
Regards
Jill Ellis Coker
QA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Got the room through Groupon. The rate was good and so was the hotel. We stayed in Building 3 which appeared to be the newest. From the 4th floor, we overlooked the outdoor pool and hot tub. The room was fairly large and very clean. Nice bath and even a small balcony. Beds were fairly comfortable, a little too firm for me. It is a pretty long walk from the hotel lobby (the old train station, beautifully redone) to Building three. You can walk it in good weather; you can take your car (it does cost $7.00 per night to park) and park closer to the lobby; they have golf carts that wander around the grounds and will pick you up to take you to the lobby and Market Street. The terminal is huge like you would see in a much larger city. lots of history of the railroad in Chattanooga to read about. It is the place where the actual Chattanooga Cho-Cho is located to see and climb on. The hotel is located at the end of the electric bus line and it runs every few minutes to the river. Best of all, it is free and you can jump on and off anywhere you want along the line.(attractions, restaurants, shopping). The hotel also has several old passenger cars that sit on tracks that have been converted to sleeping quarters and a car you can have dinner in. A little more expensive to stay there but may be worth the ambiance and nostalgia. There is also an old time electric trolley that runs on tracks and takes you n a short trip around the hotel area ($3.00)
There are several restaurants in the complex. The one in the main terminal serves a buffet and menu breakfast in addition to lunch and dinner. We used it for breakfast and it was not too bad.
We would have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Lots of walking depending upon your room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamielind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

It is hard to stop a train, what a great quote. Thank you for recognizing and enjoying the history of the Choo Choo. Thanks for sharing your experience with us. The free electric shuttle is a hit all the time. Your review helps us maintain a great CSI on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you wanting to return again.
All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel was advertised as a 3-star hotel and I was sorely disappointed. The hallways were dirty, the rooms were dated and the bathroom was not clean as well. The restaurant was decent, however, the internet connection as sporadic...I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franklin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChooChoo29, General Manager at Chattanooga Choo Choo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

After researching our PMS , I had the opportunity to speak with this guest. We had a nice conversation and he is going to return for another visit. As stated before, we make mistakes, but we make great recoveries.

All the Best,
Jim Bambrey
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews