We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh, pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Bexley, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Eh, pretty good”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on the way to Orlando.

Pros:
1. Great pool. I work in pools and this one was clean and balanced.
2. One site restaurant had great chicken and onion rings.
3. Has a Starbucks. So awesome!
4. Valet was easy and quick
5. Room was clean and quiet.

Cons:
1. Floor around pool and entry to the pool area is incredibly slippery, especially for children.
2. Valet was expensive.
3. Starbucks was crowded.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank muelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    511
    264
    148
    99
See reviews for
427
497
41
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Historic property a few minutes off I-24 with all the amenities. Nice to escape the interstate chain properties and stay in a 1920's beautifully maintained hotel...no free breakfast but a great workout facility, energy and in the lobby, bar, and Porter's Steakhouse. A little more money but they made us feel like welcome guests and it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This property is beautiful! That alone is enough but so clean and the service was stellar. Specifically, the front desk agent was charming and accommodating and everyone was so very friendly to my two dogs - I thought maybe they had VIP status! Logan, a valet went out of his way to help me retrieve forgotten items in my car and as the first and last touch-point of my stay it was his service and demeanor that I will remember most. His cohort, Jay, was also engaging and made me feel as though I were an old friend. Bravo guys! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Go for the Jr. Suite. Its a genuine value and comfortable and so clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our valet Joseph was wonderful! He was the first person we saw and his service was superb! The hotel waa quite accomodating. The stay was enjoyable and pleasant for my family. We will come again for vacation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The read house was a great base of operations for our four day get a way and sightseeing in Chattanooga. Friendly and helpful staff that were genuinely concerned for our travel experience in their town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Logan gave us outstanding service in the Valet area. He was smiling when he came up to the car. Very courteous & polite. Hustled to help us with our bags & even made a trip back to our car to get my phone. Super customer care...will come back here because of his service.
Melissa @ the front desk was also excellent, pleasant & very helpful.
This hotel must have an excellent training program.
Thanks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Read House Sheraton during the Christmas holiday.

The hotel is easy to find, located right on Broad street in the heart of Chattanooga. Not a huge fan of the mandatory $15 valet parking, but the valets were very efficient, friendly, and doubled as concierge's, giving tons of advice. The city's free shuttle service, which stops just outside the hotel, also made it easier to swallow the otherwise big-cityesque parking fee.

Hotel lobby and common areas are gorgeous - the nearly 100 year old building is classy and all of the dark wood gives it a time-gone-by feeling. Starbucks on site. Nice workout room and pool.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room itself was spacious and well appointed, but felt a little worn. Wallpaper in the bathroom was yellowing and beginning to peel, and the bathtub fixtures were starting to rust. Carpet furniture felt like they'd seen better days, and the duvet had a ominous blood stain (or maybe it was chocolate?) on it.

Very dog friendly - met many folks staying there with dogs of varying sizes and pedigrees.

All in all, a solid and comfortable, if somewhat worn-around-the-edges, experience. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 97 in Chattanooga
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing