We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Bald Headed Bistro

Bald Headed Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bald Headed Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 196 Restaurants in Cleveland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Inman
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

These guys do everything as close to perfect as you can get. Service includes a professional waiter that knows everything about the menu and food preparation. Several others from the waiter staff to top off water/tea, remove empty plates and so forth. There to help, not to intrude. Pleased.

The food was excellent. I started with the lobster bisque, excellent. Nice fresh salad that had sliced strawberries, mixed greens, well done (this didn't come out of a Kroger bag). I had the 14 oz rib eye, perfectly cooked with very tasty roasted Brussels sprouts. I was totally stuffed as they brought a LOT of food. Wife has wood grilled scallops which were excellent. Father in law had trout. 2 big filets he must have liked. He ate every morsel, and another big portion. The friend had pork shank roast. It was huge, and very tasty. Theme here was that all of the food was as good as it gets.

Hard to go wrong here. Good wine list too. Not cheap, but worth the ride to Cleveland Tennessee.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank parfourrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    50
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gold in Cleveland”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Honestly, we felt the finest dining we'd find in Cleveland, TN would be Logan's, or something. This restaurant popped up on a search engine and it looked surprisingly decent. This turned out to be one of the best restaurants any of the four of us dining had ever eaten. The service was great to, especially Rob, our head waiter. I started with the Quail which was wrapped in beacon and served with a fig compote. Salty, sweet mix with a meaty flavor. Then the fillets came, perfectly cooked to a medium. I had mine with a black truffle butter that enhanced the mouth-watering flavor (which I'm doing now). The beef was incredibly tender. My wife had the house steak sauce which was also terrific at adding to the flavor. The sides were all delicious, as well. I finished with the bread pudding, unlike any I've ever had. (I'm usually not a big fan, but Rob talked me into it, thank goodness. GO THERE. Not cheap, but worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good meal, great atmosphere, fun time!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We love the Bald Headed Bistro. The atmosphere is great but the food has never disappointed. Whether we've had elk steaks or ostrich or fish or just a plain ok' steak, it's always delish. Pricey but worth it!! Enjoy ;)

Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant with good service. Steaks are great. Husband likes the "game" dishes like quail. If you want to spend a little less, sit in the bar area and order off the bar menu.

Helpful?
Thank Summer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Bald Headed Bistro is a very unique restaurant , given its location. Decorated more like a Colorado hunting lodge, the Bistro is home to very good steaks and wild game. We have eaten there several times and found the food and service to be top-drawer. Would go back again for the bar alone. Drew is the best bartender in the south, for sure. Pricey and a bit pretentious, the BHB is still a nice restaurant serving good food in comfortable surroundings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roadwise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bald Headed Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bald Headed Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing