We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Dump”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Dump”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I should I begin. When we walked into the lobby, nothing was visible because of the darkness. We waited 10 minutes to register because the only clerk was giving directions .
When we got to the room, what a nightmare! Filthy! Dirty beginning with the door knob! Floor was dirty and the room had a bad smell. Stains on all of the furniture! When I pulled back the covers, a brown stain on the sheets, plus the bed made loud squeaking noises. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. A total ZERO, with nothing good I can say at all! Don't waste your time ! A total DUMP !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kleinpeter0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the problems you encountered with your stay. We take very seriously the feedback we get from our guests and work to correct any and all problems. We do hope you will change your mind and give us another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    495
    255
    137
    93
See reviews for
405
482
39
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The desk staff was very helpful. The best part was the valet service. They were fast and were able to make suggestions for sight seeing and dining. Thanks Lee, Jessie and Legrand.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us! We love to hear when our guests are happy with their stay. We hope you will return many times in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a room with double beds. The beds were comfortable. Room was clean. Service was great. John Michael was a great valet ! Friendly and helpful. Great fitness room. Full service Starbucks on-site.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This visit was the 8th time I have stayed at this hotel. We frequently come to Chattanooga for dance recitals, vacations and now my daughter starts UTC this fall. The room we had Wedesday night was disappointing. The mattresses were saggy, the beds were creaky when you moved and weird smell in room. We were exhausted from driving so ignored that and went to sleep until the dog in the next room started barking at 11:00 p.m. When I finally reached the front desk after calling three times at 12:30 a.m., the front desk clerk assured me security would take care of the problem. They didn't and at 6:00 a.m. the barking began again. The front desk clerk and supervisor were very nice, they apologized and moved me to a different room in the older part of the hotel. This room, while being better, still needed an update. Overall, the clerks and managers were extremely nice and helpful, but that didn't make up for the poor quality and experience of the first room and the need of an update, especially in the shower, the walls tiles were pulling away from the wall in the upgraded room. I have never before this trip minded paying more to stay at the Sheraton Read, but this may have been my last visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We are so disappointed that we didn't meet your expectations for your stay. We strive to please every guest every time! We are looking at a remodel of our hotel in the very near future and we hope that we can win you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We had great service for our conference and the most outstanding service was given by the AAA Parking guys who run the valet service. They were always friendly, helpful, and hustled! Thanks guys! The hotel was beautiful and in a nice location to explore the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

walked in. wonderful lobby. Valet, Cody and Roy could not have been nicer and so helpful. all the good stopped there. Stains on carpet, Stains on both chairs, hairs on bed sheets, not mine. we had to plug in all tvs and lamps. bath tub looked like it had been sand blasted, paint chipped badly. pipes under sink rusting and showing. for the price, never again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, fl
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Friendly staff for late night road trip travelers. Cody and Logan the valets were very welcoming and accommodating. Front desk staff were equally helpful. Charming old hotel. Easy to navigate to from highway. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. All necessary amenities available. Brief stay, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluehuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenea P, General Manager at The Read House Historic Inn And Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to see you again very soon! Until then ... !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Read House Historic Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Read House Historic Inn And Suites

Property: The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Address: 827 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2622 (Formerly Sheraton Read House)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#23 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Read House Historic Inn And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Chattanooga, the The Read House Historic Inn and Suites is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or a vacation in one of Tennessee's most historic cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Read House Historic Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Read Hotel
Sheraton Chattanooga
Chattanooga Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing