We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try washing your glasses” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Star at Witley

The Star at Witley
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Witley
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“try washing your glasses”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Arrived at this pub with my granddaughters for lunch before going to the Royal Surrey, so it was quite convenient, ordered drinks at the oddly low bar and started to choose from the menu,my husband returned with the bottles of coke and three filthy glasses [not smeared and stained,I actually removed debris from the glasses], I immediately put down the menus suggested we have crisps and eat later somewhere else.
I cannot comment on the food but would say if the plates came as filthy as the glasses BEWARE.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Proper village pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a few times the dining room is lovely, very comfortable with a welcoming wood burning stove, there is also a proper separate bar too where you can also eat or just sit with a drink, with a lovely open fire too.

The food is what you would expect from a pub, proper pub grub and the roast lunches at Sundays are excellent and huge too :-) the whole pub is friendly and welcoming and the bar is often full of friendly locals.

There are two gardens one at the front of the pub and another enclosed garden at the rear with a large children's climbing frame.

Definitely recommend this pub if you want a English pub with proper pub grub..oh and they do wonderful cheesy chips :-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MG100surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Came here today with my mum and gran for mothers day lunch. Lovely atmosphere in the pub and all the staff were really chatty and friendly. The food took about 25 minutes to arrive however as it's mother's day, they were very busy but we didn't mind waiting. The food was well worth the wait! We had 1x roast beef and 2x steak burgers. The roast, despite ordering a child portion for my gran was still massive and looked amazing, lots of veg and a big yorkshire pudding. The burgers were delicious, one of the best I've had recently. Really thick and well seasoned and served with a big dish of chips which makes a change to some restaurants who hardly serve any. We all thoroughly enjoyed the lunch and it is so reasonable! 2 rounds of drinks and the food only came to £37! Will definitely be returning soon!

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wish this was better - it's my local”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Eaten here a few times and each time been disappointed. On the last occasion, there was no heating on in the dining area, though they did eventually light the fire - but no-one come back to check it had caught - it went out. Having to eat in your overcoat and scarf took our minds off the food.

Probably will give it another try but it will have to be good to make me return after that.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food and warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We've kind of stumbled on The Star after living close to it for a couple of years, wished we'd popped in before to be honest.

The food is good honest pub grub, generally with a bit of a twist. The welcome from the landlady and landlord is always very warm and welcoming.

Kids are made to feel very welcome too and there's a full diary of different activities going on, this is becoming a firm favourite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Star at Witley also viewed

 

Been to The Star at Witley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing