We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was pet hair covering the sheets!”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I am not sure about the service, someone esle checked us in. Our room was horrible! First the key unlocked the door, but the latch wouldn't open, after jiggling the handle just right to get in the room was dated and dirty. There were dirty hand prints on the inside of the door along with a big patch of dirt on the wall right behind the door. The toilet was running when we got there and the chair looked like someone had an accident in it. There were also stains on the carpet and the picture hanging on the wall looked like someone crushed up drywall and sprinkled it inside the frame. And possibly the most discusting part was the pet hair all over the pillows and sheets! The rear part of the parking lot over looking the city appeared to be a hangout for local teens. Our stay did not last 5 min and we were checking out to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dixiehaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastorR_11, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

This is a very unfortunate and untrue review. Our hotel is a lovely property with an incredible view. Being an older property, we take great pride in the area of cleanliness. One may say the building is older, but any claim of "pet hair" and other "dirt" quotes is simply not the truth. In our business, most complaints come as a result of a customer wanting a free room. When the "free" request is not granted this is the type of result we deal with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2011

I'll admit that the rooms weren't as nice as I had expected when I walked into the lobby to get my room. The room was very clean, VERY CLEAN! The entire place was clean. The staff is very professional and courteous. Free breakfast for two in the morning.

The previous negative reviews of this hotel are not similar to our experience. We would stay here again and again. This isn't the Hilton, but I felt the difference that separates this place is the personal attention and family atmosphere. Do not be swayed by the negative comments.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Nice staff, nice view but thats it. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel4star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We made reservations to stay & as we traveled up the hill to check in, I knew we would have a good view. Once we checked in our room was around the building, so there was no view. Now, I had an idea that this wasn't a great hotel based on previous reviews. We were asked to lodge here by our business for the special rate, so we were gonna stay. When we opened the door to room, the smell was overpowering....kinda like bug infestation, bug spray, mold and mildew, smoke & dirty carpets. Can't believe this place was rated a 7! Immediately we went to check out. The sweet girl was very accommodating & quick about us checking out. Don't let the rating fool you. After researching on tripadvisor we went across the street to Comfort Inn & was very surprised! Clean, updated rooms for a very reasonable rate! Smelled great! Air conditioner is very quiet! Workout room with two treadmills!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rlburch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A wonderful find! I don't usually stay at independent hotels, but made an exception and I am glad I did. Great restaurant. Nice room. Not fancy, but decent. Quiet place with everything I needed for a good stay in Cleveland.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael37931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

First, I am a State Police officer and wont just stay anywhere with my family. Second, We were welcomed and felt secure, the views of the mountains were VERY nice. When we arrived we were met with a smiling staff member who was actually from our home town and was there going to college. The hotel over all was slightly dated, but for the rate, the service and the cleanliness of our room; it was very worth while. The following morning we had a nice breakfast before check-out and we were greated by the owner who made a point to stop by make sure that we were treated well and that everything was the way that we had wished, that's just plain good customer service. The next time we are in the area (Going to go visit the Ocoee Inn for our Rafting Trips as well) we will definatley stay with the Mountain View Inn again. They are just good people!

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FullGrownSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was the last leg of our across the country move. My husband had stayed here previously, and raved about their breakfast. Knowing that we would have a long day ahead of us, he wanted a good start. The downside to the property was that the beds are not very good at all. They are about 4 inches thick, and uncomfortable. There are issues with the wireless internet as well. However, it did the job. It was clean, and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piccurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#7 of 24 in Cleveland
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 24 in Cleveland
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#11 of 24 in Cleveland
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2400 Executive Park NW, Cleveland, TN 37312-2753 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Mountains of southeast TN. Fabulous restaurant-favorite of the locals. Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, excellent location on I-75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing