We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good night's rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
A TripAdvisor Member
INDEPENDENCE
1
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We had been traveling due to a death in the family and we were on our way home and were looking forward to a good night's rest and we certainly had one. The room was so quiet and made for a nice night of sleep. The breakfast was just the right amount and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I would be happy to stay here again. The gentleman at the front desk was very very nice and helpful. We asked for extra pillows and they were happy to find a couple of extras for us. I saw another gentleman ask for a couple of towels and they gave him a whole armful. VERY nice customer service. The gentleman at the front desk was happy to answer questions about the area and the roads between Chattanooga and our destination. In the morning, there was a woman at the front desk and she was taciturn but not rude. The room was large and clean. The air conditioner was efficient and nicely quiet. There was a nice working microwave and refrigerator in the room. The Wifi worked easily. The TV remote worked well. The mattresses on the beds felt new and were very comfortable. This is not a new building, I could smell a bit of cigarette smoke in the hallway but not in the room which was no smoking. No elevator if that is important to you. The location was quiet. There was a washer and dryer available and vending machines, and the breakfast was a basic one with a waffle maker and cereals, nothing special, but the coffee was good, juice that was either watered down or not real juice, pastries were fresh, yogurt was on ice. We enjoyed it but it is basics only. NEARBY there is a Waffle House next door, a delivery Chinese food place nearby that I enjoyed, and a Cracker Barrel just down the road. If we come back this way I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was first floor facing lookout mountain which MIGHT mean the upper floors have a view of so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The hotel was fine. Breakfast was basic nothing extra special. Front desk people were ok, not over friendly. We were okay with no elevator but it your not then this is not for you. It was great to have a washer and dryer since we had a down pour and everything had to be washed after the lacrosse tournament.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choobez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

There wasn't one thing wrong with this Super 8. EVERYTHING was wrong! It's been awhile since I was this disappointed in any hotel stay.

Let's start with the good things because they are easier to list. It's a good location for visiting local attractions. It's next to Walmart and a Waffle House. I didn't see any bugs. I didn't get robbed. There were no other vacancies in the area and so making the choice to go ahead and stay was easy. That's about it.

This is 3-story hotel without an elevator. The stairs going up are relatively narrow and I would not wanted to meet anyone on them with both of us carrying our luggage. Halls are rank with smoke smell and beat up, worn out, and slightly slippery carpet. Wood doors and trim are beat up and look like they've been around 40-50 years without maintenance. Hallway and stair windows haven't been washed outside for years and the inside isn't much better.

The rooms also smell like smoke but not as bad. The carpet is something you really don't want to put your bare feet on and my white socks were gray on the bottom after walking around. Our AC system adjusted its own temperature twice during the night. Our room was some gosh awful pumpkin orange reminiscent of the 70s and painted haphazardly over switch and wall plates.

There were no towels bars in the bath. There were holes where they once were, but these have been painted over numerous times without even attempting to patch the holes.

The door doesn't latch easily when closed. If you just assume that closed means latched, you'll be at risk. The only ice machine is on the first floor, which again if you are on the third floor is one more trip.

The guest washer and dryer both have Out of Order signs on them that are so old that the the paper has yellowed. Since it really doesn't take very long to fix these appliances, my guess is that they have no intention of fixing them, but keep the signs there so it looks like it's only a temporarily inconvenience.

The breakfast is atrocious. There are very few and very dirty tables in a very small room. By 8 AM they were out of yogurt, toast, milk for the cereal, and both juices. That left stale prepacked imitation sweet rolls and the do it yourself waffle, which at the time I was there had 15 people standing in line. No thanks!

Alternatively for breakfast, I suppose you might have been able to get something from a vending machine, but out of the 25 available slots, there were only 6 items and expensive. I have actually consciously been thrilled to have a Waffle House available before, but Super 8 did it for me.

My opinion of this hotel is that the owners are essentially milking the profits out of it without putting anything back into it. What little they have to do, they do as cheaply and sloppy as minimum standards will allow. It could be a nice hotel, but it suffers from really bad management and a poor long term business philosophy.

Room Tip: If you must book here, try to get on the first floor unless you enjoy carrying everything you own up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Papadoc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in Chattanooga on a weekend and it was very difficult to find a hotel room available for 5 people and a dog. We ended up at the Super 8. It was crowded, noisy, smelled of cigarette smoke, and the blankets had cigarette holes in them (we had a non-smoking room)! We had a rollaway bed brought in and it was terrible. The kids did not even want to go to the pool or to the breakfast, which looked nasty. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaTravelGirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The breakfast was ok for the price. The room was quiet and comfortable. My only complaint is the strong smell of smoke in the hallways and also in my non-smoking hotel room. I have to buy Lysol for the odor in the room. The location was great. It was close to many restaurants and a Wal-Mart right down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra1952000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Malone, Florida, USA
1
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We recieved friendly service and a clean room. The breakfast room was unappealing but there is a Waffle House right next door. Chosen for location which was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
10.1 mi away
Super 8 Chattanooga/East Ridge
Super 8 Chattanooga/East Ridge
#61 of 96 in Chattanooga
424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
#66 of 96 in Chattanooga
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#46 of 96 in Chattanooga
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#34 of 96 in Chattanooga
559 reviews
10.5 mi away
Motel 6 East Ridge
Motel 6 East Ridge
#77 of 96 in Chattanooga
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN

Address: 20 Birmingham Hwy, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: £39 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chattanooga Super Eight
Chattanooga Super 8
Super 8 Chattanooga
Super Eight Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing