We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Christmas Gift”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Cleveland
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Christmas Gift”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

An attentive staff, a festive lobby for Christmas (you must see the nativity!), and a delicious breakfast like Mom would make are the gifts offered on top of the mountain. I know that the welcoming staff will give me a tour of the available room types for my next Christmas visit.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms near the lobby...you are closer to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Tom Y, Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we believe Christmas is a focal point for what we believe as hotel owners. Our hotel is family owned and operated by the Hughes family and our display of faith is evident in the nativity scene in the lobby. Thank you for your compliments on our breakfast and our "friendly staff." Our people do their best to serve you and all of our guests.
Please come back and see us soon. Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    20
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
29
13
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is filthy. Hair in the bed, stains on the ceiling, holes in the ceiling (looks like they poked holes to let the water drain), cigarette burns on the comforter, torn shower curtain, mold in the bathroom and a horrible smell throughout.

Asked for another room and it was no better.

Ignore the other reviwers - they must live in filthy caves to consider this dump good or excellent.

The manager will respond to this below with some weasel-worded statement. Ignore everything he says.

I called the health department in Cleveland to complain.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Well I will take the high road on this one. For the record, we did not receive any complaints from the health department as referenced in this review. Additionally, our hotel is inspected by the Health dept. continually and always posts a grade A score. Most often when we do not refund money after someone stays and uses the room, we get a complaint like this. Those of us in the travel business are always suspicious when a reviewer has this as their ONLY review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleveland hotels

Oxford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Had booked this room via Priceline expecting certain amenities, the hotel didn't deliver as expected. There is no breakfast or restaurant on Monday's so don't plan a trip that day. The WI-fi was intermittent at best and definitely not High Speed as advertised. There were no washcloths, and no iron. Electrical outlets had no covers, (not good for young kids). Entire complex is in need of an upgrade. I'm sure there are other hotels in the area that would be much better. The only nice thing was the view, but not worth the stay. Not returning

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GLUB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Please accept our apologies if you were not completely satisfied. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our property. As with anything, we have some outstanding attributes like our panoramic views of the mountains and valleys, friendly staff and tremendous breakfast and lunch buffet. Having a little age is a reality not only on properties but even us as people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo Ohio
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were headed home to Ohio from being in Texas , I looked up tripadvisor and read a lot of reviews on this place. I decided this is were we would stay. It sets up on a hill with a beautiful view just as the reviews had stated. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful and to our surprise she was also from Ohio living there for school. The lobby was beautiful and the food area was also decorated nicely and very warm and inviting. Before all the chain hotels I'm guessing this was a very high end place. Our room was on the first floor over looking beautiful mountain scenery. Our room was very clean, nice and had all the things we needed and more. There was a nice comfortable chair with ottoman to relax. A desk to use our laptop, coffee pot and hair dryer. We travel a lot and would come back here to stay just to do a long weekend away. Oh by the way the free breakfast was all homemade. During the week the don't put out the big breakfast bar, they just ask what you want and fix it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
This is the kind of quote we appreciate and what our guests experience: " Our room was very clean, nice and had all the things we needed and more." Thank you for appreciating the beauty of the most historic property in this region. Please come again and allow us to serve your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great with beautiful views of the mountains. The rooms are comfortable and clean, but dated, which may be appealing to some people. I guess you could call the furnishings eclectic. The bed was very comfortable, and the staff friendly. We had a room on the pool side, which was very nice. The strange thing was that the breakfast buffet, which is served in a beautiful dining room buffet style was free, but we were told there was a charge for the drinks. The drinks (coffee or water--no juice) were served by waitresses who also brought us our silverware wrapped in a cloth napkin. We were later given a bill by the waitress for $18.00 for 2 breakfast buffets. Upon leaving the dining room the hostess asked if we wanted the tip charged to our room. We said no, we had left the tip at the table. We were not charged for the $18.00 when we asked the desk clerk. He said we were good to go, so apparently that was simply an indication as to how much to tip the waitress.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank X1life4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
"Beautiful view, comfortable bed, friendly staff" - wow thank you for your kind words. Those are the things we aspire to provide our guests with. Yes, the breakfast is complimentary to hotel guests but as you mentioned there is a ticket simply for tracking purposes as the restaurant has a separate register. As you mentioned, you were NOT charged upon check out. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you. Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice overlook -- friendly staff -- room was clean, grounds were not. This is my second stay -- will look elsewhere next time. Didn't include breakfast, which surprised us. Whoever owns the place needs to sink some money into the facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Breakfast is always free. I apologize if you did not take advantage of this bonus. I wonder if you are reviewing the correct hotel?? Our breakfast was recently awarded the "Best of the Best" in this area as voted on by the readers of the Cleveland Daily Banner newspaper. Our breakfast is one of the best selling points of this hotel. Come again and enjoy what everyone in this area already knows. Travel safely and come see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Mountain View Inn is more than a hotel. Its a home away from home. I'm not sure I've ever been to a hotel that resembles the comfort of my own house. From beginning to end I continue to be overwhelmed by staff and service..and the food IS INCREDIBLE..that's a HUGE PLUS FROM ME(being raised in the south)..nothing like mashed potatoes and fried chicken when youre hungry and to top it off, it tastes like eating from your grandma's table..Trust me when I say that's a huge compliment. Thank you Mt View Inn for your service and for creating an atmosphere of acceptance and comfort. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chevis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you so much for the quote, "home away from home." That says it all. The Mountain View has that kind of appeal. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#9 of 23 in Cleveland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#10 of 23 in Cleveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland
Howard Johnson Inn Cleveland
#12 of 23 in Cleveland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Property: Mountain View Inn
Address: 2400 Executive Park NW, Cleveland, TN 37312-2753 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Mountains of southeast TN. Fabulous restaurant-favorite of the locals. Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, excellent location on I-75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing