We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking smells and alarms in the middle of the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Douglas Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed with a group of 3 other couples on an overnight stay in Cleveland. Our room was clean, but the walls were very thin. Cooking smells and conversations wafted through to all our rooms. The residents staying there were more than just overnight guests. The smell of onions and fish both in the evening and morning was hard to stomach. The hotel is non smoking. The smoke alarm went off around midnight because one of the residents disregarded the rule.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2010

We were driving from Virginia to Louisiana to meet my newest granddaughter. After 10 hours on the road, we stopped to eat at the Crackerbarrel in Cleveland TN. The Douglas Inn & Suites is next door, so after reading some reviews on this site, I decided to stay there, because I didn't want to drive any more.

The evening staff was polite, but a little confused at times, not sure of who she was talking to. The room was average with a fridge and a microwave, television, and 2 queen beds. The room was clean and the bed linens were clean and neat.

Our excitement was at about 4:20 AM when the fire alarm went off. After evacuating the building (which wasn't really easy from the 2nd floor using a cane down the stairs) someone who looked like he may be a staff person came out and told us it was ok and that someone was "probably cooking" and "this happens sometimes". I would recommend they check their wiring in the hotel.

It looks like the building was recently updated and rebuilt. The first floor rooms open outside, but the 2nd floor rooms open to an interior hall.

All in all, it was an average hotel with a little surprise in the middle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapaSmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We hadn't been here since it opened 7 years ago and it has been very nicely maintained. The elevator had a marble floor and the bathroom in our our also a lovely tiled floor. The room was very clean, and I do check, even the bathroom floors. The desk personnel also very nice. The room had newer mattresses, and good lighting. I noticed, when I went to use some hand lotion that it had been opened and was half empty. I suspect that was just an oversight by the dilegent housekeeper. The one thing I would have like is to be able to get the room a little warmer as we hit an unusually cold day for TN and the blanket was a little thin. Also, we couldn't wait for breakfast and missed having real half-n-half for coffee, but all in all this is a fine stop, well priced now with a $50 plus tax special.
There was wi-fi in the rooms and a computer in the lobby for guests.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

stay there and the bed had some kind a beatles or something in the morning mention to staff did feel that took care of the problem

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herbie301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We had a pipe burst in our attic and our house was completely filled with 4-8" of water. We needed a suite for two adults plus two small dogs immediately. We were privileged to stay at the Douglas Inn & Suites for almost 8 weeks. The owners were very understanding when we told them that an insurance company was involved. The staff were incredible from the front desk to the cleaning crew. The Inn is located next to the Cracker Barrel, lots of fast food restaurants and a home town favorite The Old Fort restaurant. The suite was comfortable and met all our needs for the 8 week stay. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TNcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Kitty and I stayed at the Douglas Inn on our way to Florida and again on our way home. The room was large, clean and well appointed. The staff friendly. The bed was a newer type, higher and very comfortable. Plenty of hot water and coffee. Next door to Cracker Barrel. What more could a traveler with a pet ask for? I will stay there again next year when I head south for a winter break.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

We have just returned from a trip and on our way home we needed a place to stop. We ended up in Cleveland, Tennessee at the Douglas. We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds with inside entry. The hotel and room were very clean and the beds very comfortable. The person at the front desk was informative and friendly. The complimentary morning breakfast was good and included bagels, make your own waffles, muffins and more. Overall it was a very good experience and I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Love2Travel1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#10 of 24 in Cleveland
123 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 24 in Cleveland
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 24 in Cleveland
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Inn & Suites

Address: 2600 Westside Dr NW, Cleveland, TN 37312-3605
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cleveland
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Douglas Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It Is With Great Pleasure That I Extend To You A Heartfelt Welcome To The New Douglas Inn & Suites. Being a fellow traveler staying at various motels, hotels and inns, I saw a need for a new place to stay that offers the comforts of home combined with affordability. Long hours and hard work have gone into the planning of this new facility to bring you superb accommodations and personal service - insuring you a pleasant and relaxing stay. Whether you're on business, pleasure or visiting family and friends, I'm confident our amenities will surpass your expectations. Thank you for choosing Douglas Inn & Suites. May you have a wonderful stay at Douglas Inn & Suites Cleveland, Tennessee.We are now offering Weekly Rates. Please call for pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Inn And Suites
Douglas Hotel Cleveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing