We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Texarkana, Arkansas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I only stayed here for one night while I was on a business trip, but I would stay here again. It is next to the convention center, so there is alot of traffic. The service was very good. I had dinner in the hotel restraunt, and I thought it was very good. I had the shrimp and grits. It was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
natd2

Thank you for your business and for your feedback. I'll pass on your comments to our staff, specifically our food and beverage staff. We'll look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    302
    145
    62
    30
See reviews for
233
187
30
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Make sure not to get a room away from the elevator bank. Elevators run 24/7 and makes a lot of noise. The noise makes it very difficult to sleep soundly. Better bring earplugs, you'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaH813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
MelindaH813

Thank you for the 5-stars, but I do sincerely apologize for the elevator noise issues that you encountered during your stay. We hope to see you again soon and if so, certainly feel free to request a room away from the elevators, and we usually can accomodate.

Thank you for your feedback.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

I was very pleased with my stay for 2 nights on business. As a Platinum member it met/exceeded all my expectations (amenities, location, value) and my room was nice and my bed was comfy. Believe me, after a whole day of work I really appreciate a quiet, comfortable and peaceful/comfy sleep. Will definitely book here whenever I visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
JayMoli

Thank you for your feedback and thank you for your loyalty (Platinum member) to the Marriott brand. We appreciate your postive comments and I'll share them with our staff as well. We'll see you next time you visit Chattanooga, I hope.

Thank you
Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a competiton. The hotel is in a great location next to the Convention Center where our team was competing. The rest of downtown Chattanooga(restaurants, movies,etc.) is a trolley-ride away. Like previous reviewers have stated, it does need some updating. However, the service was great and the room was clean. One aspect that the hotel needs to definitely fix is being eco-friendly. Talking to parents of the team who stayed at other hotels, they were blown away by how green their hotels were. This hotel didn't even offer recycling which would have been helpful with all our water and Gatorade bottles. I would still recommend this hotel for its great location, but not to someone who is concerned about a fresh look or is green concious.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hi Cindy P

Thank you for your positive review regarding our location, staff, and overall stay. I will share your comments with our staff, as well as you comments/suggestions regarding recycling. We do recycle and do have a # of "green" intiatives in place, and will take a look at your specific comment.

Thanks again for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel does need updating but still a pleasant stay. Kudos to the omelet maker - very nice and personable - plus he makes great omelets. One elevator was misbehaving - supposed to go to floor 12 and opened on floor 14 (they took it out of service and fixed it the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dave L

Thank you for your kind review and for specifically recognizing our omelette chef. I will make sure we recognize him. We did have an elevator maintenance issue during your stay, but it was resolved and I apologize for any inconvenience that caused. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We booked this hotel for $99.00 a night, which is a great value for a Marriott in downtown Chattanooga, and beats prices for lower rated hotels in the area.

This is an older-conference style hotel, however it is clean and the staff is courteous and efficient.

Rooms do need some updating- however the bedding is comfortable and rooms have a coffee maker, desk and 2 chairs. The showers and overall bathroom area in need of updates, but all was clean.

There is free wi-fi "in the room", as well as the lobby, which is a plus.

We ordered room service and the staff was friendly and on-time. Our food was good and not too overly priced for hotel food.

Marriott does have covered parking for $10 a day which is convenient, as parking can be difficult in the city during peak times. The hotel can be crowded when they are hosting conferences etc.. On our stay this time we had noisy children in the room next to us up to 11PM, however we do not fault the hotel for that.

There is a Starbucks located within the hotel that is open during the day-closed in the evening.
Hotel is within walking distance to local area attractions. There is also a city trolley that picks up passengers in front of the hotel and drops off at various points within the city- "at no charge".

We would definitely stay here again when the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twodiehls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
twodiehli

Thank you for your comments and for your business! We appreciate you taking the time to share. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay, the staff, location, food service, and cleanliness and we hope that we'll see you again soon!

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

My title says it all. Employees were nice and service was decent but that's about the only good thing I can say. Hotel needs major updating. Location wasn't that great. No movie service on TV. Even the pillows were awful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesfaninfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
eaglesfaninfla

Thank you for sharing your comments. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We do not offer pay-per-view movies, but do have a full selection of channels. Our location is downtown and within walking distance to the downtown attractions/waterfront, and we do offer a hotel shuttle and are located on the complimentary electric shuttle route. We are in the process of replacing/updating the hotel pillows as we speak. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback - we hope that you'll stay with us again on a future visit.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing