We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed gets 5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

In my older age, I am becoming a hotel bed snob. I have a tremendously bad back and need a soft mattress. Lucky, that is easier to come by in hotel world these days but I normally wake to a little pain.

However, this hotel has a great bed and I slept like a champ. The rest of the room and hotel was good, but average.

Also, we have a family of five. They brought up a rollaway bed for free! They don't charge!

Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Brian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Brian U

Thank you for your review and for your recent stay with us. It's great to hear the great review of our bedding!! Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

So let me say i travel often and stay at various properties around the country acorss various star ratings and brands and this was one of the most positive experiences i have had in a long time.

The service at this property is 5 star from the Valet guys to the front desk (Carol).

Check in was quick and when our second room was not ready they quickly delivered keys once it was, no call needed, they were on the spot.

We wanted a recommendation for dinner and Carol was so helpful - we did not call until 8:15pm and she was informative of where to go, how to get there and said she would have some brochures for us. Next thing i know she is at our door with the brochures, where do we see that level of service anymore. Not only were there brochures but discounts! When we were leaving i stopped to tell her that i decided to switch restaurants and she told me that she had a brochure for that also, however they seemed to be out of them. I said it was not necessary because i had reviewed online already but she then said there was a discount with it, both she and another woman at the front desk then said, we will call the restaurant and let them know you are coming? Really? who does that anymore at any property level?

Upon arrival to the restaurant they were expecting us, of course it was now 9pm and we were about the only people inside - but we did get that discount!

We were here for a short visit celebrating a special event and Tom the manager was very gracious in treating us specail.

This property is well run, above the top well run and I am thankful we opted to stay here.

Room Tip: Concierge level rooms are recommended - the breakfast is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank warrenMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

warrenMiami

Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you chose to stay with us and let us be a part of your special occasion earlier this week. It's great to see that Carol and our staff went "above and beyond", and I'll be sure to recognize their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was one of my worst stays at a Marriott. The service was good but we had several issues with the rooms. Check in was quick and friendly. Upon entering our room, we noticed that the bath tub was dirty. There were dirty towels in the bathroom sink and trash in the trash can. We called for maid service and they immediately took care of the issue.

Later that evening I took a shower only to find that the drain was clogged so the tub filled very quickly with water. Someone was sent up to fix the issue but it could not be fixed. We were tired and just wanted to shower and get some rest. Since the shower could not be fixed we were given another room. Upon entering the new room we noticed there was hair on the bed, and trash in the trash can. The room did not appear to be very clean. It was also a handicap room. We were tired so we did not complain. We just wanted to get some rest. The next morning we reported to the front desk that we found trash and hair on the bed. They then gave us a 3rd room which was fine. When asks about being compensated or receiving a complimentary meal for our troubles we were told no! Later that evening a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room. Sine we don't drink we did not find this to be a suitable solution.

Not to mention when we went to use the indoor pool it was filthy. Dirty towels were all over the place. The bathroom was nasty with tissue all over the place and an old dirty rotten apple laying on the floor in the spa. It was a very scary view. I felt like I was on Candid Camera.

This is the first time that I have ever experienced anything like this at a Marriott hotel.

Room Tip: City view is the best. The lights of the Chattanooga Skyline are gorgeous at nighttime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank The_Traveling_Diva00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Atlanta_Traveler001

Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. I sincerely apologize for the issues that you encountered during your visit. I have already followed up on these issues, most of which were due to an error in a few rooms being turned over to the front desk by mistake, by our housekeeping department, before they were cleaned and inspected. I have also followed up with our housekeeping department and engineering department regarding the issue with the drain and also the pool cleanliness. I did reply to you directly by email yesterday as well, and again, we are very sorry for this experience, and hope that you believe that your experience is not the norm for us. We do hope that you'll continue to keep us in mind for any future visits to the Chattanooga area.

Thanks again
Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms are clean. The hotel is very favorably located to most downtown activities. All staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly.

The only issue is the elevators. There is a bank of four so even at peak times, it shouldn't take long for an elevator. Not only does it take an unacceptably long time, but on occasion the elevators don't stop at the selected floor but will continue to the top and stop on the way back down. Annoying for an otherwise excellent hotel.

Room Tip: The elevator control systems are a bit noisy so don't accept a room next to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Nolan B

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, location, and accomodations! We appreciate your feedback and I'll share those with our team. We did unfortunately have 1 elevator out of service, while a motor had to be replaced unexpectedly. I apologize for the inconvenience that this caused, but the issue has now been resolved. Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

What a great time we had in Chattanooga. The staff was great. They valet guys are awesome. They took us downtown and pick us up. Any and everything we needed they were there. We had a lot to unload and the bell men / valet guys took every good care of us. There was a full house with an wedding going on but everyone was still great. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaws64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Elaws64

Our valet staff was excited to read your review this morning. Thank you for your comments specific to them. We do often receive very postive comments about our front door team, and I'm glad that they made such an impact on your vist. Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We used the name your price Priceline feature and snagged a room for under $100. Of course the $10 parking fee put us just over. It's a Marriott so what you expect you get. I was disappointed there was no fridge in the room since that seems to be standard in most 2.5+ star hotels now. Also, the elevators were ridiculously slow. As in several minutes before they would stop. We finally decided to ride up and then back down and still found that to be quicker! Overall a good stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank anynamewilldo1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Anynamewilldo1973

Thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. We appreciate the 4-star rating very much. All of our guest rooms do not have refrigerators, but we do offer them upon request. And unfortunately, we did have an elevator out of service during your stay, due to a motor having to be replaced unexpectedly. I am glad that you did enjoy your stay and I apologize for these couple of issues that you mention. We do hope to see you again on a future trip to Chattanooga!

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Pros: Very comfortable beds, nice shower heads and toiletries, located next to convention center, indoor/outdoor pools (although poorly advertised in in-room guide), nice quality facilities.

Cons: A bit of trek to many of the nicest downtown attractions and restaurants. Fee to park. Fee for wifi. Lack of continental breakfast. Air conditioner was extremely noisy and there was an annoying blinking light all night (smoke detector I believe).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank bsu1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomU2, General Manager at Chattanooga Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi bsu1999

Thank you for your 4-star review and for your feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will follow up on the constructive comments right away. If you do return to Chattanooga, please also keep in mind that the complimentary city electric shuttle picks up regularly outside of our front door. Thanks again for your feedback and your business. We hope to see you again soon.

Tom Underwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattanooga Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattanooga Marriott Downtown

Address: 2 Carter Plz, Chattanooga, TN 37402 (Formerly Chattanooga Marriott at the Convention Center)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#19 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: £121 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chattanooga Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown is conveniently connected to the Chattanooga Convention Center, making this hotel in Chattanooga, Tennessee an ideal destination for meetings. We are situated in the heart of downtown and within walking distance to several top attractions, including the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX 3-D Theatre and Creative Discovery Museum. Nearby attractions also include the Chattanooga Regional History Museum, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga and AT&T Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chattanooga Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Marriott At The Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanooga Marriott At Hotel
Marriott Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing