We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, good price”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night on a recent weekend trip to Chattanooga. There were 3 of us (1 couple and a friend), and we were lucky enough to get 2 rooms located at the higher floors which are reached by glass elevators outside the hotel - nice! One room overlooked downtown and the other had a nice view of lookout mountain. Parking is convenient in their garage, and if you self park it is quite affordable (I think we paid $10 for 24 hours). The allowed us to check in 3 hours early. The rooms were clean and equipped with the usual amenities (TV, coffee machine etc.). Wifi is free. The hotel is in walking distance from the Choo Choo; the walk to the aquarium and waterfront is a bit longer but easily doable. The also have a shuttle which serves both directions on a regular basis. We did not check out the pool (they have both indoor and outdoor), gym or restaurant, but we had a drink at the bar later at night which was quite nice. Would stay here again any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silke72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
silke72

It sounds like you had a great visit to Chattanooga! Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience - we appreciate it very much. Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Chattanooga, as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    314
    152
    68
    30
See reviews for
241
198
30
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel conveniently located to Chattanooga Convention Center. Covered pedestrian bridge from hotel to convention center that helped on first day (rain). Close to some very neat downtown restaurants. Will stay at this Marriott property again whether it be business or personnel. I ate lunch two days at the hotel restaurant and it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hello Charles!

Thank you for your comments. Sorry about the rain during your visit! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Chattanooga as well.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brevard, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

On our first time visiting in Chattanooga, Tennessee, we were very pleased by the excellent value and service of the downtown Marriott. The room was spacious, everything new and spotless, and the breakfast buffet ($14) was excellent. Location was a short couple on blocks from nice shopping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukewoodhull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
dukewoodhull

Thank you for your review. Thanks for staying with us during your first visit to Chattanooga, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We'll hopefully see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel was clean and staff was friendly. But for the price I would expect queen beds and some kind of free breakfast. Also, the room was very small an the beds were uncomfortable. The hotel is really not that close to downtown so I was surprised there was a charge for parking ;( But the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Hi Joanna J

I am so sorry of your impression of your stay with us. The room types that we offer and the parking options/costs are all discosed on the different booking channels and website, so I apologize if those were a surprise. If they weren't, please send me an email at tunderwood@shanercorp.com, so I can follow up. Thank you for your comments on the hotel cleanliness and the staff friendliness - that's great to hear. Thanks again for your business and for your feedback - we appreciate both.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Staying in room with adjoining door. At 11:45 pm I called the front desk to report we can clearly hear every word being said by our neighbors, who noisily returned to their room about 11:15. Front desk personnel were polite and sympathetic. Within a few minutes we heard a Security guard in the hall. The front desk then called our room to tell us the Security Guard couldn't hear any noise from the hall so there wasn't much they could do. They did ask if I wanted to speak to the night auditor or move rooms. Packing up my family of four and changing rooms at midnight is not an option. Too tired to consider what a night auditor might do to help. Rooms are clean and nicely remodeled (although the bathroom is tiny and has odd angles) - just wish the hotel remodel/update included sound proofing. I don't need to know what my neighbors did on their night out on the town or what they want to order for breakfast. Again, hotel is clean and updated, the staff is courteous (so far), but . . . it's late and my neighbors are loud and these hotel walls are thin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharpschapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
sharpschapel

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our service and the room overall cleanliness/updates. I am very sorry for the guests in the neighboring room and that we didn't resolve that situation in a more timely manner. I have shared your comments with our staff and security staff, so that we may address these kinds of issues in a more timely fashion in the future. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a nice but older hotel. Comfy beds and friendly staff. Buffet breakfast ($14) was very good.Location is good and the free public transportation stops right outside the hotel.I would stay again and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem quieter. Other family members complained about noise but our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Hi travelingtam

Thank you for your review and for staying with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were down for a wedding, and also celebrating our anniversary. Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean. Thanks to Tom for our "special" welcome. It was much appreciated. We will definitely stay again if we get back to Chattanooga.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mam11759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU3, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Mam11759

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate positive hearing comments regarding our staff service, as well as guest room cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Property: Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402-5032 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel an ideal destination for meetings. The hotel is situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing