We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Church Camp Mtg”
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Inn
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

New owners were very accommadating, gracious, and friendly. Look forward to seeing the planned improvements. Delicious breakfast with friendly and helpful waitresses. Spectacular view of mountains and mountain side.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank bc4cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband & I stayed here on our way to Maggie Valley, NC. The room was nice but we were disappointed that a parking space for our motorcycle was not available directly outside our window as requested but was in front of a handicap space. Not big deal, just not what we had requested a good amount of time in advance. The view is nice and it is quietly tucked away form traffic and noise. The best plus is the hot breakfast bar which my husband truly enjoys. I would have preferred maybe some pancakes being offered instead of the french toast and/ or a few healthier options like fruit and cereal. . But this bar certainly beats the traditional continental breakfast and was a great value being included in the price of the room. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel could be an excellent location with some minor corrections. I agree with many who suggest better communication as to when breakfast would be provided. I received a voucher for breakfast at the sister hotel which was appreciated. However, we were running behind on a tight schedule and did not plan to take a trip one exit in the wrong direction for the expected breakfast. It was a good breakfast but communication would have been appreciated. The next day breakfast was at the hotel and was very pleasant. Also, simple things like light bulbs and facial tissues not being stocked can easily be corrected. At the same time there are very nice touches and details one might expect at a higher end hotel. The view is fantastic and the staff very friendly. I would recommend this hotel with qualifications.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have lots of luggage you would want to be on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for recognizing the value of our property to hotel guests. As you mention, there are many qualities that resemble hotels in a higher, more 5 star rating. Yes, we have some areas of the property that show the age, but the hotel is clean and as you mention our staff goes the extra mile to make sure our guests have a great experience. Come back in the Fall and catch the beautiful seasons from high atop our Mountain View. Be safe in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We came to the area for my niece's college graduation. If we hadn't been driving for 13 hours and weren't completed exhausted, we would've packed our bags immediately and gone anywhere but here. It was too late in the night and we just couldn't go somewhere else because of the hour. Our first room on the ground floor was disgusting. We asked to move to a cleaner room and they put us upstairs. This was equally filthy and unsatisfactory. I honestly have no idea where the "clean" reviews came from because this experience was so bad. I'm a senior contributor for Trip Advisor and I've been to many hotels and in many locations. This one was just plain dilapidated and filthy. There was black hair all over the bathroom floor, the popcorn ceiling is falling off everywhere, there's black mold on the bathroom ceiling, we found hair in our bed sheets, the hallways smell like something died, the carpets are filthy & clearly haven't been vacuumed in ages...etc....I will say the sweet front desk clerk tried accommodating us but this was such a terrible experience, that I felt it my duty to make sure future travelers are warned. DON'T GO!!

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Takemetoalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

No words would be adequate. Sometimes a person or business needs to say I'm sorry. This is one of those times. It appears that you were given a bad room on an obvious bad day for our property. I cannot explain nor will I make an excuse for this. I assure you, (and the other reviews support the fact) that this is NOT normal. Today, we are meeting with key staff and you, nor anyone else will see the hotel in this condition again. It appears that while we were blessed to have so many guests staying with us over the weekend, that we did not keep up the work load for you. We are on it and I hope you will give us another chance if ever in this area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Knew what to expect from accurate TripAdvisor reviews. This is an old, basic hotel, formerly a Holiday Inn, which is clean but nothing fancy. What is nice is the friendliness of the staff and owner, and the mountaintop view at sunset was just breathtaking. There was a room fridge, and after a couple of minutes searching, the wifi worked fine. Breakfast is included, and was freshly cooked scrambled eggs, bacon, link sausage, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, and french toast sticks, but expect to tip Ann. The price was super reasonable, $59 with AAA card.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. Your attention to detail is tremendous. The value at the Mountain View is unequaled in this market. Our panaramic view is spectacular and while you mentioned that it is an older building, you are correct in that it is VERY CLEAN! Our staff works diligently to assure our guests are well taken care of. Come back in October and catch the fall color. It's amazing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There are two reasons to book this hotel. One is the breakfast. We were told at 8:00 am as we headed to the restaurant that breakfast would not be served. We were given a voucher for breakfast at a hotel at the exit to the north. Could there be a sign for the guests at check-in that breakfast definitely would or would not be served the next morning? I will look for it upon my next potential check-in. The sign would certainly be a courtesy to potential guests. Thank you. The other reason to book the hotel is the view. That is not at the next exit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Tom, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our mountain top views are the absolute best in the area. The Mountain View Inn prides itself on being a landmark in this region. The major news networks often broadcast from our site to show off the background. As for breakfast, the Mountain View Inn boasts of the "best of the best" as voted on by the Cleveland Daily Banner newspaper readers. (in other words- the locals) As you mentioned, occasionally we will give our employees a day off and send our guests to the Holiday Inn Express for a wonderful breakfast. This, of course is complimentary as well. The hotels are 2 miles apart (all interstate) and have the same goals of pleasing our guests. Thanks again and come see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

While our bathrooms & house was being remodeled we decided to take a chance on this motel. It is dated, but very well kept. The staff is helpful & the free breakfast buffet has a full spread. (Be sure to tip your waitress) the beds are comfortable, it is clean, & the view can't be beat! They have some picnic furniture to the side of the hotel. The rates are also very reasonable compared to hotels near there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SandyLouTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richie H, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

"Comfortable, Clean and Nice Mountain Views"- your quote says it all. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write such kind words. I also appreciate you mentioning the breakfast "full spread." Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests are well taken care of and it is nice to hear from you. Travel safe and come by to see us again when you are in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cleveland hotels
0.3 mi away
Douglas Inn & Suites
Douglas Inn & Suites
#7 of 24 in Cleveland
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cleveland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Cleveland
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#13 of 24 in Cleveland
75 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Cleveland
Clarion Inn Cleveland
#11 of 24 in Cleveland
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2400 Executive Park NW, Cleveland, TN 37312-2753 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Cleveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Cleveland
Price Range: £36 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Mountains of southeast TN. Fabulous restaurant-favorite of the locals. Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff, excellent location on I-75. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Cleveland
Cleveland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Cleveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing